We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly What a Museum Should Be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.25*
and up
Field Museum of Natural History Admission
Ranked #9 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exactly What a Museum Should Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The Field is freaking huge and stuffed full of cool stuff. It has all the old school cases of artifacts and stuffed animals, but they've also incorporated some modern technology. My 3 year old loved pressing all the buttons for the multimedia stuff, but he was actually most enchanted by the animal dioramas and the mummies.
We did the Worlds Fair Exhibit last and I wish we would have done it sooner as my son was worn out by that point and we ended up rushing a bit.
The first time I went my brother ended up wondering off and getting lost in the crowd (it was June there was a huge crowd; whereas today there weren't too many people.). By the time we found him my mom was ready to go and we missed about half the museum. This time I think we saw about 75% of it. One day I'm going to go by myself and actually see the whole place without rushing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,851
    1,682
    548
    116
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You could spend all day...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was cold and snowy so we spent the day at the field museum. We did the complete pass that included a 3d movie and all exhibitions. I hesitated at purchasing, but the 3D movie on the ice age was really interesting and made the dinosaur area of the museum that much more relevant. The place is huge and you could spend all day here. I love the book Devil and the White City and so really enjoyed the world's fair exhibit. It is amazing all that was at the fair and I didn't realize this was the start of the Field Museum.. We only got to about half the exhibits and that was with casual reading of the display.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clevelander4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise for the inner nerd.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoyed this place so much I nearly forgot I was not a kid anymore. The sheer volume of information stored here, all accessible, is immense. You could spend hours scrutinizing the fine details of every exhibit, and there are MANY exhibits. The latest, the only that I had not seen before (I frequented the museum as a child) details the Chicago World's Fair of 1893, and was astounding. This exhibit doubles as a history of the museum, and I could not have been happier to walk through it. This is history you can touch and feel, made simple enough that children can enjoy it, but complex enough that adults are left with much to think about. I even traveled here alone, and never once did I feel out of place. I cannot wait to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neville C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great -- except for exhibits with burned-out light bulbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have been to the Field Museum many times and always love it. The Evolving Planet exhibit with the amazing dinosaur and other fossils is the best! Normally I would rate five stars but many of the exhibit cases had burned out bulbs, especially in the Egyptian area. You could barely see the artifacts or read the notes. Also wondering about the Plant Hall...seemed like half of the tree specimens were missing. I know the museum is always undergoing renovation but don't take the good things away without an explanation.

The Field Bistro (cafe) is wonderful. Everything we had was delicious: butternut squash soup, burger, raspberry brownie, coffee. Nice menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We love to visit Chicago whenever we get a chance. This latest visit included a walk through the Field Museum. The pricing was a little bit tricky with all the different package bundles offered on the website. For just a little bit more $$, you get a lot more access to special exhibits. We were able to enjoy a 3D film about Ice Age Mammoths, which my young kids really enjoyed. All things considered, this visit was wonderful. They even had a coat check.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Field Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing