We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Victoria, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful family reunion”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a family reunion at Elkwater Lake Lodge and it was a wonderful experience for everyone. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lodge's catering service was helpful and efficient. The Bugler restaurant served very good food--we were impressed! The lodge is in Cypress Hills provincial park, which is an oasis of beauty amid the Alberta prairie. The park services are excellent, and there are several beaches for kids and adults (it was pretty hot in July!). Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    22
    21
    14
See reviews for
78
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in a king bed room, the bed spread looks dated and the table and chairs in the room were patio furniture. The room is quite dark, I don't think brown wall paper helps. The small fridge came in handy as we needed to keep a few things in there before joining the rest of our family who was camping nearby. The rooms are kept clean. The outside of the lodge looks nice and I used the outdoor seating area to read.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear sipari_traveller,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it is a great way for you to share your opinion with other travellers. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the bedding during your stay, we are constantly looking for ways to improve the services and amenties for our guests, we will take your comments into consideration. I am curious as to having patio furniture in your room, we do have some guest rooms which have wicker furniture, but not patio. Our maintenance personel will be looking into this today. Also, we will double check to ensure patio furinture from the deck is put back outside if it is brought indoors.
We are glad that you found your room to be clean, we are very proud of ourselves for winning the Housekeeping Award 6 years in a row.
We are also glad you enjoyed the outdoors to read your book! I bet that was truly relaxing.
Thank you again for taking the time.
All the best,
Management & Staff at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Butiful location in the middle of a prairie comes an oasis of trees lakes and mountains.

On my trip I stayed in two rooms. One was the hotel style to and one was the loft.

The hotel style room was a shame because it offered no kitchen, cutlery or plates. Only a mini fridge and a microwave. Very basic room.

The loft on the other hand was very well furnished with a full kitchen and two bathrooms. It also had two floors with a bed on the top floor and a sofa bed on the bottom floor.

The restrant at the hotel was overpriced but the one on the other side of town is regularly priced. The amenities at the pool are good with a salt water pool that is often buisy. There is generally no tpwls on weekends.

There is not many people staying on weekdays. And is a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123matt456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Canada Day weekend we stayed in 3 properties at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort. We rented a one bedroom condo with an adjoining studio suite and then a second studio suite. There were 3 couples and 4 children in our group.

The accomodations were really good but as we rented a one bedroom condo, we cannot really evaluate the studio suite as a stand alone rental.

Sleeping arrangements were great. Beds were comfortable.

Washroom facilities were also fantastic. Large bathrooms with ample space for everyone to find a nook to tuck in their toiletries. The showers were a bit tight but the one bedroom condo came with a large soaker bathtub which was great for the kids.

Staff was so incredibly helpful. They were accommodating for any of our requests. They offered to bring more plates, cutlery and glasses if we needed it and checked in daily to see if we needed any towels or anything!

Unfortunately the room had not been cleaned when we were given the key to check in but this was quickly rectified. Throughout the weekend we did find evidence of pet food from the previous tenants but for the most part, the rooms were well cleaned.


Kitchens were somewhat lightly stocked for standard cooking utensils. If you are planning on cooking in your condo a fair amount, you might want to pack a strainer, larger bowls for mixing or serving, measuring cups/spoons, juice or water pitcher, platter or baking sheets and spatulas/wooden spoons.

The BBQs worked really well and the common areas were lovely. The common firepits were in high demand as many condos did not come with their own bbqs so we were only able to get access to the common area to have a fire the one night.

We really only had 2 complaints. First was that the fire alarm panel had an error that the staff could not figure out. As a result the panel had an alarm beeping the entire time. At night, this kept up anyone sleeping in the common living area as it was quite loud. Second, the air conditioning unit in the one bedroom condo did not work well at all. We needed to keep the door open from the adjoining studio suite to cool off the one bedroom condo as well.

Overall would certainly recommend these facilities. We will rent these again and are already planning next year's trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom condo facing into the common courtyard, the deck got the late afternoon sun ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The resort was a great place to stay. Very nice and comfortable. Buglers restaurant and lounge has very good food and the service is excellent. It is located 40 minutes from Medicine Hat Alberta, in the Cypress Hills. The lake is a good place to fish for pike and water skiing. Camping is also available with some electric hookups. They have a great trail system for hiking and biking.
The park puts on activities during the day and night for adults and children.

In the surrounding area are 2 other lakes for fishing trout, and camping is available. Also is the famous Fort Walsh, where tours are available.

I have spent many years going to all the above places for the day or camping and always had a great time.

Room Tip: The fireside room and jacuzzi suites are an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello MGlock!
Thank you for coming out to the Lodge and truly enjoying all the Cypress Hills has to offer! Did you also know along with the great day time activities such as fishing, hiking, and water skiing, that the Cypress Hills Interprovincial park is a Dark Skie Preserve? This means, you have an opportunity to view the night sky through a huge telescope, or you can venture over to the Visitor Center and check out their planetarium?
Amazing that we have such an awesome place right at your back door!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had an enjoyable weekend at this lodge. My husband and I rented one of the loft condos, so we had a full kitchen. The lodge is also pet-friendly, which was perfect for us, since we travel with our two dogs. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The loft suites have high windows, which are great during the day, but it means that the morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inezlucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Inezlucie!
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort! We are so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed the time with us!
We just love the setting out in Elkwater, it is certainly off the beaten path! We are also happy you enjoyed all that our lovely loft suites have to offer!
Thank you again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Main floor room was clean and bed was comfortable. Extrememly dark, however, as window faces parking lot at eye level and we had to keep blinds closed for privacy. We brought some of our own food only to find that there were no dishes or cutlery whatsoever. Reading thru other revew just now, I see this has been a going concern yet to be addressed. There was a faint overall sense of the lodge being in need of some oomph and rejuvenation decor-wise.
Price of room was far too high for what it was.
We were looking forward to eating at Buglers, the on-site restaurant, based on the rather glamourous description found on the website. The pub menu & breakfast was quite good and the server was gracious. The dining room just was not as "swanky" as we'd expected but oh, well...However, our last meal there (an anticipated fancy dinner) was a bit of a gong show and I seriously doubt "the culinary team" referred to in the literature provided is still in residence.
We felt, actually, the whole dining experience had been grossly misrepresented. Food for dinner was sub par and expensive.
The natural setting and surroundings are the saving grace of this lodge.

Room Tip: Request a room anywhere other than facing parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureNut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkwater, Director of Sales at Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Nature Nut,
Thank you for staying with us at the Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort recently. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.
I have talked with the management, and we now have cutlery in all of our guest rooms, to go along with the fridge and microwave.
I can see that your room would have been dark, having the curtains closed. We strive to ensure that each guest is comfortable and safe.
I look forward to ensuring your next stay is in a room on the 2nd floor!
We do have trained and certified chefs at Buglers Dining Room and lounge and our focus is on local and fresh cuisine.
Thank you again!
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Property: Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Address: 401 4th Street | Elkwater Lake Lodge & Resort, Elkwater, Alberta T0J 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Elkwater
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkwater Lake Hotel Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing