We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed here with friends the weekend of U of I Homecoming this year. Hotel was clean. Rooms were spacious. Had a mini kitchen complete with full sized fridge, and microwave. perfect for keeping all of our drinks cold before and after the game. Breakfast was pretty darn good for a hotel and they even had free beer in the lobby before the 11am game! Impressive! All in all it was a little pricey per night but we booked with short notice and it was walking or should a say stumbling distance from Memorial Stadium and Assembly Hall. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjohnstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    103
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
189
48
23
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

There was an event happening at iHotel, but I chose Homewood Suites because I'm a Diamond HHonors member. The property and room was very nice for Homewood standards, housekeeping was good, and the breakfast service was also surprisingly good and the area kept clean. Free parking (some lot sharing with the HGI next door) and free wifi. Also, a Walgreens across the street. I recommend and if I were in the area again, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I had to stay here for a friends wedding so I wasn't really expecting much in the way of a hotel but I have to say I was blown away at how nice this place was. Their breakfast buffet was very good and free. The room was very spacious and comfortable. There were many restaurants within a 10 walking distance from the hotel which was very nice. The best part about the room was things were very quiet throughout the hotel so we weren't bothered by any noise. If you're planning on making a trip to Champaign, definitely keep this place high on your list you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheasley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband told me to review this for him. He stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business. His business meetings were at the University, so this was a perfect location. He loved the dinner and drinks included with the price of the room. He also had a free breakfast. His room was clean and he had plenty of room. His bed was comfortable. He said that he will definitely be staying there again. Plus, we were able to get HHonors points.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lislcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We made this hotel our home away from home for six days around our son's wedding. It was absolutely wonderful. Several of our family were also here, and I was so glad I had suggested this hotel for their stay.

We especially appreciated the staff, who went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfasts and evening receptions were really good, and so convenient while we were so busy. Having books and videos available for our little grand daughter to borrow was a real plus, and the staff were so nice to her.

The facilities were always clean and well cared for. The staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelinggrandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

By far the best hotel experience that I have had in YEARS! It may seem hard to believe, but his hotel beats out some 5 star hotels in Chicago and for half the price. The Monday evening reception features good food and drinks (our dinner), and the morning breakfast was a wide variety of fresh fruits, hot entrees, sides, etc. They do not skimp on quality. Furnishings look well placed, aesthetically pleasing, modern. Angel was the staff in the evening and very friendly. The bed was more comfy than a "heavenly" bed. Before i left, I saw the manager, Donna, and let her know what a great job her staff was doing and how I was impressed with the quality and cleanliness. Book at the Homewood Suites before the secret gets out!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freelibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

So, I was visiting Champaign for a friends wedding. They had rooms blocked at this hotel and at the I-Hotel. I opted for this one because it had continental breakfast and I'm so glad I did...and for more reasons than just the breakfast!

First off, the lobby is nice and clean and the frontdesk staff greeted me the second I walked in the door. My check in was quick and efficient. This might not seem like a big deal, but I've stayed at plenty of hotels where it seems you are the first person to have EVER checked-in because it takes them so long. People checking in at hotels are usually weary travelers who do not want to wait forever to get into their room, so I really appreciated that.

Second, the room was incredibly spacious and very clean (as were all common areas). There is a kitchenette which was nice because we could keep leftovers AND a microwave to reheat! Heaven!
Third, there is a Gumby's pizza next door, 'nuff said

Fourth, and this is the real humdinger, the breakfast was NOT what I consider a continental breakfast. It was a delicious hot meal AND they changed the offering (new selection) the second day of our stay! They had scrambled eggs with chives & cheese with sausage patties on the first day (Sat) and scrambled eggs with bacon on the next. Furthermore, they have all kinds of other treats; boxed cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, cream of wheat, pastries, a large selection of teas (Tazo brand at that), and fresh fruit salad.

Last, I just want to mention a couple of the extras that really sealed the deal for me. They have free wi-fi, neutrogena hygiene products, and you can go down to the front desk and pick a DVD from their selection (not huge, but with recent releases and truly something for everyone) that you can take to your room to view....ALL FREE. Plus, I saw a sign in the elevator that said "Join us in the lobby for complimentary dinner and drinks M-Th". Now it's getting almost comical.

Now I've stayed at some very nice hotels, so it isn't like one of the Clampett's is at the helm right now. I've seen the luxuries and footed the bill and I have to say that I was easily just as comfortable here. Besides, I still find it mind boggling that fancy hotels always charge for internet. What's with that?!?!?

Dear Homewood Suites of Champaign,
Good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
I Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Address: 1417 S Neil St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-6529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#2 Family Hotel in Champaign
#2 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the University of Illinois, our extended stay Champaign, IL hotel is easily accessible to attractions such ask Memorial Stadium, Krannert Art Museum, and Assembly Hall. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana offers 98 modern, comfortable suites. Your spacious one or two bedroom suite awaits you. Guests will enjoy a wide range of value added amenities when staying with us, including complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Start the day with our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet daily, and Monday thru Thursday you can return from a long day to our evening dinner and drinks. We offer complimentary grocery shopping service to keep your full size refrigerator fully stocked, to prepare a home-cooked meal in the comfort of your in-room fully equipped kitchen. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Champaign-Urbana Hotel Champaign
Homewood Champaign
Hilton Champaign
Champaign Homewood Suites
Champaign Hilton
Homewood Suites Champaign Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing