We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and beautiful resort”
Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosalie Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband I and spent a week at Rosalie Bay Resort at the end of February, 2014. The staff was friendly, the food was excellent, and the Junior Suite was comfortable and roomy.
This is a peaceful and quiet resort, but daily excursions are offered to various scenic locations on the island. We came with trekking poles and found them useful on some of the trails. Dominica is very natural and beautiful. There are many unique trails and experiences, but some are not for the casual hiker. The staff was very accommodating in arranging transportation around the island.

This is a beach-front resort with gorgeous black volcanic sand, but it is not a swimming beach because of the strong currents. It was lovely, however, to just walk along the beach. We missed the “turtle season” when the beach is the focus of turtles coming ashore to lay and bury their eggs. The resort owners are very active in protecting the turtles from those who would prey on them.

There are wonderful facilities. The salt water pool is beautiful. There is a spa and fitness center. The grounds are great for quiet time and peaceful reflection. This is a great resort for a couple’s get-a-way.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Rosalie Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent at week at Rosalie Bay Resort in February, 2014. We would definitely recommend it to others, along with the suggestion of selecting an ocean front room as the sound of the waves and the view are absolutely incredible. Everyone we met was friendly and the staff enjoyed hearing about other parts of the world. Also, since I have celiac disease, I had only to ask and the meals were prepared gluten free, which was definitely helpful. We took advantage of the fitness room (plenty of free weights and resistance machines) and did some hiking along the island roads. Excursions were also available directly from the resort so we took advantage of the snorkeling adventure. Overall, a very friendly, relaxing and beautiful place. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I came here for our fifth wedding anniversary and were overwhelmed how peaceful and relaxing the resort was. We love to travel for new experiences so we rarely travel to the same place twice. Rosalie Bay will be one of those location we will return to for another vacation.

The resort is in an isolated location of Dominica with mountain slopes to either side. It is a pristine location where all you hear is the rush of the ocean and breeze through the palm trees from the trade winds. I have been to beaches around the world and have never found one so peaceful. This is in large part due to the isolation of the resort and the underdeveloped nature of the east side of Dominica.

There were no kids there at the resort beyond a couple of bored teenagers. This resort is tuned to adults who are looking for a quite place to recharge or to use as a launching point for the beautiful hikes of Dominica. Casual hikers must take note ... the best hikes are not for the casual hiker. Going to Boiling Lake or Victoria Falls takes several hours across challenging terrain, not well worn paths. There is one easy hike to the Emerald Pool which is a well worn path with steps and railings.

The rooms are luxurious. The internet service was surprisingly good. We were able to get a 3Mb downstream which was good enough to easily stream Youtube videos. Netflix and Hulu did not work (unless you have a VPN to route through). There is cable TV in every room with basic US channels and ABC/NBC/CBS/FOX from Miami. This is not an eco-resort ... no living in thatched huts!

The food was very good, although with only one place to eat and being in an isolated part of Dominica, you may get bored with some of the sides. If they improve a few items in the menu and add some variety in vegetables, the menu would be near perfect for us. I do recognize this is part of the challenge of the isolated location ... some staples are harder to get than others.

My wife and I loved this place. We will never do another Caribbean cruise again as long as Rosalie Bay is open!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativetexan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I really wanted to give this a higher rating, this hotel totally has the potential of being rated Excellent, but enough small things added up over my 6 night stay to detract a bit. Overall, i would definitely recommend and visit again.

Pros:
*Insanely relaxing and lush location. The views from everywhere on the resort are beyond words. Most natural, rustic, and beautiful place i've been in the Caribbean. If you can't relax here, something is wrong with you! Grounds are extremely well maintained, though the beach, which is awesome, could use some cleaning up. Not sure this is within the hotel's purview to address or not.

*Spacious rooms with plenty of space for 3 people to share. The room was huge and so was the bathroom! The balcony was excellent and made for a great place to relax with drinks and snacks and listen to the ocean (we had ocean facing junior suite). Plenty of room to store clothes and spread out and mini fridge to keep snacks. Beds were comfortable. Toiletries in bathroom were a nice quality. Overall, 5 stars on the room itself.

*Continental breakfast was awesome. One of the best i've had and kept me full for a long time. Coffee is excellent. Fresh juice, though if you like unsweetened, ask for it. The bakes were awesome especially with the bush honey. Also loved the porridge.

*Dinner menu has many choices. Even for vegetarians like me!

*Trevor (in the restaurant and by the pool) and Randall (driver) made the stay. Their hospitality earned 5 stars. They were both super friendly, accomodating and gave us a flavor of the local culture. Seek them out for sure. They embody what the rest of the staff should and give hope that tourism can succeed in Dominica.

Cons
*Staff is badly in need of training. So many little things added up. Unclear communication on fees and service charges for tours and also what things cost. We got 3 different stories on how much the transport to Roseau cost. Thankfully, it ended up only being $50 US not $200 (for 2 people) as originally explained. While they were nice enough to follow up on numerous requests and questions, information wasn't always transmitted clearly and we had to go and follow up. I expect more for the price point of this resort. I've travelled enough to know i'm not being high maintenance here.

*Manager was aware of a bug problem and didn't notify us. I get there are bugs, i've been enough places to know. While all issues were minor and 2 were addressed promptly, we had termites in our room and they didn't bother to a) not put us there since the hotel was not fully occupied or b)just give us a heads up so we could let them know if we had issues. Instead, we had kind of like sawdust all over our bags and clothes and until we mentioned it, did they say they already knew about this. They were nice enough to give us a free upgrade in response.

*Properly equip staff who do tours. I did like the touch of always having towels in the car. On the tour to Indian River and Syndicate Forest, our driver who seemed interested in birds and was a great guide, didn't have the proper equipment to support the birding aspect. It was fine for me, but I felt bad for him. This would be a great thing to offer as part of the tour as it is in other countries. Just give the guy some better binoculars!

*Maintenance issues. Nothing major, but over 6 days, we probably had 4-5 small issues, which again, at this price point, is a bit disappointing. Most were resolved promptly though, to their credit. We had issues with the toilet, ceiling fan, wi-fi, screens, and balcony doors staying closed properly. It was as if they don't really follow a check list of things to make sure are working before putting guests in rooms.

All in all, i would stay again. Some of the staff went above and beyond and made up for the issues with the rest. They were all very nice and made the stay enjoyable. The grounds and rooms are lovely. If you want some seclusion and nature, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms have amazing sun rises and views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is an incredibly beautiful spot on an unbelievably beautiful island. Staff are constantly cleaning and sprucing up the rooms, facilities and grounds. We recommend paying extra for an oceanfront room - it is worth the backporch view and the sound of the ocean. We don't recommend the resort if you have small children, as the pool water is natural salt and dark in color, and the ocean is rough and isn't an option for swimming (but it is absolutely gorgeous to watch). The open air restaurant overlooking the river and ocean is beautiful and so relaxing. The frequent rain showers keep everything green and refreshing.One downside is actually an upside in a way -the resort is far from any other restaurants, stores, but that also makes it incredibly private and peaceful. There are hummingbirds, and beautiful plants and colorful flowers are everywhere.
Only negative experience is that you can end up spending a lot more money here than the cost of your room. We had the sense that the free activities offered there were an opportunity to try to sell their tours, though it was soft sell approach and nothing pushy. The tour guides for the hotel were fantastic, but being more offering of basic info about buses, local stores to buy supplies, and arrangements with cab drivers would be appreciated. You probably want to rent a car if you stay here - though bear in mind that the infrastructure on the island is constantly in disrepair and driving can be pretty scary. The staff at Rosalie Bay is largely Dominican, and the culture and people of the island are so beautiful, dignified, and community oriented. It is hard to fully express the positive impact of the natural beauty and people of this island. We will carry the vibrations with us for a long time
.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is quiet and peaceful with lovely views of ocean,large attractively designed gardens, and very friendly and well-trained staff especially in dining room and pool bar. Just spent a week there and a great place to relax and unwind after exploring the roads and trails in this unspoilt natural island.
The food and service in the dining room is excellent and enjoyed the special Valentine's day dinner. Beautiful views of the ocean on deck surrounding the dining room.The rooms are spotless and garden room lovely to sit outside on deck and watch the humming and other birds.
Everyone friendly when out walking in the area and stop to greet you and have a chat. Snorkelling good at Champagne Reef and recommend a guide as know where the fish,etc, are.
Highly recommend this hotel if like quiet and peaceful locations.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary-Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I recently returned from a one week stay at Rosalie Bay and it is a wonderful hotel. The location is remote and gorgeous, and the soundtrack of the property is the Atlantic crashing on the beach and the tropical birds calling out in the evenings. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to anticipate information and assistance we might need given our schedule. For example, the night before we checked out, they provided us with some sandwiches and fruit since we had to leave for the airport before the restaurant opened the next day. Everyone we spoke to on the staff was eager to find out how our trip was going, what sites we had seen, and were planning on seeing in the next few days. Beverly, the owner, made a point to check in with us to see if we'd successfully hiked Boiling Lake (we did, and it was amazing).

The food at Zamaan's is delicious. The breakfast included in your room price typically comes with lots of local fresh fruit and juices, and tasty homemade oatmeal, granola or porridge. It's more than enough to get you out the door and through the morning if you are spending your days exploring the hiking and other outdoor activities the island has to offer.

More generally, on that note, Rosalie Bay offers a great spot to rest and recharge each night if you are going on an active, eco-tourism vacation. We found that all of the wonderful things we read about Dominica's national parks and marine reserve were very much true: it is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. But with that beauty comes some very challenging hiking, lots of sun and wind, and, at the end of the day, a few sore muscles (betware hiking Morne Diablotins if it is pouring rain), muddy socks, and the like. It was a real treat, at the end of each day, to be able to come back to such a comfortable room to clean up, relax and get a good night's sleep with the ocean right outside your door.

One thing to bear in mind is that Rosalie Bay truly is away from it all, on the sparesely populated Atlantic side of the Island. This is one of its great benefits, but it also means that for most of the hiking, snorkelling, diving and other things you might want to do, you will be looking at a drive of one to two hours to get to the other side of the island and the trailhead, park entrance, beach or dock you're looking for. In my opinion, this trade off is worth it, and merely requires that you budget your time wisely in the morning. Once you have gotten the hang of driving on Dominica (which does take a day or too, and yes, you should read up on it and come prepared for the challenges), the drive from Rosalie Bay to wherever you're going inevitably takes you through beautiful rainforest and mountains, with some amazing views. We came to really enjoy our morning drive after breakfast each day.

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Rosalie Bay. Our only regret is that we were too early in the season to see the sea turtles. I would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone visiting Dominica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
19.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
10.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
16.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
16.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Price Range: $172 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing