We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time for astronomy buffs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adler Planetarium

Adler Planetarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.95*
and up
Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum
Ranked #53 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Adler has a prime location on the lake, but keeps its eyes on the stars.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun time for astronomy buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went with my brother who is an avid astronomy buff. Definitely an all day attraction as there are quite a few exhibits. On the day we went, there were astronomers from local universities talking with visitors so we had a nice opportunity to hear all about their work. If you are interested in astronomy at all then I recommend this museum. I learned quite a bit from the exhibits. I would recommend eating before you go inside because the food is overpriced, just like every other museum I've been to. The view, however, is spectacular and after you leave the planetarium I would recommend walking along the lake and enjoying the cool breeze and wonderful view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    468
    358
    128
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
296 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great for Science Buffs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited the Planetarium while visiting Chicago. My wife and I found this musuem very small and could have been skipped. If you have an interest in astronomy, this could be very interesting. There were several exhibits that were great including the meteor impact simulator.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBJ278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lost in the Stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

You need to be in the museum mindset to enjoy Adler Planetarium. This is not an attraction you can rush through and still enjoy. I started watching a movie the planetarium offered, it was wonderful! The screen was projected on a dome like ceiling so I truly felt as if I were up lost in the stars. This was probably my favorite part, so don't skip the movie! Afterward I was spent a couple of hours roaming through the exhibits. There is a lot to see and take in. I ate at the cafe, which was overpriced, but good. Plus the view over the Lake was worth taking in. The planetarium would be a great place for families to visit, but I enjoyed it solo as well. Go with an open mind and get lost in the stars!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for a school trip, but nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

On our trip to Chicago, we bought the city pass. We chose the planetarium over the art institute just to do something different. Not the right move. We did this whole place in 30 minutes. The video they showed put us to sleep-- literally. As a teacher, this place would be great to take students, but nothing more. For those who buy the city pass-- use this selection for the Art Institute!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Luckily we purchased admission as part of the CityPass. If we had paid full price for admission, I would have asked for a refund. The staff stood around and talked among themselves instead of helping guests. We were not able to see a show due to poor signage and lack of direction from staff. Overall, it is a nice place, but overpriced and the staff needs customer focused training.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adler Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Adler Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing