We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #46 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our 1st trip to Chicago was enhanced by the wonderful staff at the Dana Hotel. Tim, the Concierge, was exceptional. Nothing was a problem. The hotel itself was fab. We were staying for a week so decided to upgrade to a suite. The rooms were huge and there was a balcony off both the sitting room and the bedroom. The views were amazing. We stayed on the 14th floor.....no noise!! we left the balcony doors open and slept soundly. Vertigo rooftop bar (26th floor) was amazing but very expensive. We were a 5 minute walk from Michigan Ave. Everywhere was a short walk away. The location was fantastic. If we get to Chicago again we will be staying there. Thanks so much to all :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyWestGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    859
    285
    115
    51
See reviews for
348
1,312
166
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago when it was still a fairly new hotel. We had such a great experience that we booked again this year. Our 2nd stay was no where near the 1st. This time we just felt like a number. The bellhops & bar staff were great, but it was the booking and asking for late check out that did it for me. Noon is check out time, we requested late check out and they replied...Sure...12:30!! There are far more accommodating hotels in Chicago..we will be staying elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Make sure you're not on the 25th floor as there is a night club thumping righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QZEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear QZEE1,
I am very sorry to hear that your return to dana fell far below your expectations. We strive to ensure each guest feels welcome with individual attention, and my sincerest apologies that was not your experience. We do our very best to ensure all guest requests are met so they have a fantastic experience, however sometimes we cannot meet them all. I do hope you try us again in the future, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienJim
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the second time in a year I have stayed here. The first time I was facing Northwest (and had a much better room with a king bed) and I remember the outside noise being very loud, but this time I faced right out to State street and found the constant road noise unbearable and the fire and police activity over the top.

This is a hip hotel and has a great rough top deck called Vertigo. There are not a lot of roof top bars in the neighborhood, but you don't need to stay here to go to the club.

The rooms are fine although personally I am not a fan of a shower head directly above my head. The bathroom though is very, very small.

Internet is free which is a plus in my book. Breakfast food is good but service is very spotty. Workers just seem like they are not happy to work there and some food did not come as ordered.

Front door service is friendly but it took me 15 minutes to get me car which is supposedly 1 block away.

I am a world traveler and I would rank this hotel as four stars if not for the constant noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarienJIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here from the TripAdvisor reviews...don't be fooled.

This is the noisest hotel I've ever stayed in - some is preventable, some is not.

The biggest problem the hotel suffers is that it's about two blocks from an extremely busy fire station, and you can hear ambulances and fire truck sirens starting up and driving off at all hours of the day and night. Even on the 24th floor, you could hear them for miles.

The doors block no sound at all, and each time a door closes on the floor, it sounds like a gunshot. Fortunately, you won't be asleep anyway, since the housekeeping staff likes to holler stories at eachother at the top of their lungs starting at about 7:30 each morning.

There are other annoyances too, like an extremely loud air conditioning, only one ice machine in the entire building, small rooms and such., but the real killer is the noise.

On the upside, the staff is friendly, and the location (other than the fire station) is convenient.

We used earplugs and more or less got through our week, but it was not relaxing.

Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake_latham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear jake_latham,
I am so sorry to hear about your experience during your stay. Our goal is to provide a relaxing environment for our guests, and I am sorry to hear that was not your experience. Please know that we do have quieter areas of the hotel and if you were to return and request a quieter area, we would do our best to ensure that is what you would receive. Thank you for your review and I hope you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are a married couple in the late 50s/early 60s range, and were placed here by the company on whose board I sit (because the hotel is closeby their offices AND they are a green hotel). The clientele is young, but we like that, our kids are the demographic (20s-early 30s) and we hang out with them more than anyone, so this is in effect how we rate our stays, how it fits our overall needs. The Dana was a very pleasurable experience. The staff are VERY accommodating, as in VERY. So, do not shy away because you read about their popularity (as in, the young folks like it). The bellmen, desk staff, etc., could not have been nicer, must say especially the bellmen, how nice are they?! The rooms are not big, but don't feel particularly claustropobic (and I am that person). The bathroom doors could use an anal retentive carpenter to line them up so that they don't open when the bellmen are standing right there... I know that is not easy (and I mean it, my husband is a builder). If you are not comfortable sitting on the POT and having someone (in my case, husband) swipe the curtain aside thinking it is the closet, be pre-warned... the bedroom is linked to the bath/shower by a curtain. That curtain cannot be seen through if closed.... so just a bit of pre-thinking if you are modest or easily frightened (like me). But once you get past these issues, this is a great place to stay. Beds very very comfortable. There is a way to open the bottom of the window for fresh air. The rooms are a little hot even after setting the thermostat, so you will need this. Best not to have a room across from the elevators (we did, but we are really good sleepers, but understand that most people are not). The rooftop bar is great! Yes, we were a quarter century older than most of the guests up there, but it's Chicago, so we were included immediately of course. Overall, a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are a tiny bit noisy. Actually did not bother us all that much except at 9 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed the weekend at this beautiful hotel. After much research on this website, I chose this one due to all of the wonderful reviews. I was not disappointed. From the friendly Ceasar to the rooftop nightclub, everything was fantastic. A perfect romantic getaway. We were there for two nights - Friday and Saturday. We stayed in a corner king with a nice view of the city. Only downside is that even with the closed blinds, too much light snuck in and we were unable to sleep late. But sleep was not why we were there. The hall noise was not a factor. Yes, there was some noise late at night from other guests, and the room doors were not quiet at all when they automatically shut. But along with the street noise, not a big deal. All of the touches in the room (snacks, bar, etc) were great. We really enjoyed the glass shower!!! Some may not like the visibility, but we found it to be fun. We aren't a shy couple. But for those that want the privacy, there is a curtain that can be used. The nightclub was a bit loud for my choosing, but again, that is what nightclubs do. Unfortunately it was a bit too cold and windy to enjoy the firepit. On Saturday night, after we went to the Maroon 5 concert, we ended up at the tavern across the street. Drinks were cheap, food was good and we only had to cross the street to our bed! Yes, the pricing is a little more than I would normally pay, but this is Chicago, and the location and ambiance of the hotel made it worth it. We would highly recommend this for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, I would choose the corner king. Great view and a sexy environment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Richard G,
WOW! It sounds like you had a fantastic time, thank you for the five star review! It sounds like we were the perfect destination for your romantic weekend. Next time, try our Tranquil Suites, they have a double rainfall shower that is really popular with our guests. Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A friend told me about the Dana Hotel, and I'm glad for the recommendation! I stayed last October for a business trip, and plan on staying again real soon on my next trip. Caesar is always cheerful and friendly and helpful with recommendations! The rooms are gorgeous and spacious, and love the view on any level!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclure238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear mcclure238,
Thank you for your review and your kind recognition of Ceaser! He is a great doorman and we are so happy to have him on our team. Look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#16 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing