We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal for young families (have 3 & 5 yr old)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #44 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We paid 170/night - it was a pkg deal which included breakfast AND valet parking. We stayed in a King "suite". My husband snores LOUDLY. So he slept in the king while the kids and I slept in the sitting area with noise makers all around us. The sitting area is a loveseat fold out with a fainting type couch alongside it forming an L shape-sort of like a mini-sectional. My 3 yr old and I slept on the foldout while my son who was just short enough (42 in.) to sleep on the fainting couch. The privacy wall between the bed area and sitting area functions as a enclosed writing desk on the side of the sitting area with a chair. It is enclosed by frosted/privacy glass. It's nice because the division goes from floor to ceiling. Usually in separate area suites (as opposed to separate bedroom suites) only have half walls. It worked out great! There is also a fridge, microwave and sink. Now, the rooms are smaller than one might think. The photos are always misleading on websites. For instance, when you pull the fold out bed from the love seat, there is very little space between the foot of the bed and the privacy wall/desk. When the bed is folded out, it pretty much takes up most of the sitting area. Same thing with the pool. It's a lot smaller than it looks. Great fitness center though. Really great breakfast. It was clean. Also, there is a free trolley 2 blocks from the hotel that goes on a route to Navy Pier. One WARNING for parents w/ toddlers- One think I really felt unsafe about is that they have bottom windows that can be opened and have NO screens! Fortunately, my kids never figured it out

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tupes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

Spent two nights here in October 2009, and the hotel was all around fantastic. The King Suite was exactly as the pictures showed online. Lots of room for 3 adults to share, clean, with great amenities in the room including a powerful hairdryer, iron and full-size ironing board, microwave, and fridge. King size bed and pull-out couch very comforatble.
24 hour store located at recption, as well as a lounge. Friendly and helpful staff allowed for early morning check-in without requesting it in advance and bag storage after hotel check-out. The breakfast buffet was excellent with both hot and cold options including eggs, sausage, waffles, fruits and cereal, as well as a coffee/tea station. Free internet/printer in the lobby was hardly ever in use.
Friendly door staff give excellent directions and hail cabs quickly. The location of the hotel is the best feature as it is within walking distance to major sites and several metro stops.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filmgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at the Springhill Suites over Labor Day weekend with our teenage sons. The hotel met our every need. The rooms were a little on the small side for a suite but you can't beat it for the price. Location was excellent, just a short walk to Michigan Ave. The free internet access in the lobby was a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at the Springhill Suites/River North two weeks ago and are still missing it! We arrived two hours before check-in and had no problems with early check-in (including our extra requests). Immediately, the staff went to work suggesting restaurants nearby and travel directions. The room itself was big enough to allow three people to breathe. They're not as big as the suites at Embassy and have a partition (as opposed to a divided wall). Still, the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. I can't emphasize how secure this hotel makes you feel. It has just over 200 rooms and it's not so big that it has to be impersonal. Instead, it's quiet and beautiful. The location is ideal as you're within a few blocks of ESPN Zone, Hard Rock Cafe, House of Blues . . . and most important, Michigan Ave. We always felt safe in and around the hotel. Finally, the breakfast area was great. The food was good and has one of the best employees (Veronica) that you'll ever meet! Can't say enough good about this hotel, highly recommend it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvpigeonforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed with spouse and 2 teenage girls last Saturday night. It was our second time staying at this hotel and was just as good of an experience as the first time. The rooms are so quiet and comfortable. We loved having the extra sleeping area with the hideabed. The pool and jacuzzi were great and open until 11 PM. Continental breakfast was well stocked with a great selection. Staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. Parking was steep at $44, but I guess that is par for the course downtown. Easily walked 4 blocks to the shopping on Michigan Ave. We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekwcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Following four nights in Manhattan, in a more expensive but considerably smaller suite, it was a huge relief to walk into a room as spacious and as pleasant as those at the Springhill Suites. Given the choice of a high floor or low floor, I chose high and had a great view over downtown Chicago. Well insulated from outside noise and with very efficient aircon, sleep is no problem and, when you're not sleeping, the Suites are well located for exploring the city - I even discovered they are within walking distance of the Blue Line metro which I used to get back to O'Hare.
Breakfast was included and was plentiful though slightly let down by the disposable plates and cutlery. Coffee is always available in the lobby. Front desk service was exceptional - another contrast with Manhattan.
Free wi-fi was very useful to have. I didn't try the pool on the top floor but hear it's good.
I would have no hesitation in coming back here next time I'm in Chicago and would recommend it to anyone else visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verchaixbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I'd stayed at the Residence Inn on the other side of the building last year, so when my husband and I were planning our Chicago trip we decided on SpringHill Suites because it was a bit cheaper. The location absolutely can't be beat--a five-minute walk to the Grand/State Street station on the Red Line subway (as an FYI the station is undergoing renovation but it's still open), a couple of minutes more to the Magnificent Mile, tons of shops and restaurants. We got there very early (10 a.m.) but a suite was available. We splurged for a corner suite which had a great view of the Tribune and Wrigley buildings with Lake Michigan in the background. The suite was pretty spacious with a comfortable bed, a flat-screen TV, and a sink/fridge area, although the fridge is more like a beverage cooler. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, always greeting us with a smile whether it was the front desk person or a housekeeper. The fitness room is very well-equipped and the laundry room came in very handy. The hotel does have a convenience store but there's a Jewel/Osco supermarket right near the El station where you can pick up drinks and snacks much cheaper. For the price you simply can't do better than SpringHill!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $125 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing