We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Champaign
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, United States
1 review
“Terrible Staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I will never stay at a La Quinta again. We received a very rude and unprofessional note from the front desk stating our dogs were barking while we went out for dinner. We woke up the first morning to dogs barking at 6:00 a.m., but that is what you expect when you go to a pet-friendly hotel. My family normally stays with La Quinta because they are pet-friendly, but THIS La Quinta was not very pet-friendly at all. There were so many billing issues and random charges posted to our account that we are still dealing with after being home 3 days. We will never stay at a La Quinta again. This hotel made what should've been a nice holiday a very miserable trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Arianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Champaign, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello Arianna!

Thanks for commenting on your recent stay at our La Quinta Inn Champaign. We're sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. We'd like the chance to respond to your concerns directly. If you would, please contact us at tripadvisor@laquinta.com. We're looking forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    201
    80
    22
    14
See reviews for
233
126
52
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Despite my horribly cheesy review title, there was nothing cheesy about my recent stay at yet another great La Quinta. The only minus was that the WiFi in the rooms was down the first night of my stay, but it was working in the lobby while they were having it fixed. The woman working the front desk was apologetic and I could tell they took the issue seriously. It was working again quickly as promised. Decor and furnishings seemed to be fairly new, and it was very quiet. Everyone I encountered at the front desk was friendly (and not that phony "corporate" friendly!) Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Walk across the parking lot to Za's for good fast-casual Italian lunch or dinner (full meal unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how beautiful and new the room looked. The bedspread had very nice detail to match the décor in the room. The room was spacious with a nice desk to use a computer or for writing. The room also had a nice easy chair for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, especially for the rate we had. The rooms were very clean and beds were great. The bathroom is a little small but nothing too bad. We did hear some barking of dogs in rooms as we were walking down the hallway.
It is also is a great location. Next door to several restaurants and a mall. The only complaint I would have would be the breakfast. Very small area and nothing hot. But overall a good place to stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbfree66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Efficient and friendly service. Decent size handicapped room with two double beds. Long walk to the breakfast room for a handicapped individual who uses a walker. There was not a walk in shower for the handicapped person so it was a bit harder for her to get into the tub to take a shower. A clean hotel and a great price for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

How was my trip to Champaign-Urbana, Illinois by Amtrak train from Syracuse, NY? It was a long ride, about 12 hours to Chicago from Syracuse. Then it was about 2 hours to Champaign-Urbana, but it was inexpensive, a senior ticket cost me $202 round trip, from Syracuse, NY. The layover in Chicago was too long, over 6 hours but you can enjoy the sights and sounds of Chicago, during that time. The Food Court offers a wide variety of vendors/restuarants. Jamba Juice and Chinese food, good for the waist line and stomach, were my favorites. Someone set a garbage can on fire outside of Union Station across from CVS phamarcy store. That's entertainment. An India foundation party in the former grand/great room train terminal added live band music. I didn't get a chance to go inside, because I wasn't invited, but I heard the sounds without seeing the band. I suspect the train schedule planners want weary travelers spend some of their travel and vacation money in Chicago before leaving their windy city who knows. So it makes sense to find an inexpensive and a good quality hotel or Inn upon your arrival to your destination. La Quinta was able to fit my budget and was a quiet place for me to rest after a long train ride and trip. It was $189 dollars for a King size bed and a flat screen Samsung T.V. and bath and shower with self-service breakfast (Belgian waffles were the best). There was a market place/mall and a Panera Bread restaurant in walking distance and nearby. The whole trip turned out to be a easy ride after all. I was also able to see some autumn foliage before the winter season arrived along the way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We found the hotel to be very clean and just as important the beds are good. The breakfast was just ok and could be improved on. People were very helpful and willing to help. We stayed just one night at this hotel during the fall so we did not see or use the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Champaign

Property: La Quinta Inn Champaign
Address: 1900 Center Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Champaign
#5 Family Hotel in Champaign
#6 Business Hotel in Champaign
#6 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Champaign Hotel Champaign
La Quinta Hotel Champaign
La Quinta Champaign
Champaign La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing