We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACC Congress in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #39 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ACC Congress in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed with a group of doctors during a cardiology congress in Chicago. Young and helpful staff. Lot's of concrete. One doctors thought that his room was not finished and construction was still ongoing, since the the ceiling was just concrete. He was happy to hear that all rooms were the same - completed! The rooms and beds are good, amenities in the bathroom generous.

The lobby is located on the first floor, which did confuse my guests at first.

Good location on North State Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenekarlzohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi irenekarlzohn, Thank you for such a nice review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our concept of using re-purposed materials for our guests rooms is really unique and I appreciate you appreciating it and explaining it to your colleagues. Thanks again, hope to see you the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    791
    255
    104
    46
See reviews for
302
1,216
155
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I have made an effort to enjoy this beautiful city that we live in. So every other month, we choose a boutique hotel and plan a romantic stay-cation for the weekend. Well the Dana was one of the most memorable experiences that we've had in our tour of the Chicago hotels. It's in a great location, the views were phenomenal and the service exceptional. I would highly recommend this to others.

Room Tip: If you want more space, do the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Elle B, that is such a great idea! What a fantastic way to appreciate the city you live in! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on another one of your staycations in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my note to the General Manager of the hotel.....


General Manager,

I wanted to take this time by thanking you personally on a great hire. Today, my fiance had to travel to your city for a business meeting. The travel is part of the job, but traveling on her birthday and without her family was not something that as you can imagine made it for a fun day.
As I was working on a solution to make today still a special day for my girl, I decided to reach out to your hotel. Let me say that your manager Tim Anderson step up to the plate and made things happen above and beyond. Not only did he find a great solution for my needs, but he executed flawlessly and as painless as possible. I am also traveling this week so this task was an important task for me today.

Tim went above and beyond the call of duty and because of his excellent customer service level, I will now make sure the Dana Hotel is my hotel of choice when traveling to the Chicago area.

Thanks again for the great customer service. This is what I call World Class Customer Service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GiddyGroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear GiddyGroom, it was just heartwarming to read about your experience at our hotel! It was especially nice to see your outstanding comments regarding our Concierge Manager, Tim. Our staff really prides itself on their service, and comments like yours are so nice to read. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana en Provence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel -- especially for the price. Rooms -- very stylish, comfortable, just the right size, and *loved* the floor-to-ceiling windows. 2-night stay -- and so cold, lots of people felt inclined to enjoy the spa and the bar. Loved the extra $10/coupon for breakfast downstairs. (A nice touch.) Small problems with the TV (no remote in my room, then didn't work well) and iPod dock (didn't work), but staff was responsive and friendly. Great location and perfect size. I'll seek this property out to stay again. Oh, and...one of the best hotel beds I've enjoyed in recent travel memory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Rwilmeth, What a wonderful review, thank you! I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the Breakfast vouchers and our beds. Thank you for noticing. Apologies for our technical difficulties during your stay, thank you for your understanding. I am especially pleased that our service exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dana Hotel for three nights for a business trip to Chicago. The hotel is extremely well done. The door man, the front desk and overall service are fantastic. The room itself is extremely nice and they have comfortable beds. However, I did not give this hotel 5-stars because of the primary reason for staying at a hotel...sleep! Here was my experience of the negatives:

1. The window shades do not completely block out the lights from the city.
2. It is close the a fire station and there is a lot of road noise. If you are use to living in the city, this should not be a problem. However, I live in the burbs and am use to peace and quiet.
3. If you stay on the upper floors, you will hear the drone of bass from the Vertigo Sky Lounge. I believe it is only open on certain days, so you might want to check into that depending upon your stay during the week.

If light and noise do not effect your sleep patterns or if you don't plan on sleeping very much, I highly recommend staying at this hotel. Also, this would be a great hotel to party at or have a bachelor/bachelorette party.

If you do plan on sleeping, I would recommend staying at another hotel like the Amalfi, Hotel71, Hotel Palomar or another boutique hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan on going to bed before 2AM, stay on the 18th Floor or below when Club Vertigo is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelINTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear CarmelINTraveler, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that you did not have a peaceful nights sleep while you were staying with us! If you do visit us again, please let us know in advance that you would like a quieter area of the hotel and we will do our best to accomodate. Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The view was amazing and we were so happy with the staff and the place. Great location and stylish rooms. A bit poky but well kept and clean.

1. Families - Not really so much of a family place, probably more for young couples or business. We had a child but were not made to feel unwelcome because of it.
2. Breakfast - Not free but we had a discount. The breakfast really was great though.
3. Location - Central and entertaining. A short walk to the Hard Rock Cafe and a nightclub on the top floor. Plenty of pubs, clubs eateries and stores nearby. Tour buses stop just half a block from the building. Walking distance to the Magnificent Mile.
4. Room - Smallish but well arranged. The bed was beautiful and the style was interesting. Loved the showers and the view was majestic. We were on 24th floor (i think) and we could see Tribune Tower and some other famous sites.
5. Staff – Great. We had a guy with sleeve tattoos assist who was a magnificent spokesperson for the city and gave us great tips. Staff at the desk were all very nice and helpful.
6. Other - Hotel bars were a stylish but a bit quiet when I was there. Might have just been the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JET8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi JET8882, WOW, you covered everything with your point by point review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Thank you for your excellent comments about our staff as well, they love seeing happy guests :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with a short walk to the magnificent mile. For the gangster history hunter this hotel is within a block of where the first "gangster era" hit took place. This hotels bar is fantastic, outdoor space with glass walls and fire pits, smoking allowed. The rooms here are small to the point of having a single door for the closet and the bathroom. Overall the room was clean and comfortable, however the backside of the window blind was quite dusty. Way cool stereo iPhone charger in the room. Nice bedding and very comfortable bed. The bathroom has a glass wall that faces the bedroom from inside the shower.

Room Tip: Get a room om the north side of the hotel for a nice view of the beautiful church where the first ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear RWells5733, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! It was great to read about some Chicago history as well. We offer a really unique product in Chicago and we are pleased you can appreciate that. See you again soon when you return to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,790 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing