We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$275
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$256
$229
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$279
$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$416
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveler rating
572
392
99
27
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
392
99
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationriver norththe breakfast areafree breakfastwithin walking distancesofa bedbreakfast staffyogurtpool and hot tubnice view of the cityhouse of blueshigh floorsitting areahot breakfastself parkingnavy pierfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights on business in September. I very much like the room setup with a small living and work area on one side and sleeping on the other. Stand up showers, which I prefer (as opposed to bath tub shower). Staff was friendly. Nicely located within a block or so of Chicago river. Plenty of great dining within walking distance. Overall great value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Centrally located just north of the river, it's less than 10 minutes to a good selction of restaurants and Michigan Avenue. What I really like about this hotel is the comfortable bedroom with a mini-fridge and microwave. Sometimes I don't feel like a eating at a restaurant. So at this hotel, I order take out, like a Lou Malnati's deep dish pizza, and save the leftovers for another meal. They also have complimentary hot breakfasts on weekdays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotRod_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This suite hotel has all of the amenities and comfort you can ask for. Staff was pleasant and the breakfast was delicious. Location is great and the room was well appointed. As the entrance is separate elevator from the elevators taking you up to the room, that was interesting. The lower level is not as closely monitored so a few homeless men came in and asked me for change but I don't think they travel to other levels. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very well located, close to Grant and State subway stations.
The lobby is situated at the 1st floor. on ground floor is the valet parking. Bedroom comfortable (1st stay 1025) , 2nd stay 1925, exactly same room but higher floor) spacious with a large sofa bed, desk, fridge, micro wave, sink. We regreted that there were not enough cupboards or drawers for the 3 of us. Wifi worked very well as the wired Internet connexion
The cleaning was ok during both stay, both time we found plastic lid/bag under the sofa from previous people.
Breakfast room is spacious we always found room but some people did not and had breakfast in the lobby. The hotel is big and breakfast was served between 7.00 to 9.00 (10.00 on weekends). Complimentary coffee /tea all day long, pleasant. A lot of restaurants near the hotel.
The pool is a bit small and shallow, good for young kids.Very nice whirlpool and fitness center.
Cheap laundry : 1 dollar for washing and 1 for dryer, around 10 machines.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelleandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the SSCDRN on a girl’s weekend. We choose this hotel because it was in a good location, it got decent Trip advisor reviews and it was the best deal we could find - we searched all of the travel sites and then called reservations and asked for a discount off the lowest price we found. We were able to get an additional $70 off of our entire stay.
We flew into Midway, took the orange line to the Clark/Lake station and then schlepped six blocks with our luggage (not at all a bad walk).
Hotel staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. They quickly checked us in and sent us up to our room. The hotel feels secure, key cards are necessary to operate the elevator.
The common areas and the rooms of the hotel are clean and don't seem too worn - they are modernly decorated.
Because there were three of us, we choose a room with a king size bed and a pull out couch. The king size bed is not the most comfortable bed (by a long shot). My companions found it to be too soft, too lumpy and too loud (you could hear the springs whenever someone moved).
The pull out couch was unreasonably uncomfortable and should be replaced asap (room 2517). I slept on the pull out one night and the rest of the nights I just slept on the couch.
The reasons I am rating this hotel at a three are: cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and the location.
Itinerary:
Wednesday: arrived in the evening, went to RPM Italian (Giuliana and Bill Rancic's restaurant) two blocks north of the hotel.
Thursday: bought a day pass and took the water taxi from Clark/LaSalle street (two blocks from hotel) to Chinatown and Michigan Ave. Walked from Michigan Ave stop to Navy Pier. We ate at Frontera Grill two blocks away.
Friday: Took the #6 bus to the Museum of Science and Industry; walked through, Osaka Japanese Gardens and Chicago University. Took the MTA train to Millennium Park, walked to Buckingham Fountain, Navy Pier. Took an architectural water tour from Shoreline at Navy Pier. Ate at Shaw's Crab House.
Saturday: Orangeline back to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

mamie222,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not get the best nights rest. Our beds are 4 years old at the hotel and we constantly check to make sure they are to par, but every once in awhile a few get overlooked. Thank you for giving us the room number so that we can inspect the mattress and box spring. You have helped us a tremendous amount. Thank you so much for posting a review!

Best,
Katee Hawkins
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews