We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dana puts the "ooh" in boutique”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston,SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Dana puts the "ooh" in boutique”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just got back from our first trip ever to Chicago. I literally spent weeks researching all of the possibilities with my wife being the one to decide since this was her birthday gift. It was a good call.

The location is great but then any hotel in that area is well located. Easy walk to the lake, Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, restaurants, etc.. If you're not in the mood to walk then places like Millenium Park are a cheap cab ride away.

We stayed in a Corner King on the 17th floor. We arrived late morning and were pleased to find that our room was ready. It was beautiful with floor to ceiling windows around the whole perimeter of the room. The decor was very comtemporary and nicely appointed...it was exactly as advertised. Our one fear was that since we are fifty-something that the place would be too loud and cater to a younger alternative crowd. We are happy to announce that the atmosphere was calm, casual and sophisticated. The Vertigo lounge on the top floor was the only part that catered to the younger set. And that's fine. The hotel is a business and the twenty-somethings have money to spend so more power to the Dana. Plenty of piano bars in the area for us mature folk who have "been there and done that".

The only criticisms I have are this. I am an early riser and my wife is a late sleeper. There is no common area in which to leave the room to sit and read the morning paper and sip a coffee. They give you coupons worth $10 towards breakfast each morning which is a great deal and the food is great. During our five day stay the service was a little sluggish but they were under staffed and those on duty poured their hearts out.

The one really curious shortcoming of this property is its lack of ice. The hotel is not huge by Chicago standards but it is 25 floors. There is one ice machine in the whole place...on the 5th floor. Where ever we stay we enjoy having a cocktail in the room as we prepare for going to dinner. The first night we stayed a party in the banquet room depleted all of the ice. I had to take my ice bucket to the first floor and ask the bartender for ice. Not good. For the record the mini-bar with wine and beer was nice and very reasonably priced.

Also, don't rely too heavily on the concierge service for restaurant recommendations. Our first lunch for Chicago style pizza was at one of their local favorites (Gino's) in which I paid $22 for a small pizza. It was good but not that good. Walk around, you'll figure it out.

The Dana is a great upscale, boutique hotel. The people were nice and the property is warm and comfortable. Having taken note of the huge chain places like the Westin, Marriot, Sheraton, etc and their impersonal assembly line service I have absolutely no regrets about our stay at the Dana. Chicago is a fun place to visit and when we go back (and we will) we will stay at the Dana

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonTwoOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    958
    320
    123
    65
See reviews for
409
1,469
184
850
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Got a very good weekend deal on quikbook.com for $110+tax per night. For this rate we were willing to accept some of the design features of the hotel that could be improved (curtain for bathroom, toilet paper holder inaccessible etc.). The hotel is definitely trying to be both a club destination and a hotel similar to what the W hotels chain is trying to be. Visited the Vertigo lounge and it was very busy with some guests being forcibly removed by the bouncers. The vibe is young and hip so worth being aware that this high-energy atmosphere will also contribute to some noise/loud music during your stay.

The room itself was a good size, the bed was comfortable and the view was of the nearby condo buildings. We also had massages at the spa - these were very relaxing and the therapists were fantastic.

However, for the rate and the good location I would recommend this hotel. Also, for dinner, a good tip is the Balsan bistro restaurant in the nearby Elysian hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixtyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed 3 nights got a very good deal on internet with a voucher for breakfast
They upgraded me to corner room what a view highly recommended
Room excellent all what you need spa shower bathrobe....
Breakfast very nice
It is a busy hotel with lounge on top floor you may be surprise at first with music and the crowd
Good gym and spa
Staff very nice especially concierge desk Romeo who gave me very good tips on the city thanks to him
Location cannot be better you can walk everywhere from main attractions beach and shops

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
309 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The small room was small with a very comfy bed & bedding, nice flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, wine cooler and free internet. There was a tiny balcony. A large glass shower in the bathroom was visible in the bedroom unless the curtain was pulled! We got a very discounted rate. I would probably try for the larger room on my next visit.
Service was excellent. The location was very good. Cafes, resturants, & a Whole Foods nearby. Nice small gym.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rf06903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Dana Hotel for four nights. Perfect in all ways - from friendly doormen, comfortable bed - stylish room and furnishings - loved the big shower and design. We ate breakfast all four mornings of our stay and it was wonderful. Servers were friendly and very accomodating and apologetic if anything was not quite right. We stayed in the Comfy King.
The only thing that we would change would be to soften the music in the lobby and in the restaurant area.

Would recommend highly and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernWoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just completed a 3 day stay at the Dana Hotel and Spa. Got a great rate on a cozy king on quikbook.com. It has some great amenities, but the hotel has some major annoyances that keep me from rating it higher. Here is my pros and cons list:

Pro:
Great location, central to almost everything and close to the L.
Bathrobes and slippers in the rooms.
Very clean and very good housekeeping services, including turndown service.
Very comfortable bed and nice linens and pillows..
Good TV.
Reasonably price mini bar.
Rainfall shower.
Modern decor
Con:
Glass shower wall looking into main area is a cool concept but doesn't work so well in practice when your partner uses the bathroom in the middle of the night and the light from the bathroom illuminates the entire room!
Testy AC: Called about the room being hot and they sent someone up right away. He explained that the green AC system senses when we are not there and shuts itself off. It did cool down after a while, but caused us to get up in the middle of the night to do jumping jacks to get the system working again.
Absent Concierge: Did not once see the concierge at his desk the entire time we were there.
Shared Closet, bathroom sliding door: Can't go into the bathroom if your partner is getting stuff out of the closet.
No dresser - Closet is the only place to store clothes.
TV located on the side of the bed taking up a lot of room on the desk and resulting in a sore neck. - Why don't they mount it on the wall across from the bed?

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KP_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Room 2316, absolutely fantastic, hotel incredible, breakfasts phenomenal, views terrific and the staff from the manager to the front desk staff to the bell men and waitresses all top notch, the very best!!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,203 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing