We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family”
Review of Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$99.75*
and up
Chicago CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the shores of Lake Michigan, Shedd Aquarium brings you eye-to-eye with more than 32,000 aquatic animals - from whales to snails, tarantulas to turtles, angelfish to zebra sharks!
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Took the family here a couple times and we have loved it every single time! The kids really enjoy the shows they have to offer. It is very clean even though most of the time they are very busy. If you're in Chicago and have time to stop by, make sure to do so.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,290
    2,274
    1,140
    318
    154
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Great aquarium”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great aquarium, but be warned, it is extremely busy and crowded all the time. I love that they have the sea lion exhibit and shows, which my daughter seemed to love.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenesaisquoiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Family of 6 can visit for $48”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

On one of the coldest days ever, we decided to visit the Shedd Aquarium. If we weren't going to vacation in a tropical place, we could, at least, pretend to be somewhere warm. :)

We first checked out the prices online. There were several posted, but we found one hidden in the list that caught our attention. Had we only seen the prices at the ticket counter, we would have definitely turned around and left. We were planning to stay in the city for a few days, which would already be quite expensive, especially when we have 6 people in our family.

What we discovered online was that the aquarium offers a general admission price of $8. The signs at the ticket counter suggest that the lowest prices start at around $30. We were hesitant to ask for the $8 admission price since it was not posted anywhere at the aquarium. We planned on leaving if the lower price wasn't available, even though we had walked quite a distance through the stinging cold on the poorly plowed sidewalks. (Did I mention that the majority of us were teenagers?)

We were granted the general admission price, and though it didn't include the penguins or other "special" encounters, we easily filled up several hours, looking at an amazing variety of underwater creatures in a wonderful display of habitats, our favorite probably being the rain forest. We were also enthralled watching the underwater diver feed the big fish and Nickle, the sea turtle. Not once were our teenagers "bored." Families with small children would especially be pleased with the general admission offerings. You really don't see or catch a glimpse of the other exhibits you might be missing, so no worries of possible meltdowns.

Based on the exhibits that we saw, we can only imagine that the extra displays were also pretty sweet. For families on a budget, however, it makes the most sense (cents) to pay the general admission price. I wonder how many families have missed out entirely because they were not aware of the basic package that was available.

The aquarium may not make as much as much money as they would like by offering a lower general admission price, but the people who are able to enjoy even a taste of this wonderful experience are probably likely to return again, possibly spending more money in the future. We will be back. It was definitely a wonderful time was had by all.

Helpful?
Thank HartvilleOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shedd_Aquarium, Manager at Shedd Aquarium, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for taking out the time to write your detailed review! Each ticket purchased goes toward helping our nonprofit organization feed and provide the best possible care for all 32,500 animals at Shedd. Your ticket purchase also helps us fund and conduct critical research on animal and environmental conservation. Thanks for your support - glad your family had a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always looking forward to coming back”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been a member of the Shedd for many years and really look forward for every trip back. As a member you come in whenever you like and really skip all of the big lines during the summer and can spend a lot of time at each if the exhibits. Where else can you touch starfish, rays and see every kind of jellyfish out there. Great view of an ocean reef and a good dolphin show. There are habitats from all over the world, Rainforest, Lake Michigan and many other bodies of water.

The best time to come in is the winter, the crowds are down and you can take in everything without being rushed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shedd_Aquarium, Manager at Shedd Aquarium, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your review and continued support - we're so glad you look forward to visiting Shedd Aquarium!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful way to spend a chilly afternoon”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have visited several other aquariums in the US and this one is among the best. Be sure to try to get in on one of the live performance shows they offer. the one we saw was wonderful

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shedd Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Shedd Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing