We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice play to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Champaign
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice play to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for the weekend while we were visiting our son. The hotel is conveniently situated off the highway. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We have stayed here before and would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagomember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
36
17
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the property visiting family in Champaign. The property was nice, with clean rooms and a professional staff. The location is great, with a lot of food choices, a mall and stores, such as Walmart and Target. The property is right off of the highway for easy access to the north and south. I would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a walkout balcony. Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel was located north of the highway in Champaign. Staff was generally friendly, though my sister reported that one maid was rude to her. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but either the person before us had smoked cigars in the room or someone in adjacent room had smoked. Running the AC for a few hours got rid of most of the smell, which wasn't overwhelming.

I don't know if I'd stay here again, given its distance from campus (you definitely need a car) and the smoke smell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Champaign, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I apologize we did not provide you with the experience you expected while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and these issues are being addressed. We hope with our efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will try the Champaign Courtyard by Marriott again next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,

Steven Steinhauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent the night at this hotel when we were travelling to Chicago on a roadtrip.
Staff that checked us in were friendly enough.
The hotel has seen some upgrades, although it is an older property.
2 things I didn't care for:
Food smell from the Bistro was strong in the lobby and first floor
The heater seemed to have some sort of air freshner in it that was super offensive.
I had to sleep with the heater off or it blew some strong perfume smell out.
I would look for another hotel if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-TDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChampaignCYD_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Champaign, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I want to thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our main priority and we are always looking for ways to improve. I want to assure you that all of these issues have been addressed so situations like this don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Champaign Courtyard by Marriott another try next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,

Steven Steinhauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice hotel. Quiet, no problems. Lots of shopping nearby. Staff was helpful, but not all were overly friendly. Didn't try the bistro. Sofabed my son slept on was horrible though. Pool was decent, a little chilly. Hot tub was great. Gave us a late check-out with no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi_townfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here in Jan/2013 for one night. Good hotel decent location (about 15-20 minutes from UofI campus - depending on where you're going). Friendly staff - can't really complain.

Why 4 stars - well location, is on the north side of I-74 (where most of the budget hotels are) so if you're going anywhere near campus it can take 15-20 minutes).

They have a new newly renovated lobby - like the style that all Courtyard's are getting I guess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barramundi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped at this hotel with no reservations late evening after a long drive from MN to OH. We chose this hotel because we've always had a great stay at Marriott (Courtyards) whether it was planned (for business) or spontaneous while on a personal trip. We had just a horrible experience at another name brand chain on the trip OH to MN and were hyper wary and critical.

The front desk was polite, friendly, efficient, and even looked up our Rewards number. She gave us a quiet room (like we requested) upgraded us to a king bed room (I had inquired about), and recommended a restaurant for the type of food we were looking. We dropped off our bags, inspected the room, and went to dinner, by the time we returned, she had left message in the room to confirm everything was satisfactory.

The room was clean, crisp sheets (love the double sheet duvet) the location was quiet and towels were soft and big. Good coffee in the morning in the lobby, front desk at checkout was polite. I have had consistently great service and rooms with Courtyard Marriott.

I will choose a Marriott over any other chain given the geographical opportunity!
89870

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Champaign
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Champaign
Residence Inn Champaign
#11 of 25 in Champaign
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Champaign

Property: Courtyard Champaign
Address: 1811 Moreland Blvd, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Champaign 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Champaign Hotel Champaign
Champaign Courtyard
Champaign Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing