We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria La Madia

Osteria La Madia
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria La Madia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #327 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Clark
Transit: Red Line Train: Grand & State
Description: At La Madia, two pleasures - great food and distinctive, delicious wines - come together. La Madia is an urban restaurant that upholds Italian tradition. Every day, our chefs make our pizza dough and fresh pasta from scratch from little more than flour, water, and salt. The menu is designed for sharing, with flavor-packed, wood-fired pizzas that change seasonally, inventive salads, and savory pasta dishes. Desserts are all made on the premises, in keeping with what's available in the market.The wine list is a wine lover's dream, with more than 75 wines by the glass and hundreds of bottles. And every week, we feature two of our favorite wines for just $5 per glass. In addition to wine and more than 25 beers, La Madia offers innovative cocktails, many of which are made from spirits infused in-house.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always Great pizza and pasta in a comfortable atmosphere! And a reasonable wine selection! The Fireplace in the bar is a plus!



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulEE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    78
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I came here the night before the Marathon to fuel up on carbs. I loved the food here. I got a pizza and a pasta dish and enjoyed them both. The only issue I had with this restaurant was they did not have a beer I wanted. It is not the end of the world, but I really love beers with high alcohol content.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kscorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun and casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

La Madia has a fun décor and atmosphere. We ordered salad, pizza and drinks. The house made fennel sausage and onion pizza was good but nothing special. We sent our Margherita pizza back because the crust was doughy. Our waiter explained we would not get a crispy crust with this pizza, which we didn't expect but the crust was really not done. The second Margherita pizza was wonderful! They have an extensive wine list and the waiter was more than willing to offer suggestions. I would give this restaurant a 5 if the Margherita pizza hadn't been undercooked. We will return when in Chicago.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The pizza was good. They had a great wine selection. Good place to gather with friends, lots of space and it was not too loud.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for great food and some good beers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I went yesterday to La madia. The ambience is very nice and inviting. Service was exceptional. The spinach and talleggio fondue is a must have. Then whatever you have left of the fondue you can use to dip your crust edges of the pizza if you order one. Pizzas are also excellent, but i believe for the price should be a bit bigger or price a bit lower.

Beer selection is not huge, but they have very nice ones, specially if your into belgian ales.

Overall a great experience would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Madia also viewed

 

Been to Osteria La Madia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing