We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service was great”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice clean contemporary hotel, great service and great rooftop club. The spa was very nice and relaxing. Also, location is very good close to restaurants, clubs and shopping. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryellen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Maryellen64,
We are thrilled you enjoyed our great location and service during your stay. Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,119 - 3,125 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a newer hotel in Downtown Chicago, only three blocks from Michigan Ave and all the shopping and restaurants of that famous street. The location is superb for going out in the evening or taking the bus to the various musuems in Chicago, which is what we did.

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway (we live in Wisconsin). We were looking forward to meeting friends who were also in town at the Vertigo Sky Lounge on the top of the hotel. The view from Vertigo is splendid and the fire pit and heat lamps provided much needed warmth on an unusually chilly March evening. Unfortunately, at $12 per drink, we only stayed for one which made for a short evening with our friends. The music was great (there was a DJ) and the atmosphere was sophisticated but we couldn't justify spending $24 on a round of drinks when we could get an entire bottle of wine for $20 - $24 in our hotel room.

So, back to our room we went where we enjoyed wine and snacks from the honor bar, which were much more reasonably priced. The bed is comfortable, although I had a bit of trouble sleeping because, even on the 11th floor, the street noise was ever-present. Car horns, police sirens, and construction vehicles woke me up repeatedly.

The bath robe, towels, and slippers are wonderful. They were large and luxurious. The staff was amenable. They even comped us a bottle of wine after we reported that the TV in our room was out for 2 days. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay - the decor is ultra modern and just what we like - but it cost over $700 for three nights. That's lodging alone, not including any "extras" like the snacks or room service.

One final thing to mention, I had a lovely massage on our last morning at the hotel. The spa was relaxing and the service was spot on there.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up, like the 20th floor or better. Otherwise, you may be bothered by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrssarahsterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear mrssarahsterling,
What a fantastic review, thank you so much! Your comprehensive look at your stay is a pleasure to read. Please visit again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I enjoyed my one night at the Dana, but ended up wishing I had stayed longer. The design of the hotel is modern and contemporary, with great design features. You'll know at once that you're not in a Marriott. My room on the 22nd floor was comfortable and high enough to escape most street noise. As others have noted, and is unfortunately typical of many hotels, you can easily hear most any noise or conversation in the hallway. Hopefully your other guests are respectful of this.

There is a decent minibar stocked with mostly upscale items (except for a disappointing beer selection). The work desk is comfortable and usable. A Keurig coffee maker is stocked with at least half a dozen k-cups (thanks to management for understanding we might enjoy a second cup of coffee in our room). Complimentary wireless internet worked well.

Among my colleagues staying here, we were about evenly divided regarding the design of the shower, the exterior windows, and the feeling of openness this brings.Some hated it, but I loved it and as most rooms face north, having all those floor to ceiling windows really makes the room feel larger. I thought this was one of the best hotel showers I have ever used; it was spacious and modern and befitting of a hotel that emphasizes its spa services.

There is a small gym and spa on the 4th floor. Hotel guests are welcome to use the attached locker room and tiny steam room (seats 1-2) without charge. I had breakfast in the lobby restaurant and it was great. Next trip I look forward to enjoying a drink and some oysters in the raw bar. Staff were super friendly, engaging, and accommodating to any need. Every single staff person I encountered took the time to say more than hello -- they are well trained.

In short, this was pretty much a near-perfect hotel experience for me. Dana provides a near W hotel experience at half the price.

oh, and parking is expensive. Just like everywhere else in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: high floors at the end of the hall will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi Craig R,
WOW, thank you for an awesome review. I am so happy you enjoyed our spa inspired Italian rainfall showers, we do get a lot of compliments on them. As a top contributor on TripAdvisor, your stamp of approval means a lot to us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Dana for 2 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend with 27 girls for a bachelorette party, and we had the best time of our lives! The location is unbeatable - right in the middle of bars, restaurants, and shopping! The staff was the friendliest group of people I've met and helped accommodate our every need! We had 4 standard rooms with two queen size beds in each, and 2 Tranquil suites. They were beyond clean when we got there, and the beds were soo comfortable! There is also an awesome iPod speaker to play music, which I wanted to take with me because of how great the sound quality was!! The balconies had great views too. The shower in the tranquil suite was unbelievable. You can literally fit 20 people in it - it has 2 huge rainfall shower heads and 2 benches in it. Very cool. Although, we didn't eat at the restaurant, we went up to the Vertigo Sky Lounge late night, and it was the best time of our lives! The outside patio was amazing and the view was soo awesome! Not to mention - the music was amazing!! I'm not going to stay anywhere else when I come to Chicago!!

Room Tip: Loved the tranquil suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Elizabeth A,
It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Chicago! We are so happy you chose dana hotel and spa to celebrate the bachelorette party. The spa inspired double rainfall shower in the Tranquil Suites is very popular with our guests, and we are happy to see you enjoyed them :) See you when you come back to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I just got back from our second stay at the Dana. Everything from making the reservation to check out was perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. From the floor to ceiling windows to the glass shower that is viewable from the room make the rooms unique, fun, and very cool. Breakfast at the argent was delicious. There are a lot of great places within walking distance to eat, drink and be merry at. We went to the Red Head piano bar, met some nice people and had a lot of fun. We will go back soon!

Room Tip: Bring your i pod, this is an I pod dock with speakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Don H,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your experience with us. As a repeat guest, we really want to make sure you are wowed each time you stay. So happy you enjoyed the hotel again and we will be sure to share your feedback with our staff as well. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Dana, and we had the best time! The design is great and the location is the best, really near to shops, bars and restaurants, and super easy to take public transportation. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help. We couldn´t go to the Vertigo Lounge at the top of the builinding, but the restaurant and bar downstairs were great! We´re looking forward to our next trip to Chicago and to the Dana!

Room Tip: The views are great! So the higher, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Rocio B,
Thank you so much for such a nice review. I will make sure our staff reads your lovely comments. They love seeing positive feedback from our guests! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

though the room was small, the views were HUGE! the bed was comfortable and there was a reasonable honor bar, coffee/hot water maker, large screen tv w/ipod docking station. the best part of the room was the view. there is a small balcony beyond the floor to ceiling windows. there were 2 sets of shades, one for privacy and another set for blackout. the bathroom was ample and well appointed with a shower that was glass enclosed on both sides so that you could enjoy the view while showering. fortunately there was a curtain on the bedroom side to close for privacy. the shower head was the rain shower type with and additional hand held option. for my husband who is very tall, the shower head was a nice surprise as the water falls from the ceiling and he didn't have to stoop to wet his head. We were able to check in early, very early at 11am. this was a great benefit since we were able to get out and enjoy quite a full day in the city w/o having to drag our bags around or check them somewhere. check out is at noon. security at the hotel was great with a card swipe necessary to press a floor button in the elevator. additionally, when someone in the next room decided to BLAST their music at 2am, security personnel appeared within 90 seconds of our call to the front desk and took care of the noise tut suite. there is a night club on the top floor, and even though we were on the 21st floor, we were not disturbed by the noise. the door staff always smiled and everyone was very friendly and solicitous. for our last day, we were able to leave our bags with the door staff after check out at no charge while we roamed the city until later in the afternoon. overall, i would return to this hotel every time i visit Chicago as it is well located just 2 blocks from the magnificent mile and there was a trader joes and whole foods just a block away. many good restaurants surround the hotel and the one in the hotel itself was top notch for breakfast. there is a separate review of Argent.

Room Tip: upper floors are preferable for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3NJgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi 3NJgirls,
WOW, its sounds like you really had a great stay with us. I was so happy to read your comments and will be sure to share them with our staff as well. It is always a pleasure to read guest feedback like yours. You will have to return soon to try the spa as well ;) Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing