We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel in the downtown Chicago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #51 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern Hotel in the downtown Chicago!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

What my husband and I loved most about the hotel was the modern yet comfortable feel. Checking in was easy and the staff was so nice and welcoming. We were upgraded when we checked in because it was pre-honeymoon stay. The hotel clerk hooked us up with a corner room where we had two walls of nothing but windows. The city was beautiful at night and all I wanted to do was look out the window. However, when it was time to go night night the curtains kept out all the lights and sounds of the city. The bathroom was awesome because the shower had two glass sides so if you were on the bed you could see straight through the shower. If that is a little to open for you, there was curtains that your could pull forward. There were great restaurants and ice cream shops and drug-stores all in walking distance. I would definitely come back here to enjoy more of what the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKhaleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    924
    308
    118
    59
See reviews for
389
1,434
180
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We got a pretty low rate on this hotel through Travel Zoo and weren't sure what to expect since it was such a great deal. Although the room we booked was a bit small, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Our room had a small balcony with a great view of the city, which is a rarity in a Chicago hotel room. We had a delicious breakfast in the hotel restaurant both mornings and were also looking forward to visiting the rooftop bar for a "night cap." We were disappointed, however, because the first night of our stay it was closed for a private party and the second night (Friday) it became a crowded night spot for singles. The service was very good--the doormen were particularly pleasant and helpful, and the hotel is definitely one I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teach2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked this hotel through a discount site (booking.com) and got a great deal. We were in Chicago for the Cubs/Phillies series at Wrigley Field. We arrived on a Wednesday night (4/2/14) about 6:30pm. The doorman held both sets of doors for us and immediately asked to help w/ our luggage. Check-in couldn't have been easier and we were in our 21st floor room in less than 5 minutes of arriving. Our room was smaller than an average hotel room, but VERY nice. Our room had a small balcony w/ an great view of the city as well as a Keurig machine w/ an assortment of complimentary K-Cups. The shower...OH THE SHOWER. The greatest shower I've ever been in. An amazing rainfall shower head along w/ a powerful handheld wand. Glass on two sides so you can see into the main room from the shower. There is a privacy curtain you can pull shut to block that view if you'd like. The bed was extremely comfortable. It's not often I find a bed to rival my own, but this one did. The entire staff was nothing but courteous & helpful to us throughout our stay. There were only a few downsides to the room. The first is that there was no dresser to put our clothes. There's really no place to put one in the room, I just personally hate living out of a suitcase. This may have only been in the room level we were in (Comfy King 280 sq ft). The only other "complaint" I would have is the temperature in the room. It was set at 72 degrees when we arrived. Very warm. I dropped it as low as it would go, 65. It may be due to the time of year we visited (colder at night, a bit warmer during the day), but we would open the balcony door for about 30 minutes or so to cool the room off before going to bed.

The location CAN NOT be beat. It's right in the middle of two CTA (Chicago Transit Authority) Red Line Subway stops. It takes no more than 5 minutes to walk to either. There's a pharmacy 2 blocks away and 2 Starbucks within a 3 minute walk. Also, there's a 7-11 right across the street that's open 24/7 if you need something odd the hotel can't take care of (which is next to nothing).

Overall, our stay was fantastic and we would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks so much for a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: There is a nightclub on the roof. If you don't like loud noise, ask for a room below the 18th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great location 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave. Excellent modern rooms, with awesome showers, and really comfy beds. Best part was the wonderful and very helpful staff. Our stay for a friends bachelorette party/girls weekend exceeded my expectations beyond measures. Loved the vertigo bar. Cant wait to go back to be welcomed at the door by Christopher and T.J! Thank you Dana Hotel and spa, you are now my new favorite hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Caitlin Q,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review! Our team loves seeing their name in Print and so do we! We look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The customer service at this hotel is amazing. Candice (manager), Christopher (Staff) and TJ (valet) are all really a true pleasure to deal with here. There was a group of 9 of us girls staying here for the weekend for a bachlorette party, and our first evening Candice suprised us with a bottle of champagne and a very nice card wishing us a great weekend while we celebrated! Christopher is a amazing asset to the staff as he helped us with information, getting us settled in our rooms and all around meeting our every need. TJ was great with our valet services and requests, he also was very helpful as well with questions we had. The rooms are very clean and the beds were very comfy and we had no noise complaints at all. The location is prime, you are surrounded by several resturants, great views, and just a few blocks from the shopping of the magnificent mile. You really can not go wrong with choosing this hotel. We plan to come back for future trips!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear MelindaJ79,
We are so happy to hear you plan on coming back for future trips! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am glad to hear you were able to take full advantage of our location! Being centrally located in Chicago makes it very easy to get to all Chicago has to offer! Thank you for mentioning the team, I have shared your comments with them and we too feel they are an asset to dana!
We look forward to seeing you again!
Cheers,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked a number of rooms for a girls trip to Chicago and loved our stay at the Dana. The location is perfect, the staff was beyond helpful, we loved the late check-out option, the spa was fantastic, the bed was so comfortable, the bathroom was incredible, the rooftop bar was great!! I can't say enough about our stay. The staff went above and beyond for us (upgrading us to a suite and sending up a bottle of champagne)!! I will absolutely, without a doubt come back. Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for a Bachelorette Party. I was very happy with the whole experience; staff was nice, room was beautiful and comfortable, and the bar had unique offerings(I would recommend the bloody mary flight!).

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
3,110 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing