We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #46 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Getting good value on a hotel in Chicago can be a challenge. This hotel offers a lot for the money. The location is great, the rooms are good sized for Chicago, and the free breakfast was a step up from most similar offerings. Very clean and comfortable. The only reason it doesn't get an Excellent rating is that I didn't spend enough time to be able to fully judge it.

Room Tip: Its Chicago - the higher the better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLKfromIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for the review. Hopefully next time you can enjoy everything we have to offer so we can get that excellent review! We are confident you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to have you back in the future.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice property located close to downtown attractions, with nice views of the city. Staff very friendly, rooms are clean and spacious for a downtown hotel. Room service provided by Hub 51 restaurant - excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wink27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Excellent! What a great review! Glad to hear everything was great!
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good, central location for us to stay during a visit to do college campus tours. We normally stay a Marriott, but we were only staying for one night and there was such a significant price difference. We gave Springhill Suites a shot. We were pleasantly surprised! An indoor parking garage is connected via a 2nd floor walkway and was reasonably priced for Chicago. A bonus was the free in/out garage privileges for hotel guests and you can remain parked until 3PM the day of check-out. The desk staff was very professional and welcoming at check-in. We had a high floor room with a spectacular nice view of the city. We weren't interested in using the pool but did take a look. If you are looking for a pool to lounge around, you'll be disappointed. It's tiny and wouldn't work for trying to do laps.
We had a newish, clean, standard suite with a spacious bathroom. The room had a comfy bed, clean carpet, nice desk area, small kitchenette like area with microwave and fridge, etc. The breakfast was nice, abundant, quickly restocked and overall very good. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many restaurants, stores and tourist sites. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ml6523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review. I am sorry the pool size was small for you but hopefully you enjoyed the view from the pool room.
Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you again.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wow - this was my first time in a Springhill Suites, and I can say that I was truly impressed. The front staff couldn't do enough for us, and usually I'm not the type to have to ask for things from housekeeping and front desk staff, but for this trip, we made a few requests, which were all handled promptly and with over-the-top service. We needed extra towels (BAM - delivered asap). We requested a kitchen knife to cut hard salami (BAM - they brought us a brand new 9' blade in its packing). We requested ear plugs to sleep soundly (BAM - they were out, but ran to CVS to get us 4 pairs). The breakfast option is very nice, and the staff works hard to keep foods fresh and replenished. Love their free coffee in the lobby, as it has many quality choices.

I have to say that I felt we were treated as if we were the only ones visiting the hotel. Will at the Bell Check was especially nice, and the Front Desk Managers greeted us always with a smile and a hello, checking to see if we needed anything else.

The bed was very comfy, and the linens and sheets were sparkling white. The only thing I have to add is that the floor space in the suite was a little tight, but we were 4 gals sharing a room.

Room Tip: I see no problem with getting a room on any floor. We were on 18 of a 29 floor hotel, and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for the review! It was our pleasure to serve you! Hopefully we will have you and your friends back at our hotel sooner than later.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this property following a wedding in the Chicago area. Rate was excellent and the location could not be beat. Walking distance to so many great Chicago attractions. The view was excellent! Separate Living Area from Bedding area - but just a room divider not separate room with full walls and a door. Hotel and Room had a lot of modern touches but room was beginning to show some wear though no issues and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnroFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are definitely in the heart of everything Chicago has to offer. Thank you again for staying with us.
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I usually stay at the full service Marriott, but there was such a price difference on a recent three day trip. The Springhill Suites was less than half the price. It will be my go-to hotel in Chicago from now own.

The desk clerks couldn't have been any nicer or more professional at check-in. I was early, so my room wasn't ready, but they checked my luggage so I could go get lunch. My room was on the 24th floor, with a nice view of the city. Being so high up, it was very, very quiet. The elevators worked well and quickly, which is not the case at the full service hotel. Also, the hotel's not having a bar meant not drunken sorority girls screaming in the hall late a night. (Also a problem at the full service hotel.)

The rooms are standard Springhill Suites. Nothing fancy, but the carpet isn't worn, bathrooms are spacious and clean, the microwave and fridge are in working order, etc. The breakfast was restocked constantly, the lobby area was bright and comfortable and the internet was faster than at most other Marriott properties.

In short, all standards you would expect from this hotel was met or exceeded.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of many restaurants, stores and tourist sites. There is a grocery store a block away and a drug store a block the other way. I took the train in from Midway and it was an easy walk from the Orange Line to the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the review. Yes we are a limited service hotel but we want to treat our guests as if it is a full service hotel. Glad to hear your experience was great and we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The price was hard to beat. The rooms are adequate, but sparsely/cheaply furnished and utterly charm free. The breakfast is a nice touch. Staff are extraordinarily friendly and helpful (the best part of staying here in fact). Guest-room windows are large, which is a good thing because unless your face and phone are pressed up against one, forget about a working mobile phone connection. We had two different phones with two different service providers and neither could get reception even two feet (literally, I measured) away from the window. Location is OK for some decent restaurants and the "splendor" of the north loop, but if you're in town for the finer things in life, it's a good seven to 10 blocks hike (that's close to a mile) to the very best shopping on Michigan Avenue. Just saying. I chose this hotel because it was $20 less than its sister Marriott next door. (And I got what I paid for.) I might stay here again if the price was dramatically lower ($80 to $100 less) than other comparably budget-minded choices (Holiday Inn, for example), but personally I'll spend more next time for something with a few more touches of comfort/convenience/class.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a window. You won't be able to use your mobile phone without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the review. Glad to hear the service was the best part of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear your cell phone reception was weak in your room. I know with all the high rise concrete buildings around the signals can get weak.
Thank you
Jon Gustin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $118 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing