We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,960)
Filter reviews
10,960 results
Traveler rating
5,405
3,645
1,329
333
248
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,405
3,645
1,329
333
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adults only section infinity pool red flag main restaurant gourmet restaurant boa vista cape verde main pool salt water room in block swim up bar the main square relaxing holiday karaoke bar evening entertainment two weeks no stress
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 10,960 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my friend went here for a week, we wished we stayed for 10 days as a week just wasn't enough.

the resort is lovely, very big! there are 4 restaurants to choose from, our favourite was the cape Verde restaurant. plenty of bars- only thing i can say is they need to have all the drinks on the menu as a lot was missing from it, the entertainment its self was good- i enjoyed the singers more earlier on in the evening before the show. the beach is amazing just a shame there is a red flag up 90% of the time- the beach def needs a beach bar more people will go o the beach then and this will stop the over crowding on the main pool as this put me off a bit and so we used the infinity pool which was def more up my street! rooms very standard but not dirty so i was happy with that. staff very polite! Bobby the tui rep made our holiday as he pretty much became our friend.

would def go back really good price also

Room tip: we was in room 9018 this side has been newly refurbished
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emmalouisemurrellxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel.
Yes its remote nothing for miles outside it's like being on the moon outside hotel.
I am sure if you research the hotel the description will tell you this.
Boa vista is a very poor part of the world.
The staff are so friendly and helpful always smiling which makes a nice change.
We stayed adult only part in block 1.
Rooms are nice.
Small bath towels not bath sheets so we just got clean pool towels before going to room then got clean ones next day.
It's a massive complex we did get lost more than once lol
Food was nice. I was worried after reading some reviews on here.
One thing I do wish that people reserving sun beds the night before really pees me off. Go off for day come to pool 4 pm and get on there beds when people have had to put there towels on floor.
PLEASE send someone round to take towels off beds if no one on them after a couple of hours.
Had a champagne breakfast one day. Nice touch.
It's not a 5 star as we would expect probably 4 star but it is Boa Vista 5 star.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank lanie2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lanie2602,

Thank you for your five-star rating! It's our genuine pleasure to have made your stay absolutely perfect.

Please rest assure that will share your comment with our team as they will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Touareg
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our first visit to Cape Verde so did not know what to expect. The island is so barren but getting to the hotel was an eye opener as it is so massive. Staff were very pleasant. First night we were in the main hotel and upgraded to the Adults only section. There was a noticeable difference straight way. Rooms were better, service much better and you have your own beach and swimming pool area plus your own bar. If you can afford it, definitely recommended. My wife preferred it and we had a choice of better restaurants to go to for evening meals.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Ambrose48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing break here.
Hotel very clean, food was very good, something for everyone. Staff were lovely and friendly. Weather amazing.
Downside was everywhere was a smoking area despite signs and evening entertainment was samey but the entertainment team tried very hard.
Not much for children to do but maybe more entertainment in holiday time than now.
Also worth a mention is the cats on site. I didn’t mind this but lots of people did so if you are not a cat lover then it might not be the place for you.
The hotel is massive, main pool gets very busy, infinity pool was lovely. Beach was lovely with sun loungers also. Sea too rough but good fun to paddle in and if you get down late at night or early morning with red lights not torch light, you might be lucky enough to see the turtles. (Torch light disturbs them). Also the sky at night was amazing on the beach, you could see the stars and Milky Way clearly.
Sadly we won’t return to Cape Verde as not much to do so more of a relaxing holiday.
We did enjoy it though.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrissieMackie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for a week in September...

Flight - It wasn't brilliant but only because it's not comfortable being in a 757 with no in flight entertainment for 6 hours.

Hotel - Bell boys offer to take your bags to your room, but had a feeling this would take a while so we took our own bags & heard that some people waited up to 2 hours for their bags to arrive at the room.
The hotel was excellent, it was kept constantly clean, 99% percent of the staff were helpful & friendly & there are always activities/ entertainment of some sort.

AO - We upgraded to adults only prior the trip (an extra £200 via Tui but you can chance this & upgrade when you check in). We had beer/ water/ fizzy drinks/ spirits in the room all week, access to the adults only pool with prosecco & live music party twice a week, & the adult only restaurant. The food there was definitely 5 star!

Food - The main buffet was excellent with a lot of options & staff were brilliant! The Asian restaurant was lovely, the Boa Vista one ok but no atmosphere & the Italian had all of the food you can get in the main restaurant. Our best meal was the AO restaurant!

The ONLY downside is the dreaded sunbed challenge! I don't get up early on holiday i'm not at work, so getting to the pools at 9am after breakfast 99.9% of the beds are gone. We went on the beach or in AO the staff got us beds from the beach.

Overall we had a great holiday & would recommend staying at Riu Touareg. It's such a beautiful island!

Date of stay: September 2019
3  Thank 803natasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 803natasha,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing Riu Hotels & Resorts! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us! It is always our main goal to archive customer satisfaction, so we always strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful memories.

Please rest assure that will share your comment with our team as they will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Touareg
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews