We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and interesting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chicago Theatre

The Chicago Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Big Bus Chicago Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #23 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chicago's breath-taking National Landmark Theatre hosts concerts, comedians, theatrical productions and special events every year. The 3,600 seat auditorium is seven stories high, and the vertical "C-H-I-C-A-G-O," sign is one of the few such signs in existence today. A symbol of State Street and Chicago, the marquee is a landmark in itself, as is the Wurlitzer pipe organ. Patrons can also go behind-the-scenes on their educational venue tour, which runs a few times a week.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Originally a movie theatre and now primarily used for concerts and comedy shows this is an absolutely stunning building. The tour guide was well informed about the history of the theatre however I think it was a bit of a let down that he seemed to know so little about the current use of the venue. He was asked a couple of times who plays today and he said that he has never heard of any of them and couldn't name any names. Strange with the marquee outside reads "Diana Ross / Gladys Knight" as upcoming performers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    163
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a place I will never get tired to visit. It is just beautiful. I've attended with my husband and watch several plays as well as with my children. Concerts here are amazing since it is cozy enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

this building is a masterpiece wow i havent had the chance to watch a show there yet cause i was there on buissness but wow the inside is amazing if im not mistaken i think they offer tours of the place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright's Grove
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jeff Dunham Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had box tickets for the Jeff Dunham show @ the Chicago Theatre. There were four chairs in our box & it was nice to have the extra leg room. The show looked like it was sold out but we didn't certainly didn't feel like it. Staff were pleasant & leaving the theatre was orderly. I would recommend this venue & Jeff Dunham's show. In my opinion, a little overdone on selling his puppet but otherwise a lot of laughs. Didn't enjoy the new coffee character as much as his staples. Nothing wrong with trying new acts though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magnificent Detail Inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Chicago Theater offers magnificent detail to theater-goers who enter. You truly feel like you travel back in time when you step inside. It's a spacious theater that always puts on a good performance. However, just a word of caution about the seats in the nosebleeders, the seats are extremely uncomfortable (your behind WILL start to hurt after an hour) and if you are rather tall, crossing your legs or extending them is out of the question!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chicago Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing