We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice peaceful setting

Nice place for a lunchtime picnic, a quiet walk or some fishing off of the deck. A nice pathway... read more

Reviewed November 4, 2016
david b
,
Asheville, North Carolina
Love the peaceful walk

The best kept secret in the area... the track! I love it. The track has a slight hill slope built... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2016
DrOHope
,
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
2
5
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
5
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed March 7, 2017

after waiting years for the evergreens to fill in, they decided to take off the bottom branches of the only trees used for windbreaks. so sad. it sure makes for cold walks. It was such a nice place to walk.

1  Thank Z1546ZUterrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Nice place for a lunchtime picnic, a quiet walk or some fishing off of the deck. A nice pathway for a walk or jog, and connects to longer bike trails.

Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

The best kept secret in the area... the track! I love it. The track has a slight hill slope built in so you are getting a diverse use of your leg muscles. I am often there to relax as I write my book.

Thank DrOHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

From what I've heard there are lots of homeless that camp in the back area. The front area is nice, pretty docks and a canoe filled with flowers. Disappointed this year because it's filled with fake flowers and looks stupid.

1  Thank Wen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

This place is near my office, and I sometimes grab a quick sandwich at a nearby fast food joint and enjoy it at a table or bench by the lake. It can get pretty full around noon on a weekday! Many people just sit in their cars to eat their meal, but I like to get out and enjoy the sunshine. There's a fancy fishin/picnic area on the east side, and a boat launch on the south end of the lake. The west side is quite a bit higher than the water and offers a good outlook spot. A trail takes off from there, and goes north for miles, connecting to the parkway running along the creek...popular with the denizens of office workers out for some exercise at break or lunch.

1  Thank Cello12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Terrific Park District staff and great place to bird watch especially during Spring migration and Autumn for waterfowl and warblers. Lots of herons. New bike path. Monitored by Master Naturalist volunteers.

Thank jwhoyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I've worked beside this lake for 15 years and use it all the time for walks/jogs. It's now paved parking lots; fishing docks; landscaped, porta potties. Quite an improvement from the past.

Thank Z1546ZUterrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

There is a 1.6 mile one-way trail from here around the lake to Dodds Park. A great find and used exclusively every other day my me during my visit here

1  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice, peaceful place to fish with other wildlife ... Ducks, Geese, turtles, cranes and also an otter

1  Thank SHANNON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews