We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in ChiTown”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in ChiTown”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Rooms are great! Service is the best, easy check-in, easy check-out! Loved the room and breakfast is the best!!!!! The location is also a great one for the downtown area. I thought they took very good are of my vehicle which is always important to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear SandyK_11,

Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago, and thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    958
    322
    124
    65
See reviews for
409
1,471
184
852
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Creepy bathroom window has been covered by everyone else, so I will get on to the other stuff:

Loud, loud and more loud.

I HAVE to remember to quit booking hotels that have trendy clubs associated with them (in this case, The Vertigo Sky Lounge). I love boutique hotels but hate having to deal with the loud loud loud people that overrun any hotel associated with a club like this or the Library Bar in PUBLIC. Basically it's a club, that happens to have a hotel attached to it, so being an actual hotel guest is secondary to everything.

So, lessons learned.

DO NOT let them assign you a room across from the elevator. In addition to the loud music from the 26th floor lounge that was pulsing through our room on the 23rd floor all night, you get loud and drunk guests trying to circumvent the elevator system to get to the club (you have to take the one downstairs and outside) and then getting lost on your floor, yelling about it right in front of your door.

The stay overall was fine other than that. The room was a decent size, but pretty much everything in the room is showing its age.

There are dents and dings on the lamps and furniture. Nothing is quite "clean" looking--including the headboard of the bed in the room we stayed in an, well, it all just needs a good scrub and a few updates.

Location is great, Caesar the doorman was incredibly nice and helpful, the windows are neat, the bathroom's layout, as everyone has mentioned, is supremely creepy. But the shower itself is great. Fantastic wine selection on the room bar if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Stay away from higher floors in you don't want club noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayDeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi KayDeeee,

Thank you for choosing the dana for your recent stay .
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. To address a few of the inconveniences you encountered, we are working with an engineer to reduce the noise that can be heard from Vertigo and we are also in the process of refreshing the rooms with new furniture and wall covering.
Caesar is a wonderful asset to our team and we are glad you had the pleasure of interacting with him.
We do hope you will give us a second chance next time you are in Chicago.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Dana because Hotwire selected it for us. We were a little nervous because we had never heard of it, but it ended up being an excellent hotel and vacation.

While the hotel itself is nice, the highlight of our stay at the Dana was the customer service. The concierge, Timothy, was incredibly helpful and made our trip to Chicago truly spectacular. Every single staff member including the doormen, bouncers, restaurant manager, housekeepers, etc. were very friendly and helpful. The doorman, Ceasar, went out of his way to know our names and always offered assistance for taxis and directions.

It didn't feel like a stay a corporate chain of hotels...it was more intimate and personal and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: We asked for a lower room away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 473ryang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good Evening Ryan G,
Here at the dana hotel and spa we pride ourselves on the level of customer service we provide. We are very pleased to hear that our staff is continuing to do such a wonderful job and that you were so satisfied with your stay. We do hope that you will come and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed in the Dana for several days on a business trip this past month. My stay was among the worst I have ever experienced in hotels around the world, mostly due to the incredible amount of noise in this property.

Some of the noise comes from the doors; the room doors are not equipped with closing mechanisms that work properly. Whenever someone opens a door and lets it close, it swings shut with a massive BANG that echoes throughout the floor. The housekeeping staff also do not seem to care about the noise that they make when they are cleaning rooms, which means that every morning starting at about 6:30 or 7:00, the banging begins and does not stop for hours. If you're trying to work from your room or take calls, it is nearly impossible.

Some of the noise comes through the paper-thin walls that separate the rooms. I could hear my next-door neighbor's spoken (not yelled) conversations with his wife while I lay in bed. When they called to each other from the bathroom, it was as if they were in my room.

Some of the noise comes from the "rooftop lounge" on the 26th floor. In reality, this is a very loud bar with thumping dance music that plays very late into the night. **If you have to be awake early and are in the hotel's upper floors, good luck to you. You'll need it. I was unfortunate enough to be put in a room on the 25th floor and heard nothing but dance music all week. At night, the bar closes somewhere between midnight and 2:00 a.m., but the staff at the front desk do not seem to know the bar's hours. That is, if you can get them on the phone--I tried calling the front desk several times at night and twice had to put the phone down after it rang 35 times with no response.

When you can reach them, the desk staff are a mixed bag. Some are smart and able to help, some not. The man on the late night shift several nights I was there is a good example. He spoke very fast and mumbled as he spoke, so that people kept having to ask him to repeat himself. The poor German tourists he helped in line ahead of me turned to each other and asked "Do you understand him?" This same staffer also wanted me to leave either a $25 cash deposit or $25 room charge deposit in to borrow a pair of scissors. I understand that people might take things and not return them, but the cost of replacing the item should be factored in--there is no way a pair of scissors merits a $25 fee.

Then, there's the cleanliness. On my floor, the housekeeping staff and the workers from the nightclub upstairs left bottles, cigarette butts, and other garbage in the hallway by the stairs. This trash stayed on the floor for three days. When I asked housekeeping about it, they said that "a different crew picks that up." Or doesn't pick it up, as the case was.

I know the Dana is convenient. I know it's inexpensive. But unless you're willing to sacrifice sleep for location and price, it's a terrible, terrible deal.

Room Tip: Never, ever accept a room on the 25th floor. I visited friends on the 18th floor and could still hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdrewross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear drdrewross,

Thank you for your feedback. Although we learn from our mistakes we do not want to frustrate our guests in the process. We are working with an acoustical engineer to reduce the noise. I did share your review with our team in and effort to isolate each issue and take corrective action.
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We would love for you to give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and show you what we can do. If given that opportunity please reach out to me directly so I can personally handle your reservation. lclark@danahotelandspa.com

Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

For a short stay visit and if you will be out and about, I recommend this hotel.

Initial impression was not great(informal lobby design and tiny hotel room), BUT, the staff's culture made up the difference. The hotel's customer service is 4.5 star compared to other 4-5 star hotel. Staff were respectful and accommodating. Great food, worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naedyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi naedyam

We are glad you chose to stay with us at the dana hotel and spa! Our staff is one of our best assets and we are pleased to hear they made your stay even more enjoyable. As for the room size, feel free to call our in house reservations department next time you visit, we have multiple room types that vary in size so we can find something a bit more to your liking.


Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The whole stay was amazing! The hotel staff allowed us to check in early. We were upgraded to a corner room. It is worth the money for the corner room, all the windows were amazing. The room was small, but cozy! The breakfast in the morning was delicious and affordable. The hotel was in the perfect location, only three blocks from the golden mile. We stopped at a fabulous wine bar a block away from the hotel. It is within blocks of numerous restaurants and lounges. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good Afternoon Kim J,
We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful time with us! We are always pleased to hear that a guest would be happy to return. We hope you do return soon and we look forwarding to having you stay with us again.
Cheers,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed all over downtown Chicago but this was my first time at the Dana. It was terrific! Modern but classic decor. Very personal service from the valet, to the front desk, to the spa employees. Had great sushi during happy hour at the first floor restaurant and a drink at the very cool rooftop bar. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Kelly5748,

It sounds like you took advantage of many of the great things the dana has to offer, from our restaurant on the first floor to our roof top Vertigo Sky Lounge . We try to make it so you can get everything you need without having to go very far at all. We look forward to seeing you again and please feel free to contact us if you need anything in the meantime.

Cheers,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,208 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing