We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing museum for adults and children”
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Field Museum of Natural History Admission
More Info
$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Ranked #9 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing museum for adults and children”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Amazing exhibit of medieval armor and weapons, Sue the T-Rex, great Asian and Egyptian exhibits. A fun place

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DesertDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,178
    1,815
    583
    127
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My 11 year old daughter and I enjoyed the Field Museum. I purchased the all-access admission ticket, which included tickets to the T-Rex 3D movie, the Chocolat exhibit and the Underground Adventure. I was underwhelmed by the UA but the rest of my visit did not disappoint. You can easily spend a 1/2 day here. Enjoy!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EarthAngel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome museum”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great museum. Cant wait to go back. So much to see. Unbelievable.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Karen768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short but fun trip to the Field Museum”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My friend and I went on a Monday when there were few guests there. We took a tour of the Plant exhibits. Our tour guide was full of information - it was much better than going through on our own. We also learned a lot from the guide in the Gem exhibit. The gift shops were exceptional and the restaurant on the main floor was the best we encountered at the Chicago museums - very fresh and reasonably priced with a nice selection. I would definitely go back to see more. Make sure you have a meeting place in case you get separated - it's easy to do!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 85CarolT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Museum! Chocolate exhibit a bust!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

One of the best Museum's i have ever visited, but --- the Chocolate exhibit fell very short of expatiations, for the extra price $$ I got a tiny piece of 5 cent chocolate and a lot of photos and promotional material. No chocolate lover designed this exhibit!!!

Helpful?
Thank ConductorWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing