We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and location, but the staff is what makes it great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #59 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shenyang, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good price and location, but the staff is what makes it great.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nothing special about the property- typical hotel room. Good internet speed, a much better than average breakfast. However, the staff was first-rate. Fast, efficient, helpful, and very personable. Yes, I'm just another tourist checking in, but I was made to feel that it mattered to them that I had chosen their hotel for my trip, and that I enjoyed my time in Chicago. I want Marriott to know that I notice and appreciate the quality of service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancina2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the extremely kind words regarding our staff! We truly aim to be the most friendly hotel staff in downtown Chicago! I am so glad our team made a great impression on you. We hope to have you back at our hotel the next time you visit downtown Chicago!!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    356
    87
    23
    18
See reviews for
329
157
49
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here three nights for a wedding and several of our friends stayed here as well. The staff was so friendly and accommodating.

Pros:
- Good location. We could walk easily to several nice restaurants/bars, Magnificent Mile, park, grocery store and river walk.
- No bar on site but you can purchase single beers and bottles of wine until 2 am at the hotel.
- Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was already put away one morning and one of the staff offered to get my husband a bagel for example.
- They have water in the lobby that is infused with fresh fruit that is quite refreshing.
- Hotel gym on the top floor has all of the equipment and machines you'd need for a complete workout plus the views from high up.

Con:
- Pillows were too thin and we would wake up with sore necks.

FYI: Note that dry cleaning should be in around 6 pm or it could be as late as 8 pm. We did not express our dry cleaning because we were told it would come in by 6 pm and had a 7 pm dinner to go to. I called down to the front desk after 6 pm and they said they would bring our dry cleaning up to us as soon as it was delivered. Around 15 minutes later someone came to our room with our dry cleaning so my husband was able to wear his shirt out to dinner.

Overall, stay was great and would come here again next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for this nice 4-Star review! I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we'll get the opportunity to have you back and see if we can give you a 5-Star stay next time!

Thank you,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the location and value. This is walking distance to all the hot spots and shopping. We stayed here two nights for a bachelorette party weekend and it was a good deal. Service was above and beyond... Delightful. We missed breakfast (overslept) after a late night out. The two ladies cleaning up breakfast hooked me up with yogurt and bananas. Free coffee all day. Only downfall was the fridge didn't work in our room. I would stay here again definitely!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the excellent location. I do apologize for the fridge not working in your room. If you ever stay with us again, please let us know if anything is not working in your suite and we'll make sure to have our engineers fix or replace the item. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my two children in June 2014. The room was large, with 2 double beds and a pull out couch. The room was very clean. If you need extra towels they bring them right up. There is also a mini fridge and a microwave. The beds were a little small, but there is the pull out couch if needed. Breakfast was very good, and I agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast lady is excellent and very attentive. The hotel is walking distance to the red line and the station at the merchandise mart ( can't remember which lines that station serves). Also, we tried the restaurant, Hub 51, the first night. The s'mores pie is great. The cheese quesadillas are a little greasy but good. There is a NY deli/ pizza place a short walk away if you exit the front of the hotel and turn left. It was very good for pizza if you get tired of the Chicago style. It is called NYC Bagel Deli. I highly recommend it ( but I grew up in NY so I may be biased). Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiredmommaindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here! We aim to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago and we hope we lived up to this mission during your stay! As you mentioned, our hotel is very close to some amazing restaurants and I'm glad you enjoyed Hub 51 and NYC Bagel Deli. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos NM
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now. It is always enjoyable and the staff is friendly. This time the lady who ran the breakfast bar was wonderful! The world could use more people with her attitude,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwwilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast attendant is Veronica and she truly is a gem! Thank you for mentioning her and I'll be sure to pass on your comment to her and the rest of our leadership team. Thank you and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel room goes for as much as $500 a night but I got the bargain rate of $229. When I went to start the shower the water from the spigot just shot out from behind but never came through the shower head. Nice to know that I get to go to all day meetings without a shower.
When I told the front desk on checking out the response was "thanks for letting us know-we'll contact engineering right away". No "sorry" - no attempt to even offer a free cup of coffee.
Worst example of customer service I've encountered in years.......

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but SpringHill River North!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRPMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for the information you have passed on. I'm terribly sorry that your shower did not work the morning of your checkout. I'm truly sorry our front desk only thanked you for the information about the shower not working properly so that they could report it to our Engineering department. We have engineers in the building at all times, so if you ever find that something isn't working properly, please contact the front desk right away and we can the problem. Our engineer would have gladly helped fix the shower head in your room to ensure you were able to take a shower that. Our front desk also would have been more than happy to give you a different room to shower in if you were in a hurry and didn't have time to wait.

Our hotel takes great pride in our customer service and we truly aim to be the best in downtown Chicago. I'm sorry you did not have a very nice stay because of the shower. I truly hope the rest of your stay was great and I would really like to have you back at our hotel for another stay. Please reach out to me the next time you are in town and we'll take great care of you.

Thank you,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The family stayed here 4 nights, T-F, and the experience overall was great. The breakfast was great each morning and the service was excellent from all staff.

We had a 1BR and it was okay. The beds could be more comfortable. By the last night, our backs felt the bed.

The location is in the middle of everything. Within a few blocks of the magnificent mile and a couple miles from the museum campus. It rained the first day so we took a cab to the museums, $12. The rest of the days were beautiful so we walked everywhere. It made us think about living in the downtown of a major city...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Xo-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the nice 4-Star review! I am glad you and the family enjoyed the stay at our property! I'm truly sorry the beds were not comfortable enough for you. Please feel free to let the front desk know next time as we have some additional foam toppers for mattresses that feel to firm for our guests. Thank you again and we hope to have you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing