We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful small hotel, good restaurant and spa, great value!”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful small hotel, good restaurant and spa, great value!”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

My daughter and I wanted a weekend away for shopping and spa. Our travel agent recommended the Dana. Great choice, the small restaurant served Asian foods, the breakfast was also excellent and a good value. The room was on 23rd floor overlooking the city with floor to ceiling glass on 2-sides. Comfortable bed, desk, even offered reasonably priced in room snacks, wine, 24hr room service and beverages along with a HUGE rain shower in the well equiped bathroom. Conveinently located near Michigan Ave. We would definetly visit again. The spa was small, very clean with friendly knowledgable staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastshore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,973
    939
    315
    120
    62
See reviews for
399
1,458
182
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful doorman. At the desk things weren't running as smoothly, it was busy and the staff behind the desk were very unfriendly and unattentive. The staff had this attitude the whole week we stayed there, if you would ask something they would role their eyes and sigh ... very unprofessional. Actually I have never experienced this in any hotel and I do quite a bit of traveling. Housekeeping and the doormen on the other hand were very helpful and friendly.

The room, a serene king, in itself was ok and well fitted except that it was missing a safe. Bathroom was big, with nice big fluffy towels and a good shower. The window could be opened and free-wifi is always a bonus. The room is on the noisy N State st side, which didn't bother us too much but be warned if you are a light sleeper.

All in all the stay in Chicago itself was great, the city has a lot to offer and we were lucky with the weather. I will definitely be back, but not at the Dana, way too much attitude.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed twice with my BF... just for weekend fun!
Staffs are so nice. A friendly gentleman, TJ, welcomed us when we stayed there for the first time. He and another staff (cannot remember his name) actually remembered me when I recently stayed at Dana. It just makes me feel so comfortable and want to come back again.

Rooms are awesome. Very unique and nothing I have experienced before. Very spacious, so open (literally). I stayed at a corner room back in Dec and a suite for the recent stay, and the view from the room could not be better. If you worry that someone outside might be watching you in the room, make sure to scroll down the screen at night. They have a good selection of wine in the fridge. Also they have a great restaurant / bar downstairs and I LOVE it.

Rooms
Corner room has a superior view and is SO open.
Tranquil suite --- again, wonderful. The shower room is great! I was so excited and forgot to take any photos but their website should have some.
Cannot complain about the location. This hotel is located in a very convenient area. Whole Foods market is close by I can buy some good night snacks if I want to take back something to chew on :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Great: housekeeping was great, perfect timing: never saw them and room was always made up and/or turned down when we got back in. Staff could not have been nicer and more welcoming -- everyone from valet to doorman (nicest!) to servers, room service, and front desk; unlike 5-stars, the staff at Dana seemed genuinely happy to see guests and interested in their Chicago plans. Valet was prompt and friendly. Free and reliable Wi-fi. Room service was 24-hours and food was very good and promptly delivered. Room was well-appointed, lovely honor bar selection and had great design finishes -- "hardwood" floors and bathroom fixtures in particular were great. However, this leads me to . . .

Not so great: requested a high floor room (we had a corner) and got one on the 6th floor; it was occasionally noisy and the view was pretty bleh of the parking lot, 7-Eleven and a Container Store billboard. A/C was incredibly noisy and clattery when it came on ever 20 minutes. The safe drove us crazy -- we had to key in our code about 20 times before it would open; we wound up just shutting it unlocked. Bathroom vanity was coming apart a little at the seams, and the bathtub faucet (while v. cool looking) was not properly affixed to the wall. Shower curtain was one of those snap half-curtain things and the snap buttons had become loose, tearing the curtain in half every time you so much as brushed by it. Bathroom a touch small. The two hotel gift cards we got as part of the package erroneously had 1 cent each on them and we had to spend 15 minutes with the (nicest ever) hotel barista trying to figure out what the deal was before he comped our coffees and got the front desk to replace them -- again, service was mostly wonderful and warm. Only exception was breakfast on the last day: waitstaff were inexperienced and literally running around the dining room trying to cover everything, making the whole breakfast a little unsettling. But they were still very nice and kept apologizing about the wait times, and the food was very solid. Finally, we saw two in-room movies, and while we had no problems with the first one, the second one in HD (Iron Man 2) skipped and stuttered like a youtube video with a bad connection throughout until the last half-hour. Incredibly annoying.

To your taste: the hotel entrance is small and shares space with the entrance to its rooftop bar (Vertigo) and a restaurant, so it has a little bit of a clubby/hip/chaotic feel, and the lobby is one story up (stairs or cool glass elevator); the elevators require key access for security reasons but is a little finicky. Closet is half-size.

Overall, I really liked the staff and the design of the hotel, the entrance notwithstanding. I think I might try some other hotels we walked by that looked great but at this price point, Dana offers a good package if you're ready to deal with a few glitches, and I would stay again. I didn't have time to try the spa or the rooftop bar so can't really comment on those; would be interested to see how good the spa services are because that would be a good reason to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carosim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here new years 2009/2010. Only few minutes walk from main streets. The room itself we was clean, nicely designed, beds were wonderful. Since it was so cold we stayed more in our room than we normally would and this was not a punishment at all! We celebrated even our new years eve in the bar downstairs with a good bottle of champagne and nice staff!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsy0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We were in town for a wedding and reserved at Dana because of the bride/groom's block of rooms. We would not normally stay at such a fancy hotel, since we have younger children (7 & 6), but took advantage of their reduced wedding block rate.

The room was comfortable and fabulous! The view was breathtaking ... I found my kids laying in front of the windows every chance they got just taking in the city sites.

We were VERY LATE getting into Chicago, trying to get to the wedding on time. Every single worker at that hotel that could help us did. The front desk lady sped up our registration and made sure our luggage was taken to our room ASAP. The bellhop got us a taxi cab and even told the driver how to get to the church quickly. Everyone was so helpful.

Even though we were in the heart of Chicago, our room was very quiet. We heard no noise from the street or from any rooms around us. We were on the 9th floor.

The curtain between the shower/bathroom and bedroom was kind of different, but allowed my kids to be goofy and play practical jokes throughout our stay. (Needless to say, our bathroom didn't have much privacy!) You would think that there should be a curtain on the inside of the shower.

The breakfast was good, but do agree that they need to communicate to you that it is not 'complimentary', but you get $10.00 off of it. We had 4 people in our room, but only received 2 $10.00 vouchers.

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel with a staff that should be commended for their great efforts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper36538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had a corner room with views down Erie toward Michigan Ave. Floor to ceiling windows on 2 walls. And a shower with a floor to ceiling window looking into the room and beyond. (Curtain available when desired)
Rooftop bar was nice but needed new outdoor furniture. Drinks were very pricey and not great.,
Everything seems brand new. Nice location.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank goochave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing