We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed in many CI&S over the years. This one was a bit worn, but clean. Spare in all ways, but adequate. Not much else to say- it's in a college town so you get noisy guests and late night noise too. The pool needs work, but the hotel is in a useful location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OranVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your recent experience at our hotel. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. If you would like to discuss these issues further, please contact me directly at the hotel. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    97
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
145
69
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We chose to stay here on a trip through the Midwest. The room we received was newly renovated (in the last month, or so) and was very comfortable. Front desk staff were very nice, the bath and bed linens were clean, and the free breakfast had lots to choose from.

The only additional comment is that the room and bath were noticeably dusty; while it is just dust, it will accumulate and eventually lead to very dirty-looking rooms and baths.

We will stay here again when traveling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Peters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and lobby as well as our friendly staff. I was sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with dust in your room. This issue has been discussed with housekeeping. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while going to an Illini basketball game, and the location was good. The staff was friendly, and breakfast was as expected. The room was clean and quiet. We had a wheelchair accessible room, so the shower was larger and had a handheld head. The cord was a little mildewy and the shower didn't maintain temperature consistently. Otherwise, our stay was good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 23ARJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn & Suites. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the water temperature and issue with the shower cord. I am working with the housekeeping department to ensure this similiar situation does not happen again. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us. We look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has done quite a few updates since I've been staying here for work. The bedding and mattress are so comfortable, I ALWAYS sleep well here-even the first night! The breakfast is good and I like their variety. My favorite rooms are the king rooms, and they're just as pretty as the pictures! The staff is really nice as well, especially the girls who work the front desk, and Kaycee, one of the managers, The only thing I would change is the amenities, It's hard to compare this hotel chain with the Drury Inn across the street, because it's apples and oranges. Unfortunately I like the Drury chain and Staybridge chains better because they also serve dinner most or all nights of the week and alcohol, free of charge. The Drury Inn across the street serves soda and popcorn throughout the day. If Country Inn did that, I'd probably never leave! This location itself deserves 5/5 rating; however, it's the chain itself that's getting the 4/5 from me.

Room Tip: Spring for the king room for an extra $10/night. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Nicole-

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us, including our hot breakfast, our newly renovated guest rooms, and most important the wonderful customer service you received from the staff especially our AGM Kacie. We are very fortunate to have amazing staff who truly care about the guests needs. We look forward to having you visit us soon!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our party of three had a comfortable, good sleep, in a King suite. The desk was in the area with the sofa bed but we would have preferred the desk being in the room with the king bed, where we slept. However we appreciated that there was no room there for a desk. (The arrangement was great if no one was sleeping in the second room and one wanted to work while the other slept.) A minus was no television channel information. However, the internet access worked well.

At breakfast there was no skim milk. We appreciated there being but real silverware. There were excellent toppings for waffles, oatmeal, and even for the omelets.

A minor problem was at check-in. The clerk was working with a trainee and was trying to handle too many things at the same time. The trainee was doing a better job in trying to make sure customer needs were met.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExDiplomat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the Country Inn & Suites. Although it does sound like you enjoyed your time with us, I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you did encounter while with us. In the future, we will ensure this does not happen again. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife, youngest child, an I visited the Champaign-Urbaba/U of I area to attend a friend's graduation from the Illinois Fire Service Institute Fire Academy. We chose Country Inns based on location and TripAdvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed! The hotel has a clean, well-maintained exterior, the lobby is inviting, the breakfast room is quite spacious and offers a wide selection. We had some issues with our debit card on check-in (a newly-issued card, easily cleared up), but Bryan Hardin, the associate at the front desk, was exceptionally helpful and courteous! The hallways and elevator were also clean and inviting (not always the case in hotels - I've had issues with this in the past, but not here!), and our room was awesome! The beds were very comfortable, the room was spacious, an there were plenty of bath towels!
We swam in the pool - nice and warm on a cool fall evening - and sat in the hot tub. The pool area is well lit, but not glaringly bright. And the cookies in the lobby were an unexpected treat! Overall, it was an excellent stay! Next time we're in Champaign, we'll be back to Country Inns!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience with the Country Inn & Suites! We are very fortunate to having a wonderful and customer service oriented staff at this property. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I chose this hotel b/c my usual hotel is not available and this one is just next door. It was a great surprise. The hotel is clean. Big room. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast was a nice touch. Love it. But now it has to competing against my regular hotel:(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Leena-

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Country Inn & Suites! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and the staff took care of all your needs. We hope the next time you visit Champaign you will visit us again!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 602 W Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Champaign
#8 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning property is located within walking distance of several dining choices and the Market Place Mall. Exit off of I-72 at exit 181 Prospect Ave and go north one block and turn right. Property offers a free daily Breakfast Buffet,free Internet access, Indoor Pool, 24 Hr Fitness Center, 24 hr Business Center, Fresh Baked Cookies Daily, Read and Return book library, Club Carlson loyalty program and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Champaign-North
Country Inn & Suites Champaign-North Hotel Champaign
Country Inn Champaign North
Champaign Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing