We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theater”

The Chicago Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Ranked #23 of 642 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chicago's breath-taking National Landmark Theatre hosts concerts, comedians, theatrical productions and special events every year. The 3,600 seat auditorium is seven stories high, and the vertical "C-H-I-C-A-G-O," sign is one of the few such signs in existence today. A symbol of State Street and Chicago, the marquee is a landmark in itself, as is the Wurlitzer pipe organ. Patrons can also go behind-the-scenes on their educational venue tour, which runs a few times a week.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“theater”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to many concerts here. right downtown by all the public transport, restaurants, can walk to the Lake. Great place to hear music, like Indigo Girls, Dave Matthews, whoever. Enjoy!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    166
    19
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Charlie Wilson & Ledisi”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great concert although if I return I will pay for a booth on the 2nd level. The seats are too close for comfort

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tawana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great tour of historic theater”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend touring this theater. The guide was interesting and excited to give tourists tours of his theater. The tours are not everyday so check the theater website for details. The theater was the first to show movies in the U.S. and was a favorite of Al Capone. The inside of the theater is architecturally beautiful. You see all parts of the theater operations on the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic; snug seating”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's a truly beautiful building, the lobby is ginormous, with gilt and chandeliers everywhere. The perfect "old school" theater, red velvet and gold galore. The theater itself provides great sightlines, but you can tell it was built when the emphasis was on packing in the crowds- or when people weren't quite as large. I'm 6'2, 200 lbs, and I barely fit in the seats- my knees hit the seat in front of me, by the end of a 1.5 hour show I was very uncomfortable. For a longer show it would have been a definite problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JC_chgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We saw Chris Isaak at this venue. This is a historical building and it makes you feel like you are traveling back to the Old Chicago days. You are welcome to photograph inside, so that was nice, unlike other theaters with ushers barking at you to delete photos! A little side note, photos were initially not permitted during the show (even though many were snapping away) but Chris was very cool about it and said "this is the best I will ever look, so take as many as you like". Of course, that will not be the case with other acts, so you should always follow the house rules. The acoustic was great and I liked the concession stands took credit cards. Some venues in Chicago are cash only.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Xiaonomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chicago Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing