We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
410 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed December 9, 2008

This property is new and immaculate. Very much enjoyed the stay and would recommend for individuals, families, business or pleasure. Great location - great amenities - overal - GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    349
    86
    23
    18
See reviews for
324
152
49
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We just spent a weekend at this hotel. I have nothing but good things to say about our experience. The location is perfect. You are about a 10 minute walk to the "blue line" that takes you to
O Hare; literally a 5 minute walk to the "red line" that takes you everywhere else. We never felt like we needed a car. There is also a grocery store nearby(10 minute walk) if you want to go get wine/beer etc. and store it in the fridge.

The room was very clean. Since there were only two of us, it was more than enough room. If you had more than that I could see it being a little cramped, but there is a small pull-out sofa. Even though you are right downtown, the room was very quiet.

The breakfast area was the biggest I've seen in one of these hotels. They kept it well stocked the whole time. It is very busy and lots of people everywhere, but we always got more than enough to eat.

It's very nice to have internet access in the lobby for checking quick e-mails and printing off boarding passes.

We will definitely come again when we are fortuante enough to come back to Chicago.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank westla4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My work booked the hotel for everyone (I think the rate was $249). They just opened up this hotel earlier this year. The hotel is attached to the residence inn. You go in through the revolving door and there is an elevator for springhill suites and another for residence inn guests. You go up a floor to the lobby. To the back is a lounging area to sit. To the right of it are a few computers and a printer so it is nice to print out your boarding pass when checking out of the hotel. It's all complimentary (internet & printing). To the left of the sitting area is the dining area for the complimentary breakfast. They had eggs, sausage, cereal, juices, waffles, etc. It's a very adequate offering for a free breakfast. The 24-hr "market" is nearby the check-in desk and is a small convenience stand that has drinks and snacks.

I got the room with the king bed. all in all, it looked like the hotel pics because the hotel is still new and in it's first year. the complimentary internet access is a plus. it has a microwave and mini-fridge. The sofa has a pull-out bed. you get a flat screen tv to watch. my bathroom only had a shower, but that was fine for me. The bath floor towel had a small stain (rust colored), but I turned it over and used the other side. The shower floor could of been a bit more spotlessly clean, but maybe it's the poor choice in the material type, not sure. it was quiet and a pleasant stay. all the extras add up to make this a good pick.

  • Liked — it's new, complimentary breakfast-internet-business center, microwave and fridge
  • Disliked — layout of where the tv was in reference to the bed (very minor)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank syh75287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This hotel was fantastic. We had never been to Chicago before and we found this hotel a true delight. Brilliant location, close to the Magnificant Mile, State Street and the Theatre District. Great for us as we wanted to visit all the sights and do lots of shopping.

The staff are very helpful, and having breakfast included in the price was an added bonus. There is free access to the internet which we found useful. We bought tickets online to see Dirty Dancing at the Cadillac Theatre and it was amazing,we would definately recommend it. We also discovered a restaurant called the Grand Lux Cafe, this is the sister company of the Cheesecake Factory and you don't need to wait nearly as long for a table, You can find it beside Marshalls on Ontario Ave.

We found some great bargains by visiting the Chicago Premium Outlet Centre you can book this tour through greyline tours.

We had time to see most of the sights but we would recommend the John Hancock tower instead of the Sears Tower. Much better views and you get an audio tour included.

The "Windy City" really is a fab place to visit and we will definately be back and wouldn't hesitate to stay in the Springhill Suites again.

  • Liked — Great location,helpful staff,big rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Not being familiar with this part of Chicago, the SpringHill Suites was a wonderful surprise. Just a couple blocks from the Magnificent Mile and transportation to Navy Pier. Lots of restaurants and clubs in the area, too.

Sean at the front desk was particularly helpful. He went out of his way to get dinner reservations for us. He also suggested easy ways to get to Navy Pier and he Museum Campus.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking charges
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whiterabbit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed at the Springhill Suites over the Labor Day holiday this year. What a great hotel. First, location is great. Dearborn is a busy area with tons of places to eat within easy walking distance. The staff of the hotel was very helpful and pleasant. We left our camera down in the car after it was valet parked and they quickly went down and grabbed it for us. The rooms are a little small, but for our family of 3, that was not a big deal. We didn't spend a ton of time in the room anyway. My wife is tough to please on hotels so I was happy when she smiled and said it was to her liking. She was very happy with the cleanliness of the room. Overall, you can't go wrong with this place. We got it for $119 labor day special so I really considered it a great deal.

I gave it 4 stars because I have to reserve the 5 star rating for those exceptional places.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DDKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We just returned from a short stay in Chicago and were very pleased with our stay at the SpringHill Suites. While some have posted criticisms about the room sizes, we felt the design of the rooms was so smart that you didn't need the extra room (drawers inside a closet actually works very well). There were 4 of us in a room with 2 double beds and sofa sleeper, and we were fine. In fact, we ordered take-out dinner and sat very comfortably in the sitting end of the room. The rooms were exceptionally clean, bright, and we appreciated the modern style.

One of the most important things about a hotel stay is your ability to actually sleep. Our beds were extremely comfortable, and even though the hotel was full during our stay, we didn't hear any noise when we were in our room.

As others have stated, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We had not been in our room long when someone from the hotel knocked on our door to make sure we had everything we wanted.

Finally, I just want to add that the hotel does not scrimp where many in its price range do. The towels are very good quality, and the shower is great, and as I've already stated so are the beds, and wall thickness. Give up a little square footage and in return receive better quality is worth it for me.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BethMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing