We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in this hotel class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel in this hotel class”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms are clean and what you expect for the price, nothing fancy. I stay here 2 nights per month and haven't had a bad room. The rooms have a refrigerator and flat screen TVs.

The front desk staff is nice and friendly. The breakfast hostess makes breakfast extremely pleasant. The breakfast and nightly happy hour are free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagofran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    98
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
76
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was hotel #3 on my road trip and I liked it the best. Great non-smoking room (if memory serves, the hotel is completely non-smoking now.) Easy check in. Cool granite floored lobby with a partial-glass elevator. The room had a microwave, little fridge, coffee maker and flat screen TV, also plenty of outlets to charge things, iron and ironing board, and a recliner chair. It was sparkling clean and so was the bathroom. Drury has a snack bar starting at 5:30 p.m., breakfast in the morning, and free soda and popcorn in the evenings.The bed was comfy, very good linens, excellent poofy pillows (not the usual lame hotel pillows where one is too skimpy and two are too big.) Yes there are shower gel, conditioner, n shampoo dispensers in the shower but I like that better than the little dinky packets that are messy to open or tiny bottles that don't empty well.
Hotel was quiet, AC worked perfectly. I didn't try the pool but it looked sparkly clean and well-kept. Breakfast was good, oatmeal, toast, cereal, eggs, fruit, yogurt, juice, hot and kept filled.
All considered, I kind of didn't want to leave. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: ask how close your room is to the elevator; it can be a bit of a hike if you don't walk well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Drury for just one night, and it was just ok. It's located right off the highway, and situated next to some restaurants and shops, so it's in a good location. The hotel is outdated, but you can tell that they are trying to update a little at a time. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but still good.
The one thing I did not like at all was found in the shower. instead of offering toiletries like other hotels, there was a dispenser in the shower for you shampoo, conditioner and body wash. I wasn't a fan of that!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelindevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Champaign, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is through feedback and input from our guests that we are able to improve and provide a positive and memorable experience each and every time you visit us. As for the hotel being out of date, we are scheduled to go through renovation of our property in early 2013. As for the soap, shampoo, and conditioner amenities in our guest rooms; in an effort to be more eco-friendly we have switched to these amenity dispensers, company wide. These dispensers will allow us to keep about 4 million small shampoo bottles a year out of our landfills. As an aside, on future travels to Drury Inn locations, feel free to ask the desk staff for bars of soap and the small bottles of shampoo, as we do keep a limited amount on hand for those that would prefer that option.

Regards,
Victor Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was on the road traveling and couldn't quite make it all the way back to Chicago in one day so I stopped here. It was right alongside the interstate, so the location was good. However, being summertime I apparently caught them on a night when it was mostly booked up. The only non-smoking room they had left had a board room table in it....see picture....it was very odd. However, the room was clean and the property seemed relatively well kept, so no complaints. Staff was nice.

Room Tip: Not a board room....?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intelliblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first stay at a Drury Inn and it was very pleasant. We were in town for a swim meet at U of I and there was also some type of baseball playoff going on in the area.this weekend. The hotel seemed more than able to accommodate all these kids and their families. In addition, the hotel is pet-friendly and several people brought their dogs, which were no problem at all.

Our room was on the third floor. There are five floors in this hotel.. Our king bed was very comfortable. I didn't care for the fiber-fill pillows (I never do) and next time I will bring my feather pillows from home. The room was spotless, plenty of hot water, with typical mid-level hotel decor.

There was complimentary breakfast every morning consisting of scrambled eggs (shredded cheese, diced ham and salsa available), sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, french toast, waffles, donuts, bagels, toast, yogurt, bananas, assorted cold cereals, oatmeal, milk, coffee, tea, and juices. No need to go out for breakfast.
There is also a complimentary 5:30 Kickback served in the evening. The night we were there we had a nacho plate with chips, re-fried beans, seasoned hamburger, cheese, salsa, and sour cream. They also had baked potatoes, hot dogs and chips.. Free pop is available until ten. Adults also received a coupon for one free alcoholic drink. There was enough food for us to make it a meal, which we did.
Parking is free and convenient. Staff friendly.

The kids enjoyed the pool, which is half indoors and half outdoors. There is a four person hot tub. Not bad at $129 per night, especially with all that food included.

We would definitely consider this hotel chain for subsequent trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijogeJoliet_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here during my wedding weekend - very accommodating and clean. No complaints - nice place

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuenosNachos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDGELY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Retired and travel a lot. Stay in suites that have a seperate bedroom from the living room area.Usually that means Homewood or Staybridge suites. Saw that this hotel had that style room so decided to take a chance. We got Room 230. Perfect. Hotel was in a nice area..safe, lots of stores and restaurants, close to the interstate, good hot breakfast and great p.m. kick-back meal...literally could be a meal..staff was great... Our total with taxes was $161..it's not 'cheap' but I've paid that often for what we like and often got less than we got here. Absolutely recommend (although I can't speak for their standard rooms) and we will return if we get in Chammpaign again.

Room Tip: Room 230 1 bedroom suite...Great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champaign
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
0.4 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Champaign

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Address: 905 W Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61821-1234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Champaign
#4 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#4 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Champaign 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Students, families and business travelers choose the free amenities at Drury Inn & Suites, only five miles from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign! Guests enjoy clean, comfortable rooms with a free hot breakfast and our 5:30 Kickback(R): free hot food and cold beverages every evening. The hotel is near shopping and family attractions off I-74. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Champaign
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign Hotel Champaign
Drury Champaign
Drury Inn Champaign Illinois
Drury Inn Hotel Champaign
Champaign Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing