We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #58 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The rooms were lovely and staff was warm and welcoming! The suite has a shower to die for and the beds are so comfortable you just melt. Love the cool products they have for amenities. Had great food and drinks in the dining area. Vertigo lounge was stellar!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellecjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,952 - 2,958 of 4,040 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Loved my stay. Staff is cool and the location was great. Elevators to rooms take stairs first. Best eggs Benedict I've had in years.
They take are of Amelie's with kids so we appreciated s that. Very nice lounge on top floor. 4 am bar across the street that also serves food.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mattty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Matthew McCahill,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us ! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you had time to visit Vertigo Sky Lounge. I will send your compliments to the Chef regarding his Eggs Benedict!
We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had left Chicago last year after living there for 25 years so I am well aware of the hotels. I returned on business and could not have picked a better hotel for my visit. The customer service was excellent from all areas. The hotel is small enough to where I got to know the valet and bell staff. They always had my car ready with a smile and I did not have to wait. The hotel itself was beautiful and the rooms are very clean. It is the first time in a while where I did not feel I had to "wipe" the hotel room down with a disinfectant. I stayed in a Serene King and I do not understand the complaint about privacy and the windows. There are blinds if you need them and the beds are quite comfy as well. I met friends in Freestyle restaurant for dinner one night and it was excellent both food and service. I wish we had frequented this more when I lived there. There was a small problem with another guest but the hotel staff was quick to assist in the matter. It was a great stay and I will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear CRS29,

Welcome back to Chicago! thank you so much for choosing the dana. We love hearing that you were able to get to know our team and they made your stay that much more enjoyable. I will share your kind comments with them. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Good location good value great service

Stayed here a few times

Comfy beds

Cool hotel
Great bar up top patio open all year round. Big fire pit

Not sure what else to say
To meet 200 word minimum

Trendy hotel
Wouldnt come here with kids

Couples or friends for sure


Bla bla bla bla bla

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank fraink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for repeat business and your kind words. We are so happy to hear you like the hotel and Vertigo Sky Lounge!
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The stay was great again. I had a very comfortable bed. The only issue was mold in the shower. They need to work on that. There was also only one small trash can in the bathroom. I found that strange. I could not put my dinner container in the trash because the trash can was so tiny. I had a corner king and the view was awesome. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank followmylead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear followmylead,
We are so glad you enjoyed another stay with us at the dana. We are grateful that you take the time to review us each time. We are in the process of refreshing our rooms to make sure they stay up to date and fresh as well as functional. We hope you see you back at the dana soon to check out our new look.
Best regards,
Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I can't say that my stay was terrible but I won't be staying here again. You have to take an elevator to get to the lobby and a complete different one to the guest rooms. I was told at the desk that they needed my initials to confirm my knowledge of being a non-smoking hotel, only to get to my floor and smell marijuana and cigarette smoke! Opened the door to a very tiny room, the barely there bathroom didn't have a tub, just a shower that looked out into the room. The shower was dirty with hair strands and the walls had dents and scratches... Not to mention the ceiling that looks as though they ran out of time and money and couldn't put up dry wall or something. The walls were so thin!! I heard the employees all morning having a whole conversation with each other while knocking on doors, as well as their loud radios. Again, I can't say the service was bad but I will not stay at the Dana Hotel & Spa again... Oh, they have a balcony. Small, but it's a balcony

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tree0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Tree0331,
We are so sorry to hear to didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The hotel does have a strict no smoking policy. There are times when the fee is not enough of a deterrent. In those cases we do our best to handle as quickly as possible. I am sorry that did not happen when you stayed with us. We are in the process of a refresh on the hotel with new paint and wallpaper as well as fixtures in the rooms. We are working with a sound engineer for some noise dampening solutions. Our ceiling are concrete as a design element to give the guestrooms and suites a loft feel. If you are able to look past that, we love the opportunity to prove to you that we are better than the experience you had. If you would be willing to try us again we would love to handle your reservation personally. Our Reservations Manager would be happy to assist you with your booking and her email address is marcuri@danahotelandspa.com.

Best regards,
Liana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy, but the concierge wasn't very friendly. Beds were comfortable and the open shower with rainfall head was relaxing. Great view but really, no free breakfast? Not even vouchers like I see some other guests have received. I would probably try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi Ashley5501,
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa. I am sorry our concierge was not very friendly. I would like to encourage you to share your experience with myself or our rooms division manager Yolanda Carmin. You can reach either of us at 312-202-6000. We do offer $10.00 food and beverage credit when booking directly with us, this can be used for breakfast, lunch dinner or even just drinks in the bar. Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. Your feedback allows us to build upon our strength or work on a weakness. We hope you will consider the dana hotel and spa for any future stays in Chicago.
Best regards,
Liana Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#78 of 192 in Chicago
745 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $106 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing