We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Best Western in Chester, Illinois. The quality that stood out to me the most during this stay was customer service. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We were traveling with young children which can be quite challenging. The staff at this hotel were warm and friendly and asked how they could make our stay more comfortable.

The rooms were very comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good. If I have to travel to this area again and need a hotel, I will definitely stay at the Best Western in Chester, Illinois!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenglky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 134 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

Smelled like a dirty ash tray. We slept with the windows wide open all night in 20 degree weather. It was better than getting cancer from inhaling all the stench from years past of nasty cigarette smell. The toilet clogged every time you used it not matter what type of business you were doing in there. Not to mention the size of the toilet would be too small even for my three yr. old nephew.... and we are not big people mind you. Instead of them giving us a new room due to toilet problems we were given a plunger in a plastic dirty garbage bag from past toilet problems (SICK). The bed had awkward stains on the sheets and felt like we were sleeping on lumps. We slept fully clothed in jeans and hoodie sweatshirts in hopes to not get contaminated. If you're ever stuck in this small town of Chester, Il. sleep in your car or run while you can for this is the only hotel.... hotel of torture!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

In short, the rooms were clean and comfortable and afforded a great nights sleep. The WiFi was free and moved at a decent pace, and the hotel was quiet, although there were very, very few people there when I was. The staff were about the friendliest that you could hope for, and consistently so (except the owner, who was present but seemed to make no effort at acknowledging any guest, even when he walked past -- just seemed odd). If you stay, don't count on the 'free breakfast' in the morning doing anything at all for you -- it's anemic by even camp standards. The price has gone up recently. I can't pretend to know anything about the true costs of running a hotel, but when you're the only one in town . . . . . .

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

I stay at the hotel frequently. They have updated their mattresses and carpeting and installed hardwood type flooring in the main entryway. The rates are a little above average, but overall, it's a nice, clean place to stay. The only downside is that the pool is an outdoor pool, but the hot tub is inside.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I traveled to this destination in early August to attend the Grand American Trap Shooting tournament that was being held in Sparta, Illinois which is about a 20 minute drive from Chester. When I reached the small town of Chester, and even before I got there I was concerned about a small hotel in a small town, but that concern changed when I saw the hotel and checked in. The hotel was clean and the grounds were too except for some medium sized weeds around the pool. The pool is very nice for a two story hotel, however. It also has a hot tube and whirlpool near the pool. Not bad for a hotel with 46 guest rooms.

One problem was that I was there on a very hot day, and it appears and felt like that there are no AC ducts upstairs, in the hallways. If they are there, they certainly were not working. Sun shining in on the western side of the building challenged the somewhat noisy AC/Heating unit. A small area for their complimentary breakfast, but it is of course a small hotel in a small town. The staff was courteous, and I basically enjoyed my stay. The larger chain hotels are located in Carbondale, IL which is about an hour and a half drive, so if you plan on attending the Grand American in 2007, don't wait long before booking here. Rooms in the area sell out fast. There are also very few restaurants in Chester. Reids' Harvest House Smorgasbord is within a couple of miles for home style cooking. There is a New China buffet restaurant in the downtown area. There is a Wal-Mart store also about a mile away from the hotel, so one can get necessities, but unlike the mega Wal-Marts that one may be accustomed to, this one is not a 24-Hour store.

1  Thank Tnflaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2005

Value for the money, this place is above average. Stayed there April 16th-19th, 2005. Room was very clean, complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful and presented nicely, and the housekeeping staff did a good job in taking care of the room and fulfilling a couple of special requests.

If you are staying in southern Illinois, this place rates some consideration.

2  Thank glennjudy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
431 reviews
16 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sparta
16.4 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Sparta
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Super 8 Perryville
Super 8 Perryville
#1 of 4 in Perryville
377 reviews
12.9 mi away
Arrowrock Inn
Arrowrock Inn
#9 of 11 in Sainte Genevieve
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chester Hotel

Address: 2150 State St, Chester, IL 62233-1100 (Formerly Best Western Reid's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $98 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Chester Hotel offers guests the perfect home away from home while they experience all that the area has to offer. History lovers delight in the many well-known historical attractions, such as Fort DeChartres, the Popeye(R) Statue River Outlook, the Cohen Mansion and author Pierre Menard's home. This Chester hotel is also close to Cole Memorial Park and the Elias Kent Museum. Within an hour's drive of Chester, guests can visit Fairmount Park, Gateway International Raceway and Six Flags(R) Over Mid-America in nearby St. Louis. This Chester hotel is a favorite among travelers who are attending one of the areas many music festivals and annual events, such as the Prairie DuRocher Rendezvous, the Grand American or shooting events at the World Shooting Complex in Sparta, IL. This Chester hotel is also a great choice for Popeye(R) fans, the beloved cartoon character originated here and the town is host to the annual Popeye(R) Picnic each fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Chester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing