We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rex named Sue”
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Field Museum of Natural History Admission
Ranked #9 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rex named Sue”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Enjoyed the Americas and Egypt exhibit. Never knew Egyptians mummified their cats! Great lunch a the museum cafe.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank labower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,062
    1,770
    564
    122
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A true treasure”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Field has something for everyone, from dinosaurs ("Sue" and many others) to precious jewels. We are members and the kids can go back time and again, enjoying the exhibits and seeing something new each time. The Egyptian pyramid and the Evolving planet exhibits are particularly well done. When we visited a national museum in Washington, DC, one of the staff mentioned he was jealous that we had fossils and pieces of the evolutionary puzzle here in Chicago that they do not have in the Smithsonian. Such a fun and educational experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CityLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Egyptian tour”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We came to the field museum because we were told that it was more appropriate for adults than the museum of science and industry. We enjoyed the museum and seeing the dinosaur fossil Sue in the main lobby.

We did end up taking a very lengthy 1 1/2 hour tour of their Egyptian exhibit which was free. The tour guide was an expert on the subject and was extremely knowledgeable. I am not sure of his credentials, but if I were to guess, he was a doctorate student or Phd that specialized in Egyptian history. He could read the hyroglyphs and really added to the entire tour.

We also did the 3D Dinosaur movie which was more disney than substance, but it was still fun and enjoyable. I think that you could spend 3 to 4 days in this museum and still not see everything. So my recommendation would be to pick one thing that you are interested in, and see all of that one exhibit.

There is a large childrens exploration area that I am sure would keep children busy all day, but we did not have children with us. Overall, I would give this museum a B+. It would have been an A+ but it was 58 dollars to get in, and that seemed a bit high to me.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndrewReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My 2nd trip to Chicago and the Field Museum was a must. Never a disappointment.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don;t miss Sue!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

So much to see at the Field. Wonderful place to spend the whole day. Don't get sucked in to the MacDonald's in the basement for lunch. There is a lovely cafe just behind Sue.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC6649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing