We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Aquarium”
Review of Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the shores of Lake Michigan, Shedd Aquarium brings you eye-to-eye with more than 32,000 aquatic animals - from whales to snails, tarantulas to turtles, angelfish to zebra sharks!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent Aquarium”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Honestly, they nickle and dime you for things like the dolphin show, "movie experiences", etc. At least when we were there, the habitat for the Beluga Whales seemed especially depressing. It was very crowded on a summer Friday when we were there, which was to be expected... but the aquarium doesn't really flow, and traffic jams cropped up everywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPair_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,291
    2,276
    1,140
    318
    154
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best aquarium I have visited”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went on a weekday in early July 2014. We took the bus to the aquarium (which also passes Soldier Field amongst other attractions), which was very easy from downtown Chicago.

First, I'm gonna be honest, we have a 3 and 6 year old, both boys and they were very off-put by the rotunda exhibit. Very, very, very loud. Could not understand what the commenter and diver were saying.

Aside from the rotunda, we did the whole aquarium in about 2-2.5 hrs. 3 places to eat, which was nice, comparably priced. The food lines look long, but it moves fast. Nice view of Lake Michigan.

We also elected to watch the dolphin show, which lasted about 25 minutes. The kids were amused and kept their attention (which is surprising for my clan).

Clean restrooms, stroller parking and lockers if needed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“frustrating start”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our visit began with a very frustrating hour and half wait to purchase tickets. I was not planning on a visit to the aquarium however one in our group of 6 adults wanted to see the jellies display. This museum has a good variety of sea life but does not rival other aquariums that we have visited. There were many summer camp children's groups which is a good thing that they are exposed to the underwater world. There is a very distinctive unpleasant odor throughout the museum. I have been in other museums like this and do not have any memory of such smells. The prices are inflated for what you see. Added fees are available for extra experiences. We did this visit from the hop on hop off bus so no need to fuss with parking. There should be a sign outside telling you how long the wait is from a certain point. We started in line about 40 ft. from the bottom of the steps outside for a 1 1/2 hour wait. Ticket sales people were slow beyond description. Our visit took us 2 hours. Ate a hotdog in a filthy eating area around the viewing windows. I would not recommend this place there are just too many other very wonderful things to see in Chicago.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not enough time”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We unfortunately showed up on a day that they had an event going on. I was glad we bought the Groupon to avoid the lines. The selection of animals/fish was great. The show was really adorable. I'm sure we will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Pros: We were impressed by the live show .Much improved! Great music, a timely message, a variety of animals all of which look healthy and happy, a large screen projecting closeups of the show. The staff all were helpful and friendly.. Exhibits varied and explained in detail. The addition of one healthy option restaurant. Availability of purchasing tickets on line to avoid the lines a MUST! LOVED OUR DAY THERE!!
The Cons: The website for the Shedd does not adequately explain the ticket options, contains confusing directions to the Shedd and parking, does not alert you to events (like the half marathon on July 20) that shuts down access roads to the Museum Campus and necessitates delayed museum openings ), is overloaded at peak times and logs you off when trying to purchase tickets (late night early morning best times to try), the signage to the parking garage, in the garage and then to the Shedd from the parking garage is unclear. Why not have shuttle buses or someone posted near the garages for questions? (We parked in the underground structure north of Soldiers' Field.)Too many junk food places on the museum campus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shedd Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Shedd Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing