We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for the Dana Hotel & Spa!”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I spent last weekend at the Dana Hotel & Spa with my mom and sisters for a glorious birthday weekend. The rooms were immaculate and the staff was impeccable. Being that it was a new hotel, I wasn't sure if they would have everything in tip top shape but I have to say, I was incredibly impressed. We used many amenities at the hotel including the work out room, spa and restaurant. The spa was a last minute decision because it was raining out and we opted to stay in. We had facials and massages and all were absolutely luxurious. We felt like we were staying at a five star hotel. If you stay there, make sure to try the Mr. Kites candy that they keep in the room in case you are hungry. MMMMM delicious and NOT overpriced for minibar food! Oh and the pillows were so soft and fluffy!! Look out, you may not want to leave your bed!!

We can't wait to come back for birthday weekend again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,796 - 3,802 of 3,948 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

We live in Chicago, but wanted to stay downtown for our 5-year anniversary. My wife found this hotel while searching online. I walked over at lunch and received a full tour of the rooms and spa from the Sales Manager. This is a brand new hotel that opened a month ago, and is still in the midst of being finished. It is very modern and has some neat amenities in the room. It is a great location for the out of towners who are looking to shop and do the touristy activities.

From the moment we arrived through the time we left, we were treated like king and queen. Patrick the bellhop took care of us the second we walked out of the car. We needed to leave the car downstairs as we checked in (no problem). We were give a corner room, number 812 that had a balcony facing north and ceiling to floor windows. The rooms have a modern feel and from what I understand our built form recycled material, including wood floors etc... There is a shower that get this, actually has great water pressure and a window that allows you to watch TV :). The bed was super comfy and the blackout shades allowed us to sleep in!

We did not have a chance to visit the bar or restaurant as we had other plans, but it was hopping when we came back at midnight. My guess is that the locals are going to start making this a hot spot. We also did not go to the spa, although it looked pretty nice when I toured it (a lot of tile and things made form recycled materials).

For $250, the value was supreme and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming to town, even for business!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heysetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

3.0 rating reflects very mixed experience - some aspects qualify for a 5.0, but paint fumes in fact made it a 1.0.

Pros: Great location; extremely helpful and friendly staff; free wi-fi; rooms beautifully appointed with exciting design details and amazing picture window views (some with balconies); good coffee maker in room with complimentary coffee and tea; great bath products.

Cons: Some of the exciting design details tried too hard and didn't work that well in practice; poor sound-proofing both to hallway and street. Biggest problem at the time of our visit was that the hotel is so spanking new (about 1 month old) that the chemical fumes from paint, carpets, furniture etc. were overwhelming and caused us to check out prematurely after just the first night. Expect the fumes problem will be solved in time, although with A/C as only source of air circulation, it may take a while.

Once the air clears, this hotel should be a great choice if you're looking for modern, chic cool.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mrs_D_Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank annachiaraRimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mari Loli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gonzalo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prenotare una stanza d’angolo ad un piano alto. Eviterei camere al 25 piano, al di sopra del quale c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Passenger_968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,593 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing