We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at the Dana Hotel. I can't speak to the size of the standard rooms because I received a complimentary upgrade to a suite upon our arrival. However, I think I would have enjoyed the hotel (almost) as much if I hadn't. The location of the hotel was excellent. Additionally, as a wine lover, the selections offered in the mini bar were the best that I have ever experienced. The staff was very nice and friendly and the complementary breakfast was a great extra.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank winesipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,780 - 3,786 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at the Dana for 3 nights Oct. 24th - 27th and found it to be an excellent location as well as a fun and friendly place to stay. We booked the Fall Dining Package for 1 night and it was a great deal. Dinner in AjaSteak was very good and we enjoyed the atmosphere. It also included "breakfast in bed" which was very enjoyable. We also had the opportunity to see 3 different rooms and must admit - they were all great. The corner room with 2 "walls" of ceiling to floor windows was amazing although we did not stay in it. We had a suite with one of the best showers (for 2) that we have seen in a hotel in this price range. The room was very comfortable and we loved it. The other nice advantage is that the wines (full bottles) and snacks in the room are very reasonably priced which is a nice switch from other hotels. We also loved the contemporary look of the hotel while still having a warm and inviting feel.
We had drinks upstairs at Vertigo the rooftop bar. Our experience on a Sat. night was that they had a seperate entrance outside for non-guests and people were lined up to get in but they did not come inside the hotel to get there. When we returned to the hotel in the evening there was someone standing by the elevators checking to make sure we were hotel guests before we could go in so we did not have any issues going back to our room.
All the employees were very pleasant and we have already recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PCef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I was looking for a place to do interviews in downtown Chicago and stumbled upon the Dana on the internet. I booked it because of the price, location, and thought that it might be more interesting than the major chains where I usually stay. I was right. My avg. per night price was approx. $210.

It's a boutique hotel, very hip, with a friendly staff who was there to help but was not intrusive or overly cheery. My room was on the 22nd floor on the corner, with a great view down State St. and the Chicago theater. The living room part had two walls of floor to ceiling windows, a flat screen tv in the corner, and a fully stocked wine/beverage fridge. As a lover of wine I really appreciated this! They also had teas, coffees and some terrific little snacks, all at reasonable prices.

The bedroom was separated from the living space by sliding Japanese type doors. The bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom was wonderful. One wall of the shower is glass so if you are there with your honey you could have some fun :-). The rain shower head was amazing after a long flight to the city, and the toiletries were top notch.

If you can, try the restaurant. I had the lettuce wedge salad and sea bass entree. Both were great. And the bistro across the street is handy and has terrific ambiance and food.

All in all would recommend to anyone except those turned off by ultra-modern decor. I'll definitely stay again when in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PRRecBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aprilchicago57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank av721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Excellent hidden hotel especially for couples, best comfortable bedding with lots ofpillows, very modern room, the best shower in the whole world.
Very clean room and bathroom

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NASHMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing