We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun, fun! oh, and food too!”

Chicago Dine-Around
Ranked #6 of 60 Food & Drink in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago Dine-Around specializes in unique and interactive dining experiences for corporate and private events. We offer Progressive Dining Tours, where guests travel in a stylish coach bus to the first restaurant for hors d'oeuvres, the second restaurant for the main course, and the third restaurant for dessert. Enjoy Chicago's renowned cuisine while you interact with different colleagues at each restaurant and learn about Chicago along the way. Chicago Dine-Around also offers Interactive Culinary Experiences, Dinner and a Show, and Architectural Dining Cruises. Our events are ideal for meetings, networking, team-building, client appreciation, holiday parties and all types of corporate and private events.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun! oh, and food too!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We decided to do 'tourist' things on our trip to Chicago in October. We are Chicagoan's but now live in Atlanta... and will probably always consider ourselves 'Chicago'! This restaurant tour was excellent. The 2 groups of people we sat and chatted with for a couple of hours were so much fun - all with one thing in common... eating, travel, adventure! (Well, maybe three things). The first and last stops (apps and dessert) were outstanding. I'm very critical of Italian food (Italian heritage) so Scuzzi wasn't a '10' in my opinion, but it was good. Our driver and guide were fantastic - could not have asked for a better time. And to the ladies from Washington DC and Michigan - could not have asked for better dining partners. Would do this again in a heart-beat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gerp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    49
    5
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
“A Surprisingly Fun Night!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

In planning a girl's trip, I was looking for a fun activity for us to do and came across the Chicago Dine-Around tour. It was expensive but we decided to check it out based on the reviews and we thought it was a good way to sample some of Chicago's restaurants. None of us had never done a progressive Dinner before, so we weren't expecting much but we had a blast and were surprised at how much fun we all had!

The bus picked us up at the Hancock building and we we dined at three different restaurants (Rezza's, Scoozi and Riva) for appetizers, dinner, and desserts. Personally, the appetizers at Rezza and the dessert at Riva was AMAZING but the main course at Scoozi was just okay. Don't get me wrong, it was good but not as good as the food at Rezza!

Besides the food, we also had fun with the bus tour, movie trivia, and the experience overall, especially meeting and talking to all the others people who took the tour with us.

As one of the other reviews mentions, the cost isn't cheap, but you are paying for more than just the food...You have transportation, a well-versed guide, a good looking driver, great itinerary, and quick service, and overall fun night with many laughs!

Just as a quick note, our tour was mostly made up of older people (who were fun) but it would have been nice to have other young singles or couples on the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great night out with coworkers! (Private Event)”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When our team visited Chicago for a work function, we struggled to find a way to spend an evening fully engaged with each other that wasn't a dull happy hour and stagnant meal. We did the research beforehand and booked Chicago Dine-around for a private Progressive Dinner.

I had never been on a Progressice Dinner before, but I had a blast! The bus picked us up at our hotel (great, safe alternative to assigning a DD!) and we dined at three different restaurants (Reza's, Scoozi and Ai) for appetizers, dinner, and desserts. Wine was included all along the way. I loved that we could sample such great restaurants with very different types of cuisine. (We had Mediterranean, Italian, and Asian Fusion.). Also enjoyed the bus tour, on-board trivia, and experience overall. Everyone agree this was a great night out, and changing venues encouraged people to sit next to a different person on each bus ride or at each table, the perfect mixer for multiple teams.

The price per person for a private event isn't cheap, but you are paying for more than the food... You have transportation, a well-versed guide, great itinerary, and overall Chicago experience.

Helpful?
Thank aubreyland325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice Evening in Chicago”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Mother, my best friend & myself spent a girls weekend in Chicago and thought we would try this. We had a really nice evening and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The host/guide was very attentive and everything went like clock work. The meals were good and the company fun and we definitely would recommend it to others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dough on the Go”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is not a "convenient and comfortable experience" and food is not as advertised. Our first stop for Hors D'oeuvres and Wine was bread, salad and small pizzas some which did not arrive until we were being herded out. The "paired with" three types of wine were two carafes of house wine. Second stop Main Course = more bread, chicken, and pasta with no other choices. It included soft drinks but beware when bill came for people who ordered alcohol people were also billed for ice tea and juice, 18% gratuity and tax. Dessert was last and if you don't like Pecan Pie you are out of luck. You do interact with new people but if your goal is an enjoyable dining experience check out Tripadvisor for one of the great Chicago restaurants and for less money you can have a wonderful meal of your choice and a fine wine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago Dine-Around? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing