We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Zocalo - CLOSED

Zocalo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Orleans
Northern Illinois
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved the food! The Guac was simply awesome and the ingredients were fresh. My husband is not as adventurous with his taste buds as I am so he was not as enchanted but, I seriously loved it. Our waiter suggested a Mango Chile Margarita not on the menu and that was RIGHT up my alley. The only downside to the experience was that we had made reservations pretty early and were seated at a table practically in the lobby.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegreatplains2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food is really good, been there a few times and the food is always spot on. The service has its ups and downs. This last time everything was good all around. Food, drtinks and service were great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mc0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Get the organic margarita!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only went for drinks after dinner, and we all loved the organic margaritas. Fresh, great tasting, handmade margarita. Yum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Its a New Zocalo”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This has always been a favorite Mexican place of ours but the owners recently opened a new restaurant nearby (Taco Joint) and have now transformed the original to gourmet Mexican. We had red snapper ceviche served with lettuce leaves for wrapping, a queso fudido of seasoned mock chorizo (mushrooms) with baked Oaxaco cheese that was fabulous as well as surprising, and an open faced Tomal with goat cheese and cream salsa.
This is not your mothers Mexican food. Not a taco chip and salsa to be seen.
Just as in the past there is little wine selection but choices of tequila seem limitless and good beer abounds.
We're anxious to return to try more dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant itself was very nice and rustic looking. Very clean and staff were very friendly with good service and knowledgeable about all the foods and drinks. As far as authentic tasting, it was not. I always base the Hispanic authenticity by the rice and this stuff tasted like something from On The Border. Everything else was very creative. Beautiful presentations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColeyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing