We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms & location were great, other details need work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #60 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooms & location were great, other details need work”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The room was very nice & spacious, but quite noisy if you're at the back of the hotel where there are some popular late night spots hopping on weekends. There are elevator problems - only two elevators on each side meant long lines & lots of stair walking. Management sent an email after the fact stating elevators were malfunctioning that week, but staff had told us they were always like that during the day. Hotel was clearly understaffed over Easter weekend (stayed Thursday thru Wednesday). Two women at the front desk seemed to do everything at the hotel - operator, front desk check-in, concierge, etc. so lines were always long. I will say those women were always incredibly friendly, calming & helpful. There are no ice machines - you have to go down to the front desk area to get bags of ice - not an easy task when you have to wait in line for elevator use. Sink had no water pressure - staff said it was intentional to save water. The location is prime & the neighborhood safe. I might give it one more try if I find a really good rate.

Room Tip: Front of the building to avoid the beat of the nightclub in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlamingoChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
FlamingoChuck-

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay! It is true, we do have some "superwomen" at our front desk who can do it all, but as we are approaching summer
we have been preparing for the busier time in Chicago with some new additions to the front desk staff. That way, we can continue to ensure that all our your needs are met, whether
they be checking in and out, or concierge related. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we can improve upon, and we have been exploring ways to make the elevators more
efficient to meet your needs. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the great location though, and know that our knowledgable and enthusiastic team is always willing to help with
recommmendations and ideas!
We sincerely hope you will return and stay with us in the future.

Best,

Lauren Silinsky

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    356
    87
    23
    18
See reviews for
330
157
49
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My daughter and i visited Chicago to see the city and go to a couple of cubs games from 8 May -13 May and were using reward points. i will do a pros and cons for this stay:

PROS-

1. early checkin- big thumbs up to be able to drop bags off and not worry about coming back later to checkin.

2. nice breakfast-had just about anything you would have wanted.

3. location-i will put this in the pros and also the cons. really like how close the "L" was to the hotel.

4. really close to some good resteraunts like the Weber Grill and Rosebud Trattoria.

Cons:

1. using points i was hoping for a bigger room with a somewhat decent view...room 1021 had a great view of the huge crane next door and the construction of the building or some structure going up. not the hotels fault but...

2. the extremely loud club next door which was banging techno music until at least 3am. again not the hotels fault but be warned if you are a light sleeper. i would suggest to get on the front side of the hotel on the street with Ruth Chris to help drown out the noise

3. Parking-we took the "L" everywhere but if you have a car it is $54 a day for parking. ouch!

4. elevators-had some minor issues. i am all for security but i had trouble with my room key using the key pad to get the elevator. i kept getting a yellow light and had to have the card changed out twice to get it to work. one day the key pad was not working and the elevator was done and some people were walking up 10-20 stories to get to their room. finally you may want to allow time on Sundays for getting to the lobby for checkout. took about 15 minutes to get an elevator with what seemed like everyone coming down at the same time (again this is not the hotels fault, just a friendly warning.

normally i stay at the Residence Inn on East Walton Street but chose this hotel from the reviews. i would stay here again but i would make sure that the room is on the other side of the hotel. if i couldn't then i would go back up 1 stop on the "L" to the CHicago stop and stay in a quieter area of town at the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: get on the side facing the Ruth Chris resteraunt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelvirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
michaelvirginiabeach-

Thank you for your recent stay, and for providing your feedback into such a well structured format- it is easy to see what expectations were
exceeded and what we need to improve upon in our guests eyes!
We are so glad you were able to take advantage of the early check in, leave your bags, and go to explore the wonderful area (with an emphasis
it sounds like on delicious food options nearby!) We value the fact that you are a rewards member, and if in the future you are able to let us know
your preferences ahead of time with regards to the room, we will do our very best to accommodate them
We thank you for letting us know what aspects of your stay were not as enjoyable, so that we may work to improve them to meet your needs with regards
to the sink pressure and elevators.

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback, we hope you will give us another try during your next visit to Chicago!

Best,

Lauren Silinsky

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvannia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The location is excellent, although if you are on a lower floor you may hear the music from nearby clubs. No views on lower floors either. The breakfast is fine and there was plenty of space to handle what is a good sized hotel. Note that renovations will start soon that will seriousy compromise this plus as they close most of the breakfast room. The room is okay, but not really a suite. More a junior suite but not all that big. The wardrobe is on the small size and there are only two drawers in the bureau---the furniture has been scaled down to optimize space in the sleeping section of the room. My biggest annoyance was the water pressure. In the sink it was so minimal as to be a problem, and the water there never was cold, always lukewarm. In the shower the pressure made washing hair a bit of a challenge. This is designed---they obviously have done something to lower the pressure to save water, but they overdid it.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, although there was one woman who did not seem to know much. Others however went out of their way to be helpful and find information and book tickets, etc. The room was clean. No problems with the elevators while we were there, and we had no trouble getting extra towels and pillows when we asked.
The prices for rooms here vary widely depending on when you go, that is clear. I would not describe our cost as any kind of bargain. They had a full house and charged accordingly, which was pricey. Due to a convention in town the Saturday rate was even higher. If it had a bit more luxury or a bit more space I would not have minded.
On the whole it was fine, but I am not sure I would return unless I got a web deal.

Room Tip: Aim high to avoid street and club noise and to have a view. Corner rooms are a bit larger I am told
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writerteacher001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
writerteacher001-


Thank you for your recent stay! We are very pleased to hear our staff was being friendly and accommodating, and
even helping you explore our wonderful city. We have recently had some new additions to the team from all over the world,
and they have been working dilligently with our more seasoned staff on becoming Chicago experts as well! We thank you for
taking the time to comment on areas you believe need our attention, because it allows us to truly focus on what needs to be addressed
to make our guests feel more comfortable. It is true as well when there are many city-wide conventions in Chicago that our rates can change
in order to reflect an overall raise in rates around the city. We do want to make sure though that you feel you are receiving what you pay for
and we are not only meeting but exceeding your expectations, and we do hope you will give us another try next time you are in the city!

Best,

Lauren Silinsky

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a wonderful stay at Springhill Suites! Everyone was so pleasant, helpful and friendly! The room was very clean and very comfortable. Great room for 5 of us~We were suprised at how much and how good the breakfast bar was, and the staff there were great also. Very close to downtown, buses and trains, restaurants and bars. Whatever question we had, there was always someone there to help. This hotel has the most incredible staff of anywhere I've ever stayed. Conrad has to be the most amazing person I have ever met! He made us feel right at home. If we ever come back to Chicago again, no question about where we will stay~I can not think of one bad thing to say about our stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Lucky156-

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property! We always aim to make our guests feel at home, and we have wonderful ambassadors like Conrad to help us in that way. It is wonderful you were able to take advantage of the location benefits, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago!

Lauren S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at the Springhill Suites from May 3-6, 2012. At first, I was in a nice room on the 10th floor. I noticed that there was a lot of street noise, including fire and ambulance sirens from the nearby fire station. After consulting reviews here, I saw other guests had reported similar noise issues and checked with the front desk to move to a higher floor. Asia was wonderful! She quickly moved me to the 26th floor, and she was incredibly pleasant and helpful (as was Bell, who originally checked me in). The noise was less--but hey, it's a city hotel. Noise is expected, and ear plugs took care of any other issues.

The rooms are nice and clean. The views are spectacular. Also, you can't beat the location. Just steps from the door were all the shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. that anyone could want. The Downtown was just a block away, and it was a nice escape from the Boystown bars. The fitness center on the 27th floor offers great views while working out, and there is enough equipment to cater to a variety of needs.

We usually stay in the Loop, but the Springhill Suites will now be our go-to when we visit Chicago.

Room Tip: If city noise is a turn off for you, ask for a room on the highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
BriHud-

Thank you for your post, we appreciate the feedback! It is so nice to hear Asia was able to take care of you and make your stay more pleasant. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities, and you are correct, you can’t beat a view like that while in the exercise room! We are excited that you will be returning to stay with us in the future.

Lauren S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had stayed at a Springhill suits before and really liked it so we decided on doing the same when we visited Chicago for a 4 day trip. The service was excellent. The moment we arrived Andre checked us in and booked us tickets for the Architecture river boat cruise right at the hotel. It made things very easy for us. Also they have a great breakfast buffet; I was very happy with the viariety of food: Sausage, hot oatmeal, eggs, fresh juice, Belgian Waffels and much more. I loved our room, it was very clean and modern. We were 2 blocks from the red line so it made travel within the city very easy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Char-Doug-

Thank you for your loyalty to our property! We are so glad to hear that we were able to make things more pleasant during your stay, and Andre is a great help at assisting with that! I love the architectural tour, it is a great way to explore the city (weather permitting), and it is nice you were able to take advantage of the delicious complimentary breakfast. We will see you the next time you are in Chicago!

Lauren S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our conference was next door at the Westin River North but we chose to stay at the SpringHill once again. The refrigerator and the microwave in the room was great...we ordered Chinese twice during our 5 night stay (saves on the budget, you know) and were able to enjoy it on the alternate nights by taking advantage of our kitchenette. The rate was excellent ($139.99 for Friday and Saturday and $169.00 AAA rate Sunday - Tuesday nights) and as a Marriott Rewards Platinum Premier member I was able to get upgraded to a corner room, The location is superb both as overflow from the Westin and for Chicago in general. The breakfast is great - something for everyone. And the staff at the front desk, housekeeping, and the front door are attentive and always greet you warmly and with genuine enthusiasm. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Request a corner room...they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaMasters-GSM, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Chazmassey-

Thank you for the positive feedback, and your loyalty as a platinum member of course! It is nice that the rates were so reasonably priced for you (can be the difference between one vs. two nights of Chinese food, after all!) The kitchens are definitely a perk, especially if you are a business traveler it can provide for more of a home atmosphere. We do always try and make sure our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our property, so it is nice to hear that all associates, regardless of department, are portraying that! Stop by and see us on your next trip to Chicago!

Lauren S.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing