We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveler rating
766
480
130
34
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
766
480
130
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location river north the breakfast area free breakfast breakfast staff hot tub within walking distance sofa bed house of blues yogurt front desk staff navy pier self parking sitting area high floor would definitely stay here again few blocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This year our family took our summer vacation in Chicago. We had accumulated enough Marriott/Bonvoy points for a complimentary 1 week stay and chose Spring Hill Suites-Chicago. It was a great choice and we had a terrific time.

For anyone looking for a vacation trip the SpringHill Suites is perfectly located. It's a few blocks from the "Magnificent Mile" for shopping. Two landmarks, the Navy Pier and Millennium Park are a short walk (1 mile) away. The CTA (Subway) station is a few blocks away (we took it from O'Hare. If you're into music, "the House of Blues" is a block away.

The Front Desk staff was always very helpful and our room was first rate. I like to work out and used the fitness center every morning to work off the Chicago Hot Dogs and Deep Dish Pizza. There was plenty of equipment (ellipticals, treadmills) and my son liked the pool. There was some bar bells but "serious" lifters will need to look elsewhere... On the other hand very few people go to a hotel to pump iron.

One feature that we enjoy about all Spring Hill Suites we have stayed in is the complimentary breakfast. It's not just cereal, coffee and some dray pastries. You get eggs, sausage, potatoes and can have waffles. A great feature for families on a vacation budget as Chicago is a great city but not cheap. If you can't find something you like for breakfast, you need a pulse...

We enjoyed seeing Chicago and the Spring Hill Suites was the perfect "base". We will definitely stay here again on our next trip! Thanks to the Staff for a great stay!

NOTE This is NOT a complaint, but just a thought. There was no transport offered to the hotel from O'Hare Airport so we took the Blue Line. Since SpringHill and Residence Inn share the same building and the Marriott Courtyard is a block or two away, maybe the three sites can "pool" resources to provide a shuttle to and from the hotels. However, I do not know what infrastructure is needed for this so it may not be feasible. And this is not a complaint, just a thought.

Room tip: Log into the Hotel Website to thoroughly research all features/amenities.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSupervisor, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Thomas T,

It's great to hear back such positive and fantastic feedback regarding your stay. Our staff and location are what really makes our property stand out. We are honored and delighted to have housed your stay in the Windy City. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nicely maintained. Great location to transportation and activities! Complimentary breakfast included with a variety of items. We did have a problem with housekeeping on the last day. Nobody came and cleaned up our room. You could opt out of replacing sheets and towels

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Navigate309945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSupervisor, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Navigate309945. We appreciate the great feedback you provided. We apologize that housekeeping did not arrive on your last day. We would love to hear more about your stay if you can contact us at your convenience. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is great. Free Breakfast good with good choices and pleasant staff. One of the nicest breakfasts out of many stays at other SpringHill Suites. Hotel needs room updating and renovation. Shares space with Residence Inn which isn’t a good idea. Smell in entering and exiting this location was annoying and nauseous. Hotel rooms need more sitting space if sofa is used as bed. This is a problem with all SpringHill properties.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red_Canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSupervisor, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Red_Canoe,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We would love to hear back from you at your earliest convenience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night because our flight home to NY was canceled, but I would definitely stay again. The rooms were nice and clean, specially the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again and or/recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anathemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSupervisor, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Anathemouse! We appreciate the time and effort you spent to provide a survey and feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we see you again soon. Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm only doing this survey so that the woman that works in the continental breakfast area (don't know her name) can get a shout out. She is so friendly, welcoming, and kind. Your top employee! Promote that woman!!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bethcooper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFDSupervisor, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you bethcooper10,

Our wonderful breakfast staff is delighted to hear such great feedback!! We hope to see you again soon and if you have any additional feedback please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews