We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but not quite perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #49 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed in a serene king room in late February. The room was great, impressed with floor to ceiling windows, the B&W iPod dock and the spa-style bathroom. The hotel is in a great location, just two blocks back from Michigan Avenue, pretty much mid-way between the river and the lake shore. Everything is walkable - even in February we walked to the Museum campus and the Willis (Sears) Tower.

We both made use of the spa and had no complaints at all with the service or treatments we received. We only went up to the Vertigo bar once, in the early evening, but it looked a great spot and am sure it's a fun and lively place to hang out later on. Had a couple of breakfasts in the ground floor restaurant which, warm, cosy, laid back and relaxing. Food was perefctly fine, no desperate need to go elsewhere but you're within a block or two of some great alternatives.

Really only a couple of gripes with the hotel - our bathroom door didn't shut too well and would occassionally slide open on its own. The aircon was a little loud at night but maybe we were just sleeping lightly on account of jet lag and the bed was a little too soft for my tastes. Oh, and don't expect a fully-equipped fitness centre. But generally these did not detract from our stay at all and would definietly recommend it to friends/family who may travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjgibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,904
    902
    304
    117
    54
See reviews for
377
1,413
174
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

We had three nights here as part of our big gay honeymoon road trip across the States. It’s a fabulous hotel with fabulous staff and fabulous rooms… both the ones we were given!

Our first room was a huge corner room… spectacular views and all mod cons. However… within minutes of settling in we realised we could hear every word being spoken in the next room… and presumably they would hear every word and sound coming from ours, not good for a honeymoon! A bit of detective work revealed small gap in the dividing wall by the window. A call down to reception brought hotel security up to see us. After we explained that the noise from next door was not because of some wild party going on but because there was a hole in the wall they could not be more apologetic. The upshot was we were upgraded to a suite on an upper floor… “RESULT” as they say!
See our video for more details

The hotel couldn’t have been more apologetic and took the trouble to email us on our return home to thank us for letting them know about the problem and to tell us they had now had the builders in and fixed it! (nor could they understand why no one else had complained before). Of all the hotels we stayed in on our road trip, this was one of the top 3 and Chicago was our favourite city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobstersDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester county New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

As I walked up the wood stairs from the ground floor entrance to the lobby I noticed the wood floors were dusty and dirty. For example, one thing was a small smushed tomato that was dried and stuck to a step, and it was still there the next afternoon when I left. While I waited to check in, I looked around at the wood floors in the lobby and they looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time. The area rug appeared to be faded, stained and not vacuumed - and it was only 10:15 in the morning. Late that night, when I pulled back the covers of the bed to go to sleep, there were three quarter sized holes in the cover sheet. Right below the pillows and very visible. How could any housekeeping staff make this bed and not see the holes? I was tired and it was late so I just went to sleep. The next day when I checked out I mentioned the holes to the staff person. She apologized but was chilly in her demeanor. No offer of any type of compensation. Maybe she isn't authorized to do so, but then I expect management of a hotel to follow-up in a timely manner with a guest after something as bad as holes in bed sheets. 4 days later and I have not been contacted. The shower door did not close properly, I tried a few times to line it up. As a result, there was a flood on the floor of the bathroom after my shower. Even after putting the bathroom rug and towels down. It did not just leak a little. The rest of my room was average at best. The light on the desk did not work and the volume control to the television was wacky - I would turn it down and then if I pressed mute and then turned back on it would go up really loud and blast out sound. The experience inside my room was annoying in too many ways for me. The only positive impression during my staty was the doormen - were super friendly and helpful. I travel to Chicago on business fairly often and wanted to try the Dana after reading positive comments here on tripadvisor. I will not return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediaqueen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Maybe the Dana was having a bad week, I am not sure, but I am surprised by the glowing reviews of the Dana when I had a very lukewarm experience with their indifferent staff. Yes, the Dana is sleek and modern and the rooms themselves are modern and nicely furnished, but the staff and service leave a lot to be desired and so does the overall unfriendly management. When checking in, they asked what floor was preferable--since a room on the 25th floor was available, we thought that would be the best choice. Unfortunately, the person checking us in neglected to tell us that there was a club directly on the top floor (26) that played house music every night from 9pm-2am. So each night we were there, we had to listen to the loud thumping music in our hotel room at the Dana. We finally couldn't stand it any longer and asked for our room to be changed and they accommodated, which was nice, but no apologies or anything. While there, our hotel room keys routinely stopped working so that we had to visit the front desk 4 times, each time they gave a new card that didn't work, so only 1 of us had access to the room. Then, on our last night there, the elevator stopped working and we spent 20 mins in the lobby waiting for them to fix it. The room service food was just plain bizarre--the food arrived on filthy plates with greasy fingerprints around the outsides. Food itself was stale. Overall, staff just seemed young, untrained, and ill-equipped to manage a hotel in the middle of Chicago. FYI to business travelers--the "Business Centers" consists of two desktop computers in a nook in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frqntflyerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magglio45
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

The staff at Dana Hotel is definitely the best part of our experience. They always remembered us, were incredibly helpful and extremely friendly. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel rest. the food was delicious and the service was great. We also had drinks at the roof level bar. Spectacular views and a vibrant crowd. The rooms were also amazing. Very modern... especially loved the rain shower and the clear window that gives you a view of the room while showering. Also the floor to ceiling windows make the room seem endless and gives you a glimpse into chicago life ... literally. You can see into all the neighboring high rises which really does make you feel like a part of everyday chicago. It is only a few blocks from michigan ave which even in January wasnt a bad walk. We got a great deal on our room since it was january so we were very pleased from check in to check out

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magglio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Dinner and cocktails at Aja restaurant at The Dana - a very 'metropolitan city' feel, with loft-type space and textured layers to the decor.

The service, not only easy-on-the-eyes but sterling, gracious, polished.

The food a delicious 'party in the mouth' of eastern flavors - recommending the crab rangoon and Suzuki sea bass at dinner...

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Awesome hotel! The room we stayed in was was very comfortable and well appointed. The floor to ceiling windows are amazing and provide terrific views of the city. The Dana has a perfect location with lots of shopping, restaurants and bars within walking distance. Very chic and modern, perfect for a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing