We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management is a Nightmare & Homewood Suites Is Dirty!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Management is a Nightmare & Homewood Suites Is Dirty!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

This hotel has a horrible management team. I checked out after a 4 day stay, they CHARGED my account for an EXTRA DAY. I called up immediately to let them know this, and OBVIOUSLY TO BE CREDITED BACK THIS CHARGE. However, one of the two rude mangagers, RENE, stated that she could not credited me back until she did an investigation!! There was nothing to investigate --I WAS OVER CHARGED!! They continued to ignore my calls so I had to call Hilton Headquarters and file a complaint against this hotel. I would advise anyone to check their bills when leaving this unethical establishment because they have a tendancy of overcharging, and eventually you will have to call headquarters to get your money back--which takes up to 5 weeks!! Oh also, if you do stay here, bring some cleaning supplies and clean towels because the rooms are very dirty and the towels do not always get changed!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pharmd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    103
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
189
48
23
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

My husband stayed at the Homewood Suites for 2 weeks and I went to visit on the weekend. He loved it as did I. Everything was very clean, the front desk staff was wonderful and we enjoyed the continental breakfasts. The room was huge, with a full kitchen, the housekeepers ran the dishwasher for you every day, a full fridge, and a big, flat screen TV with free internet.

Check it out, you'll love it!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Toribear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

Came to Champaign for a college visit. The physical plant was basically fine in the rooms and lobby. The whirlpool spa, we were told, "doesn't have bubbles", by the maintenance man. Just a giant bathtub, I guess. Bed was very comfy, with pillowtop comforter. Service orientation in general, however, really needs some attention. When we arrived just after midnight, the desk clerk seemed annoyed at our arrival and was perfunctory at best in checking us in, spewing out pool and breakfast times by rote, making no eye contact, not asking if we needed help, etc. We went to the complimentary breakfast service 45 minutes before the scheduled closing, and there was no coffee, hot water, pastry, orange juice, or bacon. After finally getting a clerk's attention, they managed to bring out some coffee and water, but nothing else, despite specific requests. The attitude of the maintenance guy above was on the same level. I guess I would hope that a new hotel like this would be eager to please and make that clear to their employees, but such is not the case, at least not yet.

  • Liked — Cleanlinesss
  • Disliked — Service and attitude of staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyhead52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

Stayed in the hotel June 1-3. It was a sold-out situation and most of our contact with staff was great. Being a very new hotel, there are still some glitches in their training and communication. We had two 1 bedroom suites with a king in the bedroom. They do have queens, but no one I contacted at the hotel was willing to book that room class. Our rooms were clean, well appointed. One warning - they do have down pillows and since I am allergic I always check. It's location is very convenient and breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank illinisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
I Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Address: 1417 S Neil St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-6529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Champaign
#2 Business Hotel in Champaign
#2 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the University of Illinois, our extended stay Champaign, IL hotel is easily accessible to attractions such ask Memorial Stadium, Krannert Art Museum, and Assembly Hall. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana offers 98 modern, comfortable suites. Your spacious one or two bedroom suite awaits you. Guests will enjoy a wide range of value added amenities when staying with us, including complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Start the day with our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet daily, and Monday thru Thursday you can return from a long day to our evening dinner and drinks. We offer complimentary grocery shopping service to keep your full size refrigerator fully stocked, to prepare a home-cooked meal in the comfort of your in-room fully equipped kitchen. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Champaign-Urbana Hotel Champaign
Homewood Champaign
Hilton Champaign
Champaign Homewood Suites
Champaign Hilton
Homewood Suites Champaign Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing