We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice hotel”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and venturing out into the city from this home base location. The rooms were clean, updated, and quiet. The breakfast was very crowded but nicely prepared and a good variety of choices. The staff was friendly, responsive, and helpful. The only problem noticed was the line to use the elevators and to get breakfast because of the number of guests staying. But that was to be expected with being located right downtown. The pool was packed and small. Not as nice as the rest of the hotel. Have dinner at Hub 51 and Harry Caray's. They are literally around the corner with great food, ambiance, and nice servers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlusters62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a chance to experience all of our amenities. Breakfast can get a little crazy with all of the guests coming down but we do our best to manage it. And having great guests makes it easy for us to make sure everyone gets feed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    347
    85
    23
    18
See reviews for
322
152
48
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed the weekend of Lollapalooza (massive music festival in Grant Park 8/1-8/4) in one of the two bed suites. Needless to say, they were extremely busy with people coming and going... wouldn't have known the difference. Jennifer at the front desk was very well organized and had us checked in and up to our room within 10 minutes, despite the 20+ people in the lobby. Rooms are a bit crowded (strange layout from living room to sleeping quarters). Very strange lighting in the sleeping quarters (we had trouble finding lights in that area altogether). Very large bathroom with great water pressure. For what it is worth - we had an excellent view.

Location was great! Only 1 mile north of Grant Park and even closer to plenty of bars/restaurants. The hotel restaurant that provided the room service was extremely ritsy (Hub 51... or something similar). GREAT food but I was judged by the staff and patrons when i walked in wearing khaki shorts and a t-shirt.

Strangest part - coming in from the street you are forced to take an elevator to the lobby which splits to another Marriott. Then you have to walk over to another elevator bank to go to the rooms. No big deal but a bit inconvenient.

Excellent service and friendly staff, plus the price was right. Would stay again. (Didn't check out the breakfast but apparently there is a breakfast buffet with decent food.)

Room Tip: Highest floor possible - we were on the 24th and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gredwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
So happy to see Jennifer, one of our great front desk clerks, get recognized for her hard work everyday. She is a true asset to our front desk team. We are also happy to hear your stay was great and you had a great time at the festival. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Springhill Suites Chicago, Downtown/River North, is a convenient location for the Loop and River North attractions. It has easy access to the river taxis, the train and the El. The front desk staff, breakfast staff, and housekeeping staff were all very friendly and dedicated to the customers. Breakfast was overly crowded but the staff tried to keep things moving and the items stocked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear the location meet your needs for your trip to Chicago. We can't wait to get another chance to serve you and your guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Thursday-Saturday for business at the same time Lollapalooza was going on in Chicago. The hotel was at maximum capacity; the majority of them being teenagers and young adults. I thought the hotel staff did an excellent job of managing everything. They stayed friendly and helpful. They were prepared for a weekend of amateur travelers. I was very impressed with their ability to let the kids have fun and enjoy their stay while still allowing those of us there was other reasons enjoy our stay. Breakfast was stocked every day during my stay. The breakfast lady did give warning on Saturday that the “Lolla kids” would be waking up soon, so we may want to eat and run before they hit the breakfast area. She was laughing with everyone and having fun. The hotel manager came over to chat with the adults to make sure we were happy with our stay.

My room was on the 25th floor and overlooked interesting roof top gardens. The hotel is in a great location. It was easy to walk to my meetings, dinner in the evening, and the train. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay. And we are very happy to have served you. Thank you for the great review and recognizing the extra mile the staff went to make sure every guest was taken care of during a very busy weekend in Chicago. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a weekend granddaughter,daughter,mom here and everything was perfect. The hotel is in a very good for getting around. We went to a play and it was an easy walk. The breakfast was so much better then we expected and the ladies working their were so helpful and friendly. Always trying to make everyone happy and smile. I really appreciated the later ccheckout too. The desk help were always helpful and courteous. So Thank You Springhill Suites, we will be back! The pool temperature was very good also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynderee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful stay. That makes us very happy and gets us excited to serve the next guest. Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I would have given it a perfect rating, but the lines at the breakfast buffet were horrendous....and they didn't keep restocking the food. They need to have 2 lines, & more help. I might've expected this on a weekend, but not on a weekday morning.

Price was great for downtown Chicago. Room was clean.

I'd stay here again....since I normally don't eat breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwesternmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are sorry to hear your breakfast experience was not the greatest regarding the lines. The hotel is sold out a majority of the nights throughout the year. No matter what day of the week it is. We always want our guests to experience the best hotel experience they could ever imagine and we hope next time you stay with us the breakfast lines aren't as bad. Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Chicago and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was perfect four our family of 4 for a 3 night trip to Chicago. The room was large enough for us to be comfortable and we were able to walk to all the places we wanted to visit including shops, restaurants and attractions. The hotel was exceptionally clean with comfortable beds and bedding. Staff were helpful and gave great service. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of food that was fresh and tasty. We enjoyed the pool, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are happy your last minute trip to Chicago was pleasant. We will definitely look into the issue you experienced at breakfast becasue we don't want our guests to feel hurried. Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing