We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dream Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosalie Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Certificate of Excellence
Wilson, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were looking for a get away vacation to recharge our batteries without the typical Caribbean crowds. Rosalie more than exceeded our expectations. From our arrival at the airport until our departure 8 days later, the efficient staff, as well as Bev & Oscar, made us feel like family and assured we had the vacation of a lifetime. We splurged and stayed in a riverside suite, but after spending time at the resort we agreed any of the rooms would have been outstanding. Meals at the Zamaan Restaurant were delicious as well as healthy. The spa treatments with Laura and her staff were fabulous (best facial I've ever had!). Our guide during our vacation was the famous Zahir - and he lived up to his reputation and more. Growing up in Dominica, he was passionate and knowledgeable about the island. He went beyond what was expected to show us this beautiful paradise. Our hearts broke when we had to say good-bye. Our good fortune also included being able to see a mama leatherback turtle come ashore, build a nest, and lay 75 eggs. Also we were able to experience turtle hatchlings being born as well as excavations of 3 nests with the real turtle man - Simon. Helping these little guys make it to the surf made us feel a part of the conservation team. Leaving this resort was quite difficult as we said our goodbyes to our new found family. As the sign says, "Rosalie Bay - Simply Magical"!!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmoore97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    36
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
103
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family just happened to pass this resort en decided to lunch here. A good choice for the cook and staff are great. The formerly plantation has been renovated in a good way and has spectacular sea views. We asked for using the beautiful pool but this is only restricted to inhouse guests. You can buy a day pass for 50 dollar per adult (its policy although there are no other guests) and all expenses made can be counted off. We didn't do that but if you stay a whole day, you could consider this for it looks great!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Menno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent the majority of our Dominica vacation in Roseau for the diving, but on the way back North we had the opportunity to spend an evening at Rosalie Bay. We are very, very happy we did. This was one of the most beautiful resorts we have had the opportunity to stay at, and an experience we won't forget.

June seemed to be a bit of a down season, so we were among very few guests at the resort. Even still, we had attentive staff and we had the opportunity to meet the owner, who was clearly passionate about the resort she brought to life.

This didn't necessarily impact the stay itself, but it's worth nothing that the Rosalie Bay staff and management have taken great pains to help revive sea turtle nesting grounds in Southern Dominica, and there is even a decent chance you will receive an early-morning wake-up call to observe the nesting behavior. We were unlucky, but this opportunity (made possible largely because of the staff's conservation efforts) is hard to find most places.

I could go on, but I think I can summarize by saying it's hard to imagine we'd return to Dominica and not find a way to get Rosalie Bay on our itinerary. Outstanding experience.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are very, very nice. I'm not discouraging spending more for a better view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent our weeklong honeymoon in Dominica, splitting it between Calibishie in the North and Rosalie Bay for the last 3 nights. We were in a junior suite with a garden view and were thoroughly pleased with our accommodations. The room was clean and spacious and there were all sorts of informational pamphlets and books about Dominica. We were there during the NBA Finals and my husband was ecstatic to learn that the tv (though small) received American channels including ESPN and ABC. The pool bar has a 2-4-1 happy hour until 6:00 so we would stock up on Kabuli beers and use our in-room fridge to keep them cool until game time :)
The staff were all very friendly and always helpful, especially those in the restaurant and Denison at the pool bar. We ate breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant and were always pleased with our meals, especially the fruit juices and the chocolate lava cake with ice cream. Try the coconut and chocolate ice creams!
Our last day we chose to go on an excursion provided by the resort: snorkeling in Champagne Reef (my husband called ahead and arranged it so that he could go scuba diving instead), lunch in Roseau, and a relaxing soak at Screws sulphur pools. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and we had an excellent time! That night we also received a call from reception informing us that there was a turtle laying eggs on the beach so we hightailed it over there to watch. Just when I thought things couldn't possibly get better, our waitress at breakfast the next day told us there were hatchlings coming out of their nest so we joined the resort's turtle expert rescuing 4 hatchlings that hadn't made it out of their nest. We placed them on the beach and watched them make their way to the water. An experience we will never forget!
Overall I would rate Rosalie Bay Resort as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and I have been all around the world. The grounds were very well maintained, including the black sand beach and the refreshing pool. Every Dominican we came across was incredibly polite and genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying ourselves (and not just at the resort- the people of this enchanting island are some of the most pleasant I have ever encountered!).
All in all I highly recommend a vacation (or relocation!) to Dominica with at least a few days' stay in Rosalie Bay Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWatt427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl A, General Manager at Rosalie Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear JWatt427,

Thank you very much for the positive comments and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our piece of paradise as much as we do.

It was our pleasure to host you and your husband for part of your honeymoon stay. What an amazing memory to have experienced both a turtle nesting and the baby hatchlings! We'll also be sure to share your note with our staff members.

Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dominica.

Warmest regards,
Daryl Aaron
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff at Rosalie Bay helped to make our 20th wedding anniversary spectacular. The weather was horrendous and we didn't get to see a sea turtle BUT the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The grounds are beautiful and the food was amazing. So grateful for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YLBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a lovely Father's Day at Rosalie Bay Resort this year. Father & son had a splash in the pool and then went kayaking in the river. The buffet was reasonably priced and the 2-for-$6 Kubulis were great! (local beer).

Just a short walk from the resort is the turtle conservation area where a group of on-lookers gathered around the open hatching area, where three baby leatherback turtles were freed from a nest and began to make their way toward the sea. Wonderful experience! The young kids in the group were in awe and even the adults were taken with these beautiful, tiny creatures.

An experience not to miss, and it's all made so easy & accessible right there from Rosalie Bay Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The island of Dominica was fabulous! We can't wait to go back and when we do we will be sure to stay at Rosalie Bay Resort. Everything about the resort was perfect for our tastes and interests. It's beautiful, warm, welcoming and just the right size. Probably the best room we've ever experienced. The staff were friendly and engaging. You could tell they were proud of Rosalie Bay and for good reason. The resort is remote and the only local option for meals is at the resort's restaurant. Fortunately, the food is excellent and fairly priced. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts which were included in our room rate. The chef's emphasis is on healthy and fresh which was perfect. The resort offers Island tours every day (extra charge) and we took the Emerald Pool / Carib Territory afternoon tour which was great. It was just the 2 of us and a wonderful guide/driver. We learned a lot about the island, its natural history and its people. We were there in May which is turtle nesting season. The absolute highlight for us was the experience of watching a 900 lb.leather back turtle laying it's eggs on the beach. Amazing! All-in-all, a fantastic stay and we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was huge! Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdx1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
27.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
10.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
21.1 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Property: Rosalie Bay Resort
Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing