We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Experience”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #59 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“A Terrific Experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our stay at the Dana was wonderful. We spent the night to celebrate our anniversary this summer. Living in the Chicago, suburbs, we are familiar with downtown and watched the progress of the Dana this spring. The service was excellent ... friendly, professional, accomodating. The room was gorgeous ... very modern with cement ceilings and great furnishings and linens. The location is perfect (in our opinion) ... a few blocks away from the chaos of shopping on the Magnificent Mile, but close enough to walk over any time that we wanted; close to excellent resaurants and bars. We've stayed at all of the four/five star properties in the city and would recommend this hotel with those ... at a fraction of the price. We will definitely book this property again. (Note: I wish that they had pictures of the rooms on the website. They are worth seeing.)

  • Liked — The service and the beautiful facilities.
  • Disliked — Nothing. This was a great stay.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    992
    340
    134
    70
See reviews for
425
1,529
200
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I spent last weekend at the Dana Hotel & Spa with my mom and sisters for a glorious birthday weekend. The rooms were immaculate and the staff was impeccable. Being that it was a new hotel, I wasn't sure if they would have everything in tip top shape but I have to say, I was incredibly impressed. We used many amenities at the hotel including the work out room, spa and restaurant. The spa was a last minute decision because it was raining out and we opted to stay in. We had facials and massages and all were absolutely luxurious. We felt like we were staying at a five star hotel. If you stay there, make sure to try the Mr. Kites candy that they keep in the room in case you are hungry. MMMMM delicious and NOT overpriced for minibar food! Oh and the pillows were so soft and fluffy!! Look out, you may not want to leave your bed!!

We can't wait to come back for birthday weekend again next year!

  • Liked — The staff, location and amenities.
  • Disliked — We really liked everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efrieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eze, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We live in Chicago, but wanted to stay downtown for our 5-year anniversary. My wife found this hotel while searching online. I walked over at lunch and received a full tour of the rooms and spa from the Sales Manager. This is a brand new hotel that opened a month ago, and is still in the midst of being finished. It is very modern and has some neat amenities in the room. It is a great location for the out of towners who are looking to shop and do the touristy activities.

From the moment we arrived through the time we left, we were treated like king and queen. Patrick the bellhop took care of us the second we walked out of the car. We needed to leave the car downstairs as we checked in (no problem). We were give a corner room, number 812 that had a balcony facing north and ceiling to floor windows. The rooms have a modern feel and from what I understand our built form recycled material, including wood floors etc... There is a shower that get this, actually has great water pressure and a window that allows you to watch TV :). The bed was super comfy and the blackout shades allowed us to sleep in!

We did not have a chance to visit the bar or restaurant as we had other plans, but it was hopping when we came back at midnight. My guess is that the locals are going to start making this a hot spot. We also did not go to the spa, although it looked pretty nice when I toured it (a lot of tile and things made form recycled materials).

For $250, the value was supreme and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming to town, even for business!

  • Liked — New, CLean and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — The fact that we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heysetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2008

3.0 rating reflects very mixed experience - some aspects qualify for a 5.0, but paint fumes in fact made it a 1.0.

Pros: Great location; extremely helpful and friendly staff; free wi-fi; rooms beautifully appointed with exciting design details and amazing picture window views (some with balconies); good coffee maker in room with complimentary coffee and tea; great bath products.

Cons: Some of the exciting design details tried too hard and didn't work that well in practice; poor sound-proofing both to hallway and street. Biggest problem at the time of our visit was that the hotel is so spanking new (about 1 month old) that the chemical fumes from paint, carpets, furniture etc. were overwhelming and caused us to check out prematurely after just the first night. Expect the fumes problem will be solved in time, although with A/C as only source of air circulation, it may take a while.

Once the air clears, this hotel should be a great choice if you're looking for modern, chic cool.

  • Liked — Design, views, location
  • Disliked — Sound-proofing, paint fumes
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_D_Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,830 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,519 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing