We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good surprise”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I chose this hotel b/c my usual hotel is not available and this one is just next door. It was a great surprise. The hotel is clean. Big room. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast was a nice touch. Love it. But now it has to competing against my regular hotel:(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Leena-

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Country Inn & Suites! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and the staff took care of all your needs. We hope the next time you visit Champaign you will visit us again!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    100
    51
    16
    20
See reviews for
154
72
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed in champain for one night due to my sons graduation from the fire academy the stay was awsome the staff did everything they could to meet our needs. we had the king suite very roomy and quiet. close to the downtown and U of I many stores and reatrautes very near by. if you need something its within minutes. the price was ok about 100.00 but well worth the extra dollars for the comfort. they had a hot breakfast that was one of the best iv seen from waffles to eggs and ham and all the standard fair. the pool was very clean and the area was kept up nice. the entire staff was very freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Country Inn & Suites! We are thrilled that you were so pleased with every part of your experience with us. We look forward to having you visit us again!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a king suite and felt it was a good value for the money. Very comfortable bed and well appointed room. The motel was busy with soccer teams but still quiet for the night. The breakfast was alright but the soccer teams cleaned out most of the food and the lone breakfast room person worked as hard as she could trying to keep the items supplied for the rest of us. The personnel were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formersandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the Country Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I am appalled by the customer service of this hotel. On an award booking for two nights, the front desk felt it was perfectly acceptable to split our stay into two separate rooms and insist we move. Apparently this happens every weekend and he's been doing this for twenty years. Yikes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and can assure you that is not our practice at this property. Please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is convenient to evrything and it is in the process of being upgraded. Our room was comfortable, check in friendly and efficient, and the desk personnel were very helpful with directions and recommendations. The continental breakfast was good and fairly standard for this day and age with some hot and cold selections. The oatlmeal was in a crock warmer and good have been fresher.

Room Tip: Until complete with upgrades reserve the king room since those have already been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive response to your recent experience with us! We are very happy you enjoyed your check in, staff, guest room, and breakfast. We look forward to having you come back and visit us again.

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were exceptionally clean, beds were very comfortable and the staff was attentive to all needs. The breakfast offered each day had hot items that varied each day of the stay. Some items as you would expect (like cereal), were offered each day in addition to the hot meal. This is a wonderful place to stay while in Champaign. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your exceptionally clean room, attentive staff and breakfast. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
313 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overall a good stay for a business trip. Clean rooms, nice staff, good breakfast. There are even free cookies, coffee, and snacks in the lobby. I will stay again.

Now for some quirks:

We arrived at 5pm and upon arriving in our rooms, one room was not cleaned. So we walked back downstairs and was assigned a new room - no big deal. Around 11:30 at night while asleep the person in the room was woken up by the sounds of a different guest trying to enter the room. Evidently the staff didn't convey to the night shift they swapped rooms and this new guest was trying to access her room.

Other cons: There is little to no hot water. The towels are pretty thin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the Country Inn & Suites. I apologize that you had issues during your time with us. I guarantee your next visit will be a better experience next time.

Your friends at the Country Inn & Suites-Champaign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
457 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
0.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 602 W Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Champaign
#8 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning property is located within walking distance of several dining choices and the Market Place Mall. Exit off of I-74 at exit 181 Prospect Ave and go north one block and turn right. Property offers a free daily hot breakfast buffet,free Internet access, Indoor Pool, 24 Hr Fitness Center, 24 hr Business Center, Fresh Baked Cookies Daily, Read and Return book library, Club Carlson loyalty program and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Champaign-North Hotel Champaign
Country Inn And Suites Champaign-North
Country Inn Champaign North
Champaign Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing