We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great views, well worth the money”
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
Ranked #54 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great views, well worth the money”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I spent two night of our honeymoon at the Dana Hotel. The floor to ceiling windows held capitvating views of the city. The accomodations were very comfortable and well worth the money we spent. After using the spa inspired shower, my normal shower back at home was just not the same! The location could not be beat! We were able to walk to neary everything we wanted. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on us!
Congratulations to you both. We hope to see you again for your anniversary, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    958
    320
    123
    65
See reviews for
409
1,469
184
850
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I adored staying at this hotel when I was able to get a good rate for a mid-week business stay. The room had an amazing view (26th floor) and was so well appointed. The media center in the room was a great touch and let me plug in my ipod and relax to my own music. I loved the room furnishings and how it was layed out (even the glass wall in the shower that seperated the bed from the bathroom). The staff was helpful - if not a little bit snooty. Overall, I would LOVE to stay here for a weekend in the city, if I could figure out when this hotel would fit my budget on a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codyadalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I had wanted to stay at the Dana for a few years, but its price point is more than we normally pay for a room in Chicago. A recent online deal made it an affordable option for us.

The hits: the rooms are very nice and super well appointed. We had a corner king, and I just love the decor, the B&W ipad dock, the Keurig coffee maker, stocked fridge with wine/beer/soda and super decent prices, the candy basket, comfy beds, robes, slippers, gorgeous hand scraped wood floor. And then there are those floor to ceiling windows; they take a little getting used to, but love seeing the city skyline at night. The room was also extremely quiet - can't hear a lot of outside noise. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower is mean to be the focal point of the bathroom clearly (see through to the bedroom). Bellmen were awesome at this hotel. The location is also absolutely perfect.

The misses: the awkard lobby bar/second floor lobby layout. AJA is just average - wish they would raise the bar on this restaurant. We also didn't really care for the theme of the Vertigo Skylounge - okay if you're twenty something, but not a relaxed lounge atmosphere. I also don't understand why they don't let guests access the lounge directly. We had to go down to the lobby in the elevator, where the hostesses made us go outside in the cold to enter through the streetside door (even though they could have let us through the interior way), and then we had to get back in the same elevator we just got off of to go up to Vertigo. Bizarre.

The hotel also needs to pay a little more attention to detail and cleanliness in common areas.

It's a good choice if you want a trendy hotel in an excellent location, but for your money, I'd be on other Chicago hotels before this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ms_Miltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and you love the decor. During development we spent a lot of time going over the rooms from our guests point of view. For example we were going have the hand scraped maple cover the entire floor but then thought, do our guests really want to put their feet on a cold ground as soon as they wake up. That's when we added carpeting around the bed.
As for the misses we are in the process of re-developing our restaurant so I would love for you to check back with us in May As for your entrance into vertigo, I am sorry they sent you outside to wait in line, we will do a refresher training on this subject. They do need to send to you the vertigo entrance (lower level) to allow for the Vertigo Security team to let you up.
I hope you choose to stay with us again and try out our new restaurant in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I'll write this review assuming those going to Chicago are familiar with the River North/Maginficent Mile part of town, just north of the Chicago River.

The hotel was very nice. There lounge/bar on the 43rd floor (Vertigo) is very popular. Constant lines form outside the hotel for this place. One of the more popular clubs in town.

The room was half wood floor, half commercial carpet. The bathroom had a rain showerhead and was very modern.

There's an Ipod docking station with speakers next to the flat screen TV. Ice was on the 5th floor.

They have a spa and weightroom on the 4th floor. I love the steam room in the men's locker room. Nice way to relax and relieve stress.

We brought booze and mix...as we always do...and inevitably spilled some on the floor. I was pleased to see that that maid actually moppoed the wood portion of the floor. They really did a good job with the cleaning.

I'd recommend to anybody staying in the River North/Mag. Mile area of Chicago.

I saw one review on here and the lady didn't have anything nice to say. She obviously didn't stay there. If I were a business owner, I'm guessing this is precisely the type of patron whose business I would NOT want - just seems like this is someone who can't be pleased no matter what. In fairness to her, I didn't eat at Aja, their in-hotel restaurant, but I find it hard to believe the waiter spilled water on EVERYBODY'S lap as she stated.

Any how...this is a very nice hotel. Completely remodeled in a perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mingo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thanks for the kind review! We are happy you enjoyed the hotel. Next time you will have to try our tranquil sutie wait until you see that shower! Please let us know when your travels bring you back to Chicago we would love to have you back.
Cheers,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My fiancé and I had our engagement party at Vertigo Sky Lounge on 3/6/12. Vertigo is the elegant lounge/nightclub on the roof of the Dana Hotel.

We coordinated plans through Gino Bartucci. Gino and the entire staff at Vertigo made our party a huge success and absolutely flawless. We actually had guests calling us the next day saying how much fun they had (how often does that happen...?). The bartenders were fast and friendly. Food (appetizers) were great. Music and sound system was top notch. Crowd was sexy and sophisticated.

We did not stay at the actual hotel, but did walk through. Very elegant and modern. If the rest of the staff at the Dana Hotel is as superb as Gino and the Vertigo staff, I would highly recommend staying with them.

Charles and Ashley

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danahotelandspa, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Congratualations Charles and Ashley on your engagement!!
I am happy to hear you had such a great time at Vertigo. I agree with you Gino and his team are superb! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Wonderful staff and views from my interesting room at the far north end of the hotel. Finishes are a little worn on the furniture, but the room and bathroom were wonderfully designed and the bed was extremely comfortable. I thought the breakfast food was fine, but the service and the food were not nearly as good as some similar hotels nearby. I would go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: I would select "Serene King" vs. a "Comfy King" which was a bit small and which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgd-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012.

Location was perfect for us, 5 mins from the office, reception was fast and efficient, service good and the room was great. Good facilities, including Wifi.

The breakfast (which wasn't included, but a $10 discount) was excellent, great choice and quality food.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,203 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Property: dana hotel and spa
Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3830
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing