We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Warp Experience”
Review of The Ribeye

The Ribeye
Ranked #12 of 324 Restaurants in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time Warp Experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I ate here while in town for business. Entering the establishment is like going back in time 30 years! And this is not a bad thing. White tablecloths, very professional staff, quiet atmosphere in a dining room from the 70's or 80's.
You come here for the ribeye steak, and can order it in any size by 2 ounce increments. The server will bring fresh baked bread and you help yourself to a very good salad bar. The steak is served with one side item. It comes out on a sizzling platter.
I had a 12 ounce ribeye steak, which was tasty and of good, but not great, quality. HOWEVER, the meal was $22, plus tax and tip. This made the meal and experience a great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    62
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

don't look for a lot of selection you don't need any . The ribeye is what you're famous for. it melts in your mouth very tender. get the twice baked potatoes. nice salad bar. Excellent homemade bread. reasonable price drinks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speed5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The salad bar was excellent. They had a delicious assortment of salads and pasta and even some fruit. I had the chicken and shrimp meal and it was also delicious. My sister has a gluten intolerance and was able to order the chicken without the marinade. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant due to it's steep prices though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArualJane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for a great steak”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reviewing several restaurants, we picked the Ribeye at the last moment. The quiet decor, excellent service and wonderful steak made this a very enjoyable meal. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our CU favorites!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Ribeye is one of our go-to "I want to go somewhere GOOD" spots in Champaign-Urbana. We went again last night and were not disappointed. The steak is always great. The baked potatoes are awesome. My husband always gets the twice-baked, and I gotta say - super yum! The salad bar is great. Yes, the only lettuce is iceberg, but the other salads and all the toppings more than make up for that!

The great thing about the Ribeye is their Sunday & Monday "Steak for Two" special. You get 16 ounces of steak, split any way you want (we got 8 oz each). You then each get a potato (small upcharge for twice-baked), unlimited salad bar, bread at the table, and a 1/2 carafe of wine. For only $33. What a deal! We call it our cheap date night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ribeye also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to The Ribeye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing