We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chicago Cultural Center
from $40.33
More Info
from $44.10
More Info
from $26.16
More Info
from $33.00
More Info
Reviews (3,006)
Filter reviews
3,006 results
Traveler rating
2,033
799
142
25
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,033
799
142
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiffany dome beautiful building public library preston bradley hall stained glass domes millennium park free admission on display the loop michigan avenue mosaics art exhibits army ccc lobby greeter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 3,006 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2019

I stopped in to see the Tiffany Dome (of course) but also because I had read they had an exhibit on Chicago the Musical. The lady at the desk took one look at me when I walked in and just blurted out where the dome was located. She seemed almost annoyed, like that's all that tourists want to see (which is probably true). So I asked her about the Chicago exhibit and she didn't know what I was talking about. When I found it, I figured out why. It wasn't much. Just some informational posters about the history of the play. It was interesting to read, but I was expecting a bit more. I did enjoy some of the other exhibits too. Interesting exhibits, but a bit sparse.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

This isn't really a tourist attraction in the obvious sense, but if you are looking for a sense of Chicago's cultural history, this is an ideal building to look at (the interior), to get a glimpse into the past. It is right across the street from the popular Millennium Park. It is free to enter, so stroll in and take the stairs up to see the beautiful architecture.

The building was completed in 1897 as Chicago’s first central public library. It was designed to impress and prove that Chicago had grown into a sophisticated metropolis.Top architects and craftsmen used rare imported materials like marbles, polished brass, fine hardwoods, mosaics and mother-of-pearl to create an architectural showplace. The world's largest Tiffany stained glass dome is located in this building. You can walk up the internal stairs and look at it for free. It is 38 feet in diameter with 30,000 pieces of glass.

Some of the most important cultural events in Chicago have been held in this building and continue to be. It is definitely worth a look if you are into history and not necessary inclined to want the obvious touristy attractions on your vacation.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

Free to all. A place to recharge after roaming around downtown Chicago. Across from Millenium Park, free wifi, clean bathrooms, free exhibits and best of all two amazing domes (one Tiffany glass), the other not but equally beautiful!! They can direct you to the domes at the info desk in lobby. Also tables inside to rest and get out of the heat.

Also where you meet your Chicago Greeter (fabulous, free service - definitely recommend) and the impromptu greeter service (if you have not booked ahead).

A gem across from a usually crowded millenium park...

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Beautiful building, informative exhibits on Chicago the show and the rise of jazz music. Best and most moving was the veterans traveling art exhibit.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Lisa8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

The mosaic and glass work is quite remarkable. An interesting building with some great exhibits. Totally free!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews