We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Chicago”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thanks to all the staff for our last stay.Too many people to mention for all of the fun we had.But thank you Romeo for my b_Day Present,And always thanks to Yolanda,Jeff and Sherman,The ODonnells will be back their soon..

Room Tip: Any room ,the are all comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear beachbumIllinois, thank you for another great review. We really appreciate frequent guests such as yourself. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,135 - 3,141 of 3,878 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dana for our anniversary weekend. The rooms, somewhat small, were still very lovely, well decorated and clean. However, my husband went to eat some chocolate covered raisins from the mini bar and they were over a month expired. Also, the wine, pop, and beer were luke warm at best (not sure the fridge was even on). We had massages booked at 1pm the day of check out, assured at check in staying in the room nd extra hour would be fine (just call the front desk the morning of). Low and behold we couldn't stay for the extra hour!!! Seriously? We had massages booked in THEIR spa and we couldn't stay for one hour?! That's just bad business to me.

Overall, you can't beat the location and price- book through a different company like booking.com or kayak.com- and the hotel itself is very modern and new. All the other staff was very helpful and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Claire, the young lady who checked us in even wished us a happy anniversary!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear leslie910, we appreciate you taking the time to review us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. I am very troubled to hear about the issues you experienced with some of our amenities. Please know that this is not the typical experience of a guest at dana, and we are taking measures to make sure it doesn't happen twice! Thank you again, and we hope you give us another try :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very cool hotel. Our room was ultra contemporary but extremely comfortable -- fantastic bed, unbelievable linens. Just a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile and scores of great restaurants and shops.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank castone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear castone, It was a pleasure reading your review. I am pleased you consider us a 'cool' hotel, please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Dana Hotel & Spa for a business conference. The location is incredible. I was able to take the train from O'Hare Airport to the State/Chicago stop. The hotel was only a couple block walk down State Street from the subway exit. It is also only a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and the John Hancock Building.

The rooms themselves were very nice. Some of the things that stuck out in my mind were the floor to ceiling windows allowing you to look out over the skyline, beautiful hardwoods, a very comfortable bed, and one of the most luxurious showers I have ever seen. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet.

During the conference, we used the rooftop bar/lounge and the hotel restuarant several times. The rooftop lounge has a great atmosphere with a spectatular view. The outdoor portion had neat open flame heaters that keep the area nice and warm. The drink prices were about what I expected for a rooftop lounge in downtown Chicago. The restaurant food was very good. I can't comment on prices as the food was covered in the conference fees.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Luke K, we really appreciate you taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Chicago. It sounds like you really took advantage of our amenities (rooftop lounge, restaurant), so happy you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon and visit the spa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Treatment is top of the line! Stayed on the 12th floor and it was nice, but I would stay in a higher level next time to avoid some of the street noise. The staff is super friendly and are always willing to assist an anything possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexylatina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear sexylatina79, thank you for writing such a great review. The next time you visit, please request a higher floor room and we will do our best to accommodate. Our rooms have some great views of the city! Hope to see you again when you return to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My company just had a large group stay at the Dana and everyone in our group commented about the great location of the hotel and the amenities and great service that they all received. All of the employees from front desk to valet and bellman were very polite, helpful and nice!! It was very much appreciated! I want to comment you all on a great time that was had by all at your hotel.

A member of the reservation staff - Mary - was extremely prompt with confirmations and helping out with any changes we had to make for my groups stay! It made my job so much easier!

The rooms are very nice and comfortable - clean - and had just the right amenities. The beds are extremely comfortable - didn't want to get out in the morning to go to work! Views of the city are great! Awesome Hotel!! Cannot comment enough about the great location of this hotel!! Near a lot of great restaurants, night clubs and other venues - within walking distance!

Thank you again and “cheers” to everyone on your team at the hotel!!
Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDCZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear DDCZ69, Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you and your whole group had a nice time at the hotel. We will be sure to share your kind words and staff recognition with everyone on our team, they will be thrilled to read it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Dana multiple times on business trips to Chicago. I am always greeted warmly and once they knew my name and recognized me on return trips I was often upgraded. The rooms are very efficient, modern, and comfortable. The small balcony is great for getting some fresh air. The room can be a bit dark due to the dark wood flooring. Bed is very plush and comfortable. The shower is FANTASTIC, although if traveling with someone else know that it is all glass and open to the room. Excellent breakfast served in the lobby restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for great views of Chicago
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadec1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Sadec1970, We are so happy you have chosen our hotel for your frequent business trips to Chicago. Repeat business is very important to our success and we appreciate the feedback. See you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,900 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,951 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $108 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing