We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, surprisingly affordable for downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #60 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, surprisingly affordable for downtown Chicago”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip to Chicago for 5 nights in Feb. 2010. I was really surprised how nice this hotel was. I used to live in Chicago, so I was really familiar with the area, but if you aren't that familiar with the location it may seem a tiny bit off the beaten path (since it isn't right on Michigan Avenue - but only a few blocks away). Service was excellent and the desk staff were very friendly. The room (a corner king suite) was enormous for a major city hotel room, and also clean and comfortable. You can walk to transportation, restaurants, the Art Institute, Millennium Park, etc. There is also free breakfast daily, which was good and included hot things like eggs and waffles. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    356
    87
    23
    18
See reviews for
330
157
49
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed at the River North Springhill Suites Feb 4-7 and had a wonderful experience! The staff was very accommodating with our requests and were very friendly. This location is perfect for a weekend getaway. We were able to walk from the train that brought us in from the airport and we walked everywhere we needed to go. Location is close to good restaurants and bars, not far from Michigan Ave shopping, and a 10 minute walk to the theatre district. The room size was fine and we had a view of both the Tribune and the Wrigley buidlings. Bonus: free Wi Fi! We never needed a map because we could always pull up Google Maps on my IPod and plan our day. We would stay at the Springhill Suites every time we come to Chicago...I have nothing bad to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wascooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights while sightseeing in Chicago. The hotels location is wonderful, walking distance to all the attractions.

The double queen room on the 26th floor was very spacious, clean and tidy.

We did have the free breakfast in the Springhill suites on the first morning, but then we decided to have breakfast in the Residence inn. Nicer setup with a few more offerings.

There is a car park right behind the hotel which will set you back a cool $34 per night self park, no in/out privileges.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and very fast to respond to our needs.

Yes will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed here for two nights with a friend on a weekend Chistmas shopping trip. The location is great, convenient to the Magnificent Mile and other shopping areas (Macy's, Christkindl Market, etc.) and we were able to walk everywhere. We took the train from Midway, and the hotel is just a few blocks walk from Grand station on the red line. The room was a good size, and the included breakfast was nice. Noticed at breakfast and at the pool/spa that the hotel seemed to be full of families with kids. So it wasn't exactly peace and quiet at breakfast or the pool- but we heard no noise while inside our room. As another reviewer noted, there is a firehouse just around the block, and we did see firetrucks going out on calls regularly. We were surprised that we were not awoken by sirens during the night. Perhaps we were just too tired from all that shopping... Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmmsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We just stayed here on a Sunday night for $79 for a king suite. It's new, clean and in a great location. We walked to the Christmas Mart, Mag Mile and along the river. The room isn't huge, but was big enough for us and adult daughter. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly. We enjoyed chatting with them any time we passed through the lobby.
Breakfast was good, not out of the ordinary. Again the staff in the beakfast was friendly.
We parked around the corner at Sterling Self-Park for $28 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I'm not blowing this out of proportion. There is a fire station a block north of the hotel and it is quite active. It seemed like there was a call at least every hour, usually southbound particularly on Saturday, even at night. Our corner room on the 22nd floor sounded like those fire trucks were coming thru the hotel. Noise from the interior of the hotel was minimal, but from outside, well I guess that's why they call it the big city, but this was our third trip to Chicago in the last 3 years, with 2 stays previous at the Hilton GI. I don't remember it being that loud there.

The room was modern and spacious, everything was new and clean. Check in was great, they let us in at 12:30 pm, the staff helpful and attentive, although we had to call for maid service on Sunday after 3pm. Breakfast was OK at best. Some of the pastries and bagels we had seemed past day old.

Based on our experience, I think I would pass on this hotel if the opportunity to stay here again ever arose.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishiwasindestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
wishiwasindestin,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate hearing all of our guests' feedback.

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This was a really terrific hotel that I will definitely frequent again. My husband & I come to Chicago every year at Thanksgiving for my birthday so we have stayed in many places over the years - Hampton, Monaco, Hotel 71, Hilton Garden Inn, Wyndham, Four Points Sheraton, etc. Knowing my way around Chicago, I chose to try the Springhill Suites on Dearborn and am I glad I did! Although the location is great, just a couple of blocks off Michigan & State, it's actually easy to miss the hotel - the signage outside is quite plain and it shares an entrance w/ Residence Inn. The actual lobby for both chains is on the 2nd floor. Check-in was great, staff very accommodating -- I even got a bottle of wine for my birthday. The elevators are the fastest and smoothest of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The hotel offers a nice hot/cold complimentary breakfast as well - a bit early for a "leisure" trip (6:30-9:00 a.m.). We had a "studio" double room. It was perfect, very chic and modern. Sitting area had a desk, chaise, and sleeper couch and was separated from bedroom area by frosted glass. Plenty of lighting (which is a big complaint w/ me because most rooms are just too dark). We had a microwave, frig, and coffee maker. Bath area was good size and vanity area was separate w/ plenty of top space to put items. The only issue I had was the lack of good sized drawers for clothes that you didn't want to hang .. there were only (2) very shallow drawers. I would rate this hotel as EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing