We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort zone”

Backyard Grill & Bar
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Located in the heart of the Village of Cherry Valley, IL. We are right off of Hwy 39/90 & US Hwy 20 about two miles from CherryVale Mall. It's a great place to come and enjoy our outdoor deck seating or step inside our bar area or dining room for a fantastic meal any time! We are a block away from beautiful Baumann Park bring the family out for a great time!
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“comfort zone”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stumbled apon this bar a few years ago and was impressed at first drink. The service is grreat and it is a very freindly, neighborhood bar. I have always felt at home here and decided to bring freinds to a St Patricks Day dinner. It was unbelievable!! Best I've had and is now a must stop on the way by!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjsback9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
“Neighborhood pub”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The food is average, prices are very reasonable. It's worth stopping in for a sandwich and beverage if you are in the neighborhood anyway.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Neighborhood place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nestled in downtown Cherry Valley the BYG a safe choice in a small town with few choices available. Standard fare-delivered to your table promptly and by staff that is attentive. Nice small beer garden where groups can sit out and enjoy a few libations.
The only drawback is since it is in a small town with few options you can get times where the bar area gets people who are out to party and it gets quite loud and can disrupt your dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillman Valley
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Feels like home, but your out!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Big fan here, because the food is great and the portions are huge. Friday night fish fry is killer but the ribs are mouthwatering, and the burgers are juicy as well. The back room isn't special to look at, but it is cozy and the staff are warm.
The bar is nice, the drinks expensive, and the bathroom is super clean. This is the opposite of snooty, this is small town friendly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank StillmanValleyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good menu at good prices. Fun & fast service. We try to get up there about 1 every couple of months. My husband loves their Pulled Pork.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Owner at Backyard Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cherry Valley location, we greatly appreciate it! Please do come back and join us on our deck and make any day of the week Funday! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Backyard Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing